We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location for Alhambra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #16 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
147 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best location for Alhambra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Lovely Moorish design hotel, Very well managed Reception area. Car was parked right outside the hotel so we could keep an eye on it. Beautiful views over the city of Granada from the Bar terrace, lovely spot for a drink which we found to be reasonable - about 11 euros for a Mojito and a beer. Booked a standard room and were very lucky in that we had one with a view over the city from both the bedroom and the bathroom. Big room, air conditioned. Lovely Moorish style tiles in bathroom. Excellent breakfast choice, everything you could want including cava if you can manage it. Excellent service from bar and restaurant staff and car/luggage attendants. Not at all stuffy although first impressions may make you think it would be. Very friendly. Ideally located for the Alhambra Palace, early 8.30 visit is great if you can get it. Shaded easy walk down to the city of Granada below or you can take the bus for about 1eur30, stops by the hotel. Would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view if you can get it. Leave open the curtains and see the sun rise over the cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    526
    163
    57
    21
See reviews for
312
736
52
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cordoba, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel if you want something with real character and a feeling of luxury. Rooms a little small especially the bathroom, but adequate. Free Wifi in the room which was great. Overall our room was good value for money but a word of warning the restaurant and bar is expensive. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

This hotel defines high quality, particularly for service.

The reception area, bar and restaurant area are outstanding in their design and empathy to the Moorish architecture of the Alhambra Palaces, and this is carried through the rest of the hotel, exemplified by the ensuites to hotel bedrooms.

The restaurant Is magnificent in design, and the food is excellent, although the menu is a little limited in range. Views over the town and surrounding mountains are a feature of the restaurant terrace, as well as the balcony bar.

We were hugely impressed by the helpful attitude of the front desk staff as well as in the bar and restaurant. Two examples of this were the advice on other places to eat and particular taxi arrangements needed for access up to the old town. We were also very impressed with their assistance in getting a major refund for us after a very unsatisfactory ( and expensive ) guided tour of the Palace complex.

Admittedly it was clear that the hotel was far from being full, which is when staff attitude is really tested, but my wife and I would rate this hotel as probably the best for a city break in Spain we have had so far.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Middleagedskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the "Alhambra Palace Hotel" aka Hotel Alhambra Palace. The hotel itself is very nice (providing you are OK with olde worlde elegance with a Moorish theme), the rooms fine, the restaurant outstanding, the bar terrace lovely with a great view over Granada (if the wind/rain allows).
The important thing about this review is that we found the price on the net of the Alhambra Palace Hotel much cheaper than the Hotel Alhambra Palace - maybe different operators, but we genuinely thought that these were 2 different hotels - NOT!!
Re other hotels close to the Alhambra Palace, we considered the Paradore (having stayed in the one in Toledo and loved the feel) but at $600 per night at the time, it was beyond our budget but having seen it (not the rooms) it looked lovely but so too was the price. Also saw the Hotel America (tried to eat lunch there, but small restaurant and indeed small hotel - reminded me of a little pub in the UK). There were also several large looking hotels on the road outside and leading up to the Palace - not sure of the names but worth investigating if you can find the names. However re the Palace Hotel - very happy with our choice and stay there - we ate in the restaurant 2 nights in a row because it was so good.

Room Tip: Ask for (or pay for more if you have to) with a room overlooking the town - fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Hotel had a wonderful location next to Alhambra with glorious interiors echoing those palaces - slightly tired around the edges though. Staff very helpful and willing but levels of english quite mixed (apologies in advance for expecting everyone to speak my language!). highly recommend eating out on the terrace with its views over the city. Sundowners in particular could be very romantic - even with a 17year-old in tow I had several compliments from husband which must speak to the ambience!! We had a junior suite which was pretty reasonable for 3 adults including breakfast. Tons of sleeping and relaxing space plus a large bathroon.

Room Tip: ask for room over looking the City - I doubt many other hotel locations have these types of views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cargi1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We picked this hotel because of its proximity to the Alhambra and the beautiful views of the city. Beware! Only half the rooms have this view, and only some have terraces. We were booked into rooms that looked at the car park and the roof tiles. Our room was by the service elevator and had a strange repetitive groaning noise. We were given an unripe fruit basket to make up for the fuss I made about the room- and were moved the next day to a " view" room- which had one window looking out. The hotel is large and somewhat tired. The breakfast buffet was very adequate. We lucked out with the parking- but no one told us about the alternating one way street in front of the hotel- very confusing! It was walking distance to the Alhambra, and there was a decent restaurant close by. No I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: ask about your view in advance!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank langleytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

The hotel Alhambra Palace was easily the most expensive hotel we stayed in during our trip to Spain but it was well worth the price. The location is great. Nice views of the city from the rooms and the balcony bar (shaded and kept cool with continuous moisture spray) is a nice place to relax in the afternoon heat with a beer. The proximity to the Alhambra, the main reason one visits Granada, is also a big plus as is the fact that, up on a hill, the hotel is quiet. Taxis (inexpensive) and a frequent bus service can take you to and from downtown in no time.

Unlike another poster below, we had a nice room that was definitely not dated (ours was on the -1 floor, below the main level). It was spacious, with a large attached bathroom (great shower!), huge closets, and was well done up. WiFi reception was excellent both in the room as well as in the bar. The staff were friendly and helpful (quick valet service, helpful with directions and recommendations) and free parking was definitely a plus (think of the cost of parking plus the incredibly high VAT and it all adds up quickly!).

Though I'm giving the hotel a five star rating, they really need to work on improving the choices available for food. The hotel has a cafe with a very limited menu and, at their price point they should have better options for the hungry traveler. But, perhaps because this was close to the end of our spanish leg, we'd had enough of the manchego and jamon - particularly since a hefty chunk of my family is vegetarian!

(Note. I actually think that, for the price we ended up paying for 3 rooms - 4 adults and 3 kids - the place was a steal!)

Room Tip: Looking at some of the reviews below, I suspect the -1 level rooms (rooms 1 through 5) are a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Parador de Granada
#13 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Property: Hotel Alhambra Palace
Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#25 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing