We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #17 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great hotel”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We are so glad that we reserved in the wonderful Moorish Revival hotel. Perched on the edge of the hill, the entrance looks through the tiled and marbled lobby to the whole city of Granada. In addition our room had the same view, a few stories up--as did the Andalusian tiled bathroom. Everything was perfect: location a short walk from the Alhambra itself, a staff which was most attentive, a room which was beautiful and very comfortable, and a great terrace on which to have an evening drink and watch the sunset. And if you wanted to go down to the rest of the city, the bus stop was right next to the hotel, with buses running every ten minutes or so.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city-
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    546
    170
    61
    23
See reviews for
323
767
56
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

It's old and plumbing needs an update. Front desk is over worked and rushed, but they do try.

To see the Alhambra this s the place to stay. To see Granda there are other choices down the hill. On the flip side cab rides are quick and will get you anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BriefBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

When you read through previous TripAdvisor comments in advance of your booking you expect to know what you are buying, but on this occasion I disagree with the "ideal location" label !

This hotel is well located if your sole purpose is to visit Alhambra, but this only takes 3 hours or so and this hotel is otherwise rather isolated.

The hotel restaurant is formal and expensive and there is an absence of alternative places to eat in the vicinity. The 3/4 restaurants adjacent to the Alhambra complex were closed both days we were there. Sure it's easy to get a taxi down to the town, but not at all ideal.

We had asked for a room at the rear of the hotel and room 205 did not disappoint - having a bath whilst enjoying an uninterrupted view over Granade was unique !

On the second day of our stay a large wedding party of 200/300 guests took over the place. They monopolised the ground floor area and the bar and the lovely, small terrace was taken over by their smoking contingent. On our first evening it was beautiful, enjoying the marvellous view and watching the sun go down over Granada. But the second evening was a farce, we had to wait for a table and then we were surrounded by smokers who were excitedly shouting at each other. Not at all as expected.

At breakfast the next morning it was equally poor - the hotel had made no effort to cater for the influx of guests. Several coaches had been arranged for 09.00 and until they departed you just had to wait.

I disagree with comments on the breakfast also. It was very ordinary and they used the old fashioned metal dome devices to keep food hot but these increase the steam content which leads to saggy tasteless bacon, watery scrabbled egg etc

The staff were generally excellent , the front desk were particularly helpful - but in my mind the management needs changing. They could so easily extend their catering to provide snacks/tapas and there were two floors downstairs that were empty and most certainly should be used for functions.

There is also no doubt that they are greedy. The staff numbers were not increased sufficiently for the function and some of the prices were silly. I paid €13 for a brandy and the cost of soft drinks was equally inflated.

We were unlucky that there was this massive wedding reception, but even without this the hotel was far below expectations.

Room Tip: at the rear with a view of Granada
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wefstag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Very beautiful hotel very close to the Alhambra (walking distance) and perfect for the cheap little buses that take you up to the palace and also down and round to the pretty Albaicin area.
Beautiful birdsong from the trees and gardens of the Alhambra.
Maybe its the present exchange rate, but prices for bar drinks (wine and coffee/tea) were very expensive and as there are no shops, cafes or restaurants nearby, you are forced to pay the hotel prices all the time. There are no tea making facilities in the rooms or bottled water (other than in the extortionate mini-bar).With my British sensitive stomach I was soon ill. Foreign water needs boiling for me!
Double room was quite small for two people but the bathroom was lovely (and had wonderful products provided) and the views over Granada were stunning.
There are no British channels on the TV or English newspapers in the hotel.
The food in the restaurant was good on the whole, although we found the service a bit elaborate and fussy.
The staff at check in were very friendly and polite and spoke good English. I observed them dealing brilliantly with some very awkward customers from the US!
Enjoyable stay overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I have nothing to criticise. The hotel itself is beautiful and in the most fantastic setting. The communal areas are stunning and there is plenty of space for relaxation inside or outside on the terrace overlooking the city. We had a standard twin room which was spacious. The decor in the bathroom surprises initially but is very charming. Fabulous views over the city.

The breakfast was extensive - great coffee, juices, fruits, meats, cheeses, etc, etc. We had a good meal at the restaurant. The staff were very friendly down to the discrete turn down service. I wonder if some earlier comments about the staff being less friendly relate to limited confidence of the reception staff when speaking English. I certainly had no problems if I had any requests. I received log in information for the hotels wifi on request, although this may have had a maximum usage.

The situation is ideal. Easy walking to the Alhambra and easy enough to walk downhill to the city. Coming back up is fine but the frequent, easy to use, buses are there for lazier moments (1.20 euros for any journey, they give you change, can get on at the hotel and stay on the bus until it gets to the top of the albycin or get out around plaza nueva). Being up from the city made our weekend more relaxing. Easy to drive to and we had no problems parking at the hotel (free).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catmilosevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

For this price (140 euro - triple room* without breakfast - in February) I would rather choose a different hotel.
The position of the Alhambra Hotel is great, but nothing else.
The rooms desperately need renovation. The smell in quite unpleasant (mustiness)
The hotel does not have a parking, you'll have to park in the Alhambra's parking (10 minuts walk)..

* the triple room was not a real triple room, but a double with added bed

A short glipm into another room with the view of the city revealed that those rooms are even smaller (and will not fit an additional bed), and probably they are more expensive than the ones without view

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marghe_Warsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, Ca, USA
Level Contributor
498 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Wanted to stay as close to the Alhambra as possible, but not pay the rate that the Parador wanted. Reasonable rate on Booking.com (135 euros). Was lucky to get free parking in the front of the hotel (limited space available). Common areas are quite impressive with great views of the city and mountains. (and mentioned in more detail in many other reviews). Rooms very nice, well furnished and spacious. About a 10-15 minute walk uphill to the entrance of the Alhambra (or you can take a bus or taxi). We had reserved our tickets to the Alhambra several months before online. Coming back to the hotel, take one of the lower tower exits and it is less than 10 minutes back to the hotel, with minimal uphill walking. Taxi to the town for tapas or dinner is around 5-7 euros. Great breakfast buffet included in our room rate. We thoroughly enoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 122 in Granada
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parador de Granada
#13 of 122 in Granada
1,259 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Property: Hotel Alhambra Palace
Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#25 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing