We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable luxury with a view”
Review of Shine Albayzin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shine Albayzin
Ranked #28 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The suite had a perfect view of the Alhambra from its window, a large, beautiful room and facilities. The mini bar was limited in its stock, but everything else about this place was perfect. Very well located, and always had delicious sweet treats and tea in the foyer. The breakfast was average.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AditiVedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
There are newer reviews for Shine Albayzin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

Two adults and one teenage boy in suite. Beautiful old historic building in the Albayzin neighborhood with view of the Alhambra. Well modernized big room while keeping the ambiance of the old building. Friendly, professional and helpful staff. Central location, close to city centre and attractions.

We were taken well care of.

Room Tip: top floors facing the Alhambra
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dag E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Hotel is in the nice old part if town. Rooms very clean and nice and inviting. Bathroom beautiful with modern design. Service splendid and recommendations for Flamenco Venue and Hammam spot on.

The bldg is old and charming. Breakfast good, though not outstanding.

For 74Euros this was fantastic value.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddhens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The hotel was lovely, such a great old building, so much character, in a great location with view up to the Alhambra.

Would definitly reccomend to anyone staying in Granada.

The central courtyard is lovely to sit in of an early evening. WIth handy guidebooks of the area to help plan activities in the city.

Room Tip: We had the cheaper of the rooms, which although a little smaller, were still great quality
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We rented one of the suites for 4 nights in March 2013. The room was very spacious, well appointed, and overlooked the Alhambra. The only real problem we had with the room was the lighting (poor) and the bathroom - there was not much bench space, no heating, no soap holder in the shower, and the beautiful large shower rose didn't seem to be working. The continental breakfast was adequate. There didn't seem to be the option for a cooked breakfast. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, though they seemed to work minimal hours (probably due to the fact that we were the only guests at the time). Wi-fi was available in the lobby but not in your room.
Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay at the Shine Albayzin.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wyatt05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My first time in Spain and in Granada, this was a great hotel located between the Alhambra and the Albayzin -- going out at night and in the day was not an issue at all. My room was wonderful (ask for a room facing the river for a view of the Alhambra) , clean and uncluttered with modern amenities. I agree w other reviewers, the room could do with more lighting. And it's only suitable for sharing with someone very very close as the toilet and bathroom are full glass, there is no privacy in the room. There is no wi-fi inside the room but that's not a big deal for me. Staff was extremely friendly, even gave me a walking map of the area. Really excellent value for the price I paid, I was very surprised. I was there in November so it was cold and wet, so I probably would not go back to Granada at that time of year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river. If you want more space, the suite is very nice.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DogbertBlackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Very nice cozy old style hotel bang in the heart of the old town ... But be warned that the street in front of the hotel is very narrow and cars cannot stop there for longer than 5 mins.
The suite was very spacious and comfortable on the topmost floor (301)... But the room has a staircase soon after the entrance and thats a minus for families with small kids, strollers etc. Also we had only a sliver of a view of the Alhambra from the room window even though we were told it would be much more.
The decor of the room and the courtyard outside it is charming. But no telephone/intercom line is there so every time u need something u have to physically go down on the elevator and tell the receptionist !!
Also the cleaning staff didn't do much cleaning every day ... Only made the bed basically

The receptionists are all very helpful and speak good English. Must mention Carmen for her excellent service.
The breakfast is a bit lackluster however the staff are very accommodating and sometimes stretch the timings to 12 noon which worked out great for us as we have two small kids!
Overall highly recommended accommodation as its very close to Alhambra and flamenco show venues and there a several lovely eateries and grocery stores walking distance from the hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank tjafary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,256 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
El Ladron de Agua
#6 of 122 in Granada
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
995 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#18 of 122 in Granada
975 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shine Albayzin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shine Albayzin

Address: Carrera Darro 25, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#37 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £67 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shine Albayzin 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shine Albayzin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shine Albayzin Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing