We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice, nice hotel”
Review of Shine Albayzin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shine Albayzin
Ranked #30 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The hotel and the room are good looking. The bathroom was fantastic (and separated from the main room, unlike some of the other rooms in the hotel according to other reviews) and clean. The service staff was very friendly. The location is fantastic, although you can't reach it by car (part of the charm). The breakfast 7.50 Euros did not look appealing so we ate out for breakfast as well. We enjoyed our stay very much. It was a positive experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astutetraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel is very well located at Carrera del Darro, a very touristic place, but when you are inside you have peace, quietness and a beautiful interior patio. Ilaria, who was at the main desk, was very nice and helpful giving us good tips and making reservations for a intimate and excellent flamenco show at Casa del Arte Flamenco.
I read that some guests complained about the smell, but for God's sake, you are in a Sixteenth Century building, and i have to say they made a great job adapting the place for modern needs. I really recommend this hotel for people who's smart enough to appreciate the old and vibrant Granada, and who wants an average and boring hotel, well, they don't deserve Shine Albayzin.

Room Tip: rooms with a patio view are cheaper and more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here in February for 4 nights with teenage son with the intention of visiting the Alhambra Palace. The hotel was situated very close to the Palace, which could be seen from the balcony of the hotel. The hotel is accessed from the street by a very understated, large wooden door, which reveals a small, Moorish-style central courtyard around which the rooms are situated on 3 floors.

The two rooms we had were comfortable, clean and modern, with our room being at the front of the hotel overlooking the Alhambra and our son's at the back of the hotel with only windows overlooking the internal courtyard. The only criticism I would have about our room would be regarding the en suite shower and toilet, which was along one side of the room. The door to the cubicle was only partially frosted glass and didn't reach to the floor or the ceiling, so consequently privacy was impossible when using the facilities and didn't leave much to the imagination!

There was a bottle of red wine in the room to welcome us on arrival and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Guests are also encouraged to help themselves to mint tea and honey cakes every afternoon in the lobby, if they wish.

The hotel was very situated and we spent our time walking around the narrow, winding streets of the Arab Quarter, discovering various museums and points of interest. Overall, I would recommend it as a tranquil retreat from which to branch out and explore the historic parts of Granada.

Room Tip: If you don't like sharing your most intimate bathroom moments with a partner, don't chose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolyn JT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this delightful boutique hotel at the begining of semana santa, Holy Week. What an experience. The staff could not have been more helpful. Lovely breakfasts. Close to
the places we wanted to visit. A magnicent procession made its way down and up the street outside. We did not mind the noise!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Although in Granada only for one night, the whole experience was an unforgettable one. Soon after booking the apartment, I was contacted by a very friendly staff (Gemma), and she helped me to arrange the transportation from the airport to the hotel. I highly recommend taking a cab from the airport - if you're travelling in a group of 3-4 people, it is not only the most comfortable way to get to the hotel (especially if you have luggage to haul), it is also economical.
Both the hotel and the apartment are managed by the same entity, and are less than 100m apart. Both are located in the old part of the city, in the Albayzin. The Granada center is at the walking distance, and so is the main entrance to Alhambra. Please be aware that while it takes only 15 minutes to walk to the entrance, it is an uphill struggle, so depending on your physical condition, you may want to reconsider the time you will allow for the walk.
Back to the apartment, it is very reasonably equipped, and given the age of the building where it is situated, more than acceptable. Notice that the rating given here takes into consideration advertised ranking of the facility - it is a 3-star hotel I think, and those expectations were exceeded by far. One thing to consider is - the hotel building has wifi available, the apartment building does not. Now, given that you're in Granada, probably the last thing you want to do is to hang in the room using WiFi, but if you are in need of a quick update, you can always walk to the lobby which is always open (3-4 min walking distance) and do it from there.
The friendly staff is there to help you with directions, advice on getting around, help with transportation, events, tickets, anything you need they're really friendly and willing to help.
I would highly recommend considering this place for your Granada visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srdanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This place is a hidden oasis. We did as a previous reviewer had done and moved here after an apt rental weren't quite up to our expectations. We had walked by this unassuming but imposing door and just out of curiosity I googled it when we got back to our room and then the next morning we stopped in to see if there was any availability. The minute we walked in we were blown away by the tranquility and beauty of the lobby. It was hard to believe that the bustling Paseo de los Tristes was right outside the door. Once we were shown a room we were practically running to pack our bags and move. The room was huge by any standards and modern and comfortable. We loved the eclectic decor and the welcoming wine and chocolates. The only thing we were disappointed about was that we weren't told about the afternoon tea and unfortunately missed it on two afternoons even though we were there at the time. It's a great place to come back to after a long day of sightseeing and walking distance to all the sites. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 2Freeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My two girlfriends rented the apartment for two nights. It's about a 2-5 min walk from the main building in a small 3-story building that's shared with other residents. The apartment faces the main little street that's right below the Alhambra, great location! The building is quite charming and gives off a very authentic ambiance. Some quick things to keep in mind
* The apartment sleeps 6 (1 double bed, 2 single beds and 1 double sofa bed) but I think you should plan for a maximum of 4 people given that there's only 1 bathroom
* Because it's an old building, hot water will only run for about 20 minutes and then you have to wait around half an hour for the hot water to come back
* The apartment is very cold - great in the summer but a bit too cool every other season because it's colder inside than outside! Just bring a sweater and socks and turn on the heat
* It's by far the best location for couples, families, friends and travelers who want to be right in the centre (but not where it's gets too rowdy)
* The staff is very, very friendly :)
* The complementary evening tea and treats are delicious

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,310 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#6 of 122 in Granada
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,812 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,029 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#21 of 122 in Granada
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shine Albayzin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shine Albayzin

Address: Carrera Darro 25, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#37 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £55 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shine Albayzin 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shine Albayzin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shine Albayzin Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing