We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, position and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alhambra Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #16 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great view, position and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Our room was a junior suite overlooking the city. It was spacious, clean and comfortable beds. The decor of the hotel was super, very alhambra, way over the top and just suits the location it is in. the receptionist male staff was really friendly and helpful, they parked our car for us and answered all our questions of where to go what to do with no trouble or annoyance. We really liked our 2 night stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: I was travelling with my sister and we wanted a quiet room with space. The junior suite worked out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    518
    162
    57
    21
See reviews for
303
726
51
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at the Alhambra Palace for 4 nights. The location is great with fantastic views over Granada. Our room was not massive but ample for our short stay. The bathroom was large with beautiful tiles throughout. We had a huge balcony looking out over Granada. The bar although expensive is well worth visiting with such wonderful views. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a good range of choices, although it was a little annoying to have to que at the one and only coffee machine. We did not have an evening meal so cannot comment on the food. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely hotel and city.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We Stayed at this hotel for three nights. What a wonderful and peaceful stay in a great city
Rooms where excellent size, not boxed in like some hotel rooms. Great sized bathroom too. Not a box bathroom.
We travelled with our 16 week old son and even with the cot in there there was ample room. Hotel provided a lovely cot with bumper.
Views from the outside drinking terrace gave excellent views of Granada city. Perfect when we were drinking our jug of sangria. You can grab the sun up till 7 in the evening due to the perfect location of the terrace.
Staff were so helpful and friendly. We needed hot water for our sons bottles every four hours and they were always happy to oblige. Even after 12 at night.
Very good breakfast buffet with ample choice. Could eat something different every day of the week.
All areas (bar, breakfast area, reception)where exceptionally clean. Staff even assisted with helping us with the wifi as we couldn't work out how to set it up on the iPad as the page was in Spanish. (not the hotels fault, telephone provider is Spanish of course).
The hotel is at the top of a two rather steep hills, fine walking down into the centre of town but buses finish after eleven so a bit of climb back to the hotel. Taxis are a bit hard to catch at eleven at night. Could have been us being unlucky though trying to catch a taxi. Takes about ten minutes to walk into town and a really easy ten minutes to the Alhambra Palace.
Only negative point I can give about this hotel is the parking. Yes it is free, they even park your car for you. But it's not allocated spaces just crammed in, and trying to get it out was a nightmare as taxis are constantly dropping off, buses are parking and no exaggerating, but the space between the next car and the bolllard was less than a hands width. They did get the car out for us but felt stressed as everyone was inpatient for us to move on.
If you are disabled (a wheelchair user), this hotel might be a bit tricky. With our pushchair we had to lift it down the or up the stairs. You would need help.
Baby sitting service is available. We would have used it but at last minute made our mind up. The baby sitter stays in your room till you return. Me met some of the women who look after your child and they were lovely. I would definitely recommend this service. Trust them you would be leaving your child in safe hands.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Beautiful, and perfectly clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becca3978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Great location for palace and steep walk into old town. Rooms pretty standards but drinks at bar with panorama is a must. Decor literally mirrors the palace. Helpful reception. Public car park 400m away.
Not bad overall

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

I feel we must have stayed at a different hotel to the strange remarks we have read on this site.The first impression is beautiful. Everything is in character. Staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was big enough with a super balcony to sit on. Toiletries were ample and good quality.The restaurant had a very good choice of both fish and meats with modern cuisine techniques. Our Red Veal was cooked perfectly and tasted delicious. Good wines. The Bar had a varied selection of 'snacks' and breakfast had enough variety to suit all tastes.Having lived in Spain for 12 years but now resident in Uk we looked forward to this visit. I do not understand where the comment 'old and needing renovation' came from. everything was gleaming and as for tabacco smells - where did they emanate from? I think people complain over the most odd things.As for feeling too young to be treated with courtesy - well we have never known any Spanish to be rude as this is not in their nature. We loved this Hotel and would go back again.

Room Tip: If there are more than two of you -get a taxi - its cheaper than the bus outside the Hotel. and ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCFMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

This is a first class hotel with very well appointed rooms and public areas. The views from the terrace are stunning and when accompanied by a cool beer and the fattest, garlic flavoured, olives your visit feels complete!

The dinner was fine and offered a good wine selection. Take care ordering an Anis though! I ordered one and the volume was really quite a lot!

The breakfast is a disappointment. A long queue for coffee and then to find it is nothing special takes the shine off of an otherwise perfect stay.

One tip - Get good directions and avoid the Centro Cuidad (city centre). This is a driving nightmare. We wasted close on 45 minutes going around and around before getting out!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the valley side offer the best views and are perhaps slightly more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

While on our honeymoon in Southern Spain, my husband and I decided that we definitely wanted to do a tour of the Alhambra and Generalife. Knowing that it was a far drive from where we were currently staying, we searched for a hotel close to the palace and stumbled upon this one. The Hotel Alhambra Palace was also highly rated in our guide book so we decided that it would be a good place to stay. We called on a Monday and made a reservation for Wednesday night. They were short on the phone but confirmed that we were all set at the rate of 184.00 euros for the night.

Once we arrived there things were not as expected. THEY LOST OUR RESERVATION! After we parked the car we approached the front desk to check in. The woman at the front desk checked the computer and said that we did not have a reservation. We insisted that we called on Monday and made one. She checked her list again and then, with an extremely annoyed look on her face, consulted with the other woman at the front desk. They talked for a moment in Spanish and then she turned on her heel and went into the back to talk to who, I assume, was her boss. She came back out and insisted we did not have a reservation. At this point I actually pulled my iPhone out to show her that we indeed had called and that we had had a lengthy conversation with whoever was on staff. She frowned at me and walked off again in the backroom and then came back. She then had the audacity to ask me how much per night we were quoted, as if quizzing me! I told her 184.00 euros a night. She looked skeptically at me and said, "Yes, that is how much we charge." What the heck are you asking me for then?!!!! Finally, she said, "Well we have some rooms available." And gave us a room. Completely, completely unprofessional! There was no apology on their part and it was apparently OUR fault that THEY don't have their act together!

The room we had was nice and overlooked downtown Grenada. The food in the hotel was good. If you plan on dining in the dining room for dinner be sure to bring appropriate attire! It is quite fancy and expensive. There is always the option of the "cafe" on site instead that has sandwiches, etc. to eat. There are also quite a few eateries up the street near the Alhambra. It's close proximity to the Alhambra was also very nice.

I'm not sure if it was because we looked young (we are in our mid to late twenties and everyone else there was at least 40 and above) and therefor, in their mind, weren't as weathly as everyone else or what but they treated us horribly and were incredibly inconsiderate and rude. I was completely surprised by how unprofessional they were and hope that they are nicer to their future customers. I also hope that the woman at the front desk goes through proper training in customer service. I don't think the customer is always right, but don't treat them below you!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank nyeelitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Parador de Granada
#13 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Property: Hotel Alhambra Palace
Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#25 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing