We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Shine Albayzin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shine Albayzin
Ranked #26 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Although in Granada only for one night, the whole experience was an unforgettable one. Soon after booking the apartment, I was contacted by a very friendly staff (Gemma), and she helped me to arrange the transportation from the airport to the hotel. I highly recommend taking a cab from the airport - if you're travelling in a group of 3-4 people, it is not only the most comfortable way to get to the hotel (especially if you have luggage to haul), it is also economical.
Both the hotel and the apartment are managed by the same entity, and are less than 100m apart. Both are located in the old part of the city, in the Albayzin. The Granada center is at the walking distance, and so is the main entrance to Alhambra. Please be aware that while it takes only 15 minutes to walk to the entrance, it is an uphill struggle, so depending on your physical condition, you may want to reconsider the time you will allow for the walk.
Back to the apartment, it is very reasonably equipped, and given the age of the building where it is situated, more than acceptable. Notice that the rating given here takes into consideration advertised ranking of the facility - it is a 3-star hotel I think, and those expectations were exceeded by far. One thing to consider is - the hotel building has wifi available, the apartment building does not. Now, given that you're in Granada, probably the last thing you want to do is to hang in the room using WiFi, but if you are in need of a quick update, you can always walk to the lobby which is always open (3-4 min walking distance) and do it from there.
The friendly staff is there to help you with directions, advice on getting around, help with transportation, events, tickets, anything you need they're really friendly and willing to help.
I would highly recommend considering this place for your Granada visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srdanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    104
    36
    9
    7
See reviews for
77
223
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This place is a hidden oasis. We did as a previous reviewer had done and moved here after an apt rental weren't quite up to our expectations. We had walked by this unassuming but imposing door and just out of curiosity I googled it when we got back to our room and then the next morning we stopped in to see if there was any availability. The minute we walked in we were blown away by the tranquility and beauty of the lobby. It was hard to believe that the bustling Paseo de los Tristes was right outside the door. Once we were shown a room we were practically running to pack our bags and move. The room was huge by any standards and modern and comfortable. We loved the eclectic decor and the welcoming wine and chocolates. The only thing we were disappointed about was that we weren't told about the afternoon tea and unfortunately missed it on two afternoons even though we were there at the time. It's a great place to come back to after a long day of sightseeing and walking distance to all the sites. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Freeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My two girlfriends rented the apartment for two nights. It's about a 2-5 min walk from the main building in a small 3-story building that's shared with other residents. The apartment faces the main little street that's right below the Alhambra, great location! The building is quite charming and gives off a very authentic ambiance. Some quick things to keep in mind
* The apartment sleeps 6 (1 double bed, 2 single beds and 1 double sofa bed) but I think you should plan for a maximum of 4 people given that there's only 1 bathroom
* Because it's an old building, hot water will only run for about 20 minutes and then you have to wait around half an hour for the hot water to come back
* The apartment is very cold - great in the summer but a bit too cool every other season because it's colder inside than outside! Just bring a sweater and socks and turn on the heat
* It's by far the best location for couples, families, friends and travelers who want to be right in the centre (but not where it's gets too rowdy)
* The staff is very, very friendly :)
* The complementary evening tea and treats are delicious

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I fled an airbnb rental nearby and stayed at this hotel very last minute. We were very fortunate to be met with all of the comforts of home at Shine Albyzine. We travel frequently and rarely does one find this type of hospitality --especially at this price. Front desk staff went above and beyond the call of duty in many ways during our short stay. The room was clean and modern Fully stocked with high-end toiletries etc. Water was hot, bed comfortable. Location is perfect. Sorry we couldn't stay longer. Will recommend to others planning a trip to Geanada without thinking twice. Could easily seeing various friends and family members in different generations all being very comfortable here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gotdorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Hotel Albazyin is situated in the old town and faces towards the magnificent Alhambra and the river Darro. We had a very pleasant four nights stay at the Shine Albayzin, If you really want to feel this beautiful city properly and visiting places without rushing here and there we would definitely recommend at least three or four days. We booked a suite room (no: 202) which was spacious ,clean and made us instantly feel at home. It had an adorable wood crafted ceiling and a large stylish wet room with double sink. Our room was quiet and we had peaceful mornings. You could even hear the sound of the water from the river. But on our last night which was on Friday we heard some moderate street noise, so we gather the hotel can be exposed some degree of street noise at the weekends. We decided to opt-out the breakfast so we wouldn't be able to comment on this.The Hotel served complementary tea and sweets in the afternoons in their enclosed courtyard.There were two reception staff and although they were both helpful, the lady originally from Estonia has wonderful customer relations.Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibrahim1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in a superior room on 1st floor at the front of the building. The hotel is tricky to find and is just a big wooden door..a little disconcerting on first approach. Once inside the building is stunning if not a bit dingy, bad lighting. I think some standard rooms do not have external windows so be aware of that. Our room was an ok size with a big floor to ceiling window looking out over the cobbled street and the Alhambra above. Stunning. However i would not exactly call it a balcony as advertised. The 'bathroom' is just a shower and toilet separated from the room by a glass panel, the basin is in the room.be aware of this if shy or need more privacy. The room was pretty with a wardrobe etc. great wifi and a comp bottle of wine is always a nice gesture. Nice place for a weekend break but i think it is a little overpriced compared to other beautiful boutique hotels in Spain

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank embub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed three nights in a superior room. It is a lovely old hotel with very few rooms.
The plusses:
1. View of Alhambra
2. Comfortable bed
3. Location
The minusses:
1. Small room
2. Bathroom (toitlet and shower) was separated from bedroom by smoked glass partition. Sink was in the bedroom.
3. LImited breakfast

Room Tip: We were in room 104.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,192 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 122 in Granada
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 122 in Granada
958 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#4 of 122 in Granada
797 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#19 of 122 in Granada
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shine Albayzin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shine Albayzin

Property: Shine Albayzin
Address: Carrera Darro 25, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#37 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shine Albayzin 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shine Albayzin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shine Albayzin Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing