We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location; Poor Room Service & Food Choices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #16 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a 4-star hotel around the corner from the Alhambra Palace, the most visited tourist site in Spain. Room was fine, but the food choices were quite limited--for example, there is no children's menu, and if you are Muslim, Jewish, Adventist, Vegetarian, or Vegan, the fact that 90% of the items on the menu involve ham or other pork products is quite limiting. When we sent back a hamburger that arrived raw, the next burger came with a toxic amount of salt---most likely the chef's punitive measure against us. My kids were too hungry for us to send back the burger another time. We were not impressed, and could not find the hotel manager, with the desk clerk not wanting to handle any complaints. Over-rated due to location and imitation of the real Alhambra.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seema S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear guest. Thank you very much for your comments. We are very sorry about your experience in our hotel. This is not the normal impression our guest get after their stay as you can read in the thousand of comments from others tripadvisor users. Our restaurant menu offers a huge variety of meals from pork to fresh fish or vegetables, so it does our snack bar menu. Normally when a client had any objection about the food and it’s been told to our professionals waiters and to the chef, they used to re-do it even better that the first time that’s why we still on since 1910. Our peculiar similarity to the Alhambra is one of the reasons why the hotel is protected by the UNESCO. In addition, our reputation all over the world plus the 103 years of professionalism in the different departments is what makes us unique. That’s why, we inspire you to try and trust us one more time so we can thank you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 1,613 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

very nice hotel with great architecture .
the hotel is a 100 years old but it is very well preserved and just 5 minute walk from the Alhambra.
we have been assigned a room with a huge terrace on the 4th floor.
food at the hotel was excellent , breakfast and a la carte but the service in restaurant need big improvement as they consider themselves as a fine dining , except the service at the lobby bar terrace which was very good.
front office staff were very kind and helpful , they even kindly run everywhere to find candy for my daughter at the check out as the bowl was empty and she wanted to have one .
great adress in Grenada and worth to be back .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epicurean66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel has a wonderful location and is justifiably proud of it. The building itself shows some signs of age but is generally as impressive as when it was first built. Staff were extremely helpful when we arrived by car and asked about parking (the car was parked for us and the luggage delivered to our room). The room itself was of a high standard and comfortable with a magnificent view over the city of Granada. Breakfast matched the quality of the rest of the hotel and service was helpful if slightly abrupt. Reception staff were most helpful in arranging our tours and plans.
Only two small gripes; one has been mentioned by many (the wi-fi) frustrating in the extreme and one can only assume it is just not sufficiently powerful for the number of users.

Room Tip: A point of advice; we were initially very impressed to have a room just off the lobby (15), it was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrantPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The hotel is grand but reminiscent of the Titanic era. While nicely decorated, the place has the look of a grand old lady. The hotel has a lot of history with many important guests (royalty, celebrities and politicians) having chosen it for their stay in Granada. You too may choose it to be a part of that history. While this and the “glamour of the 1920s and 1930s” may appeal to some, it did not to us.
The common areas are well-furnished. The elevator was a bit shaky on the way up and so we opted for the stairs thereafter. The room was dimly lit and the fabric and linens looked dated. The bathroom layout was a bit awkward – the toilet was located such that you had to tuck slightly under the sink to access it. The shower drain was slow.
The hotel is at a distance from the city centre and requires a taxi. Though very close to the Alhambra, we had a tour group picking us up and so the proximity did not benefit us. The view from our room was not of the Alhambra so in the end, we would have preferred a hotel closer to the centre instead.
We opted to have dinner at the hotel and it was quite good. The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice. Service at the hotel (reception and valet) and the restaurant was excellent.
Complimentary car parking is available at the hotel but spots are limited.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for you comment it really helps us to improve. However we would like to inform you that our Hotel is the Alhambra experience itself that’s way the decoration remains to the Arabic style and this may be the reason why it can be seen as a bit historic. Also we would like to clarify that our location is privileged we are just 15 minutes away by walking from the center of the city and 5 minutes away from the Alhambra, inside the Alhambra citadel a protected area by the UNESCO.
The rooms’ decoration collect the essence of the category the hotel has. In addition, even though not all our rooms have view to the Alhambra, all of them offer views to either the city, the alhambra forest or to Sierra Nevada, Granada’s ski resort. That’s why we hope to see you again in order to thank you for your comment personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We spent two days here visiting the Alhambra Palace: it is ideally located for there being a short stroll a there as it is is walking into the centre of the old town. There is a regular shuttle bus back which is regular and stops outside the hotel.

The beds were comfortable, rooms clean and the common areas spacious and uncrowded. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The wi Fi is erratic, the rooms have some tired bits, but the view from the terrace is fabulous, particularly at sunset. Unusually, for us we got quite a good deal.

We got a taxi from the airport as you do not need a car.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100arumlilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

ALHAMBRA PALACE HOTEL
RUDE, VERY UNPOLITE and AWFUL MANNERS from the front door parking staff.

While the Andalucia Touring 2013 guests were staying at this hotel, we had a very sad experience with the evening parking staff (21:15 hours of 12th of september 2013). He displayed a very disappointing behavior.


An awful and regretable treat displayed with clients. It talks about of the lack of good manners, lack of profesionalism and very poor staff management.

A very disappointing welcome for those who arrive to the hotel. If your wife is insulted by a 5 star hotel doorkeeper  in front of you, you will have a very bad souvenir from your holidays. We asked this person to apologize but he refused to do it.

Bad experience and very bad mood afterwards. If I were you I will look for another hotel if you want to avoid this sort of disappointing situations.

Unpolite, bad trained and unprofessional staff. We asked for a complains sheet that we fullfied and sent to Junta de Andalucía authorities, but we think it is even more important to share this with future potential clients, and this is the reason we do so. 

Stayed: September 2013
4  Thank CarlosGomezAcebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear guest.

First of all thank you very much for you comment, this kind of comments helps us to improve. We are sorry your impression was as bad as you mention in the comment but, as you will be able to read in the thousand of comment from others Tripadvisor users, our personal is one of the features from our hotel with what everyone is happy about it. Normally all the personal, from the front door (parking) to the floors Housekeepers, are polite, well manners and over all professionals due to the amount of years they had been working in the hotel facing our guests day by day. It is true that due to our location (inside the Alhambra Citadel a 1000 years old area that is protected by the UNESCO), we have a very limit parking area and in high season, this limitation is noticed more often. We are really sorry about your experience and we hope to see you in another occasion so you can appreciate the beauty of the Hotel in all its essence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

When we arrived to this hotel after six hours of driving we found out that we forgot our passports in the hotel safe in Seville; however, the front desk staff was so helpful they called our hotel in Seville and asked for a copy and helped us check in very fast. Also they arranged for a driver to go to Seville and bring our passports by morning time for we were staying only one night. I am so great full for the professional way they handled this matter. The hotel it self is built the Andulisian style which is very nice the rooms are little old but the view over Granada from the room and the restaurant are just spectacular. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was very good and fresh. All in all it was a good choice and definitely good memories.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Oibhais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,812 reviews
Parador de Granada
#13 of 122 in Granada
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,309 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#28 of 122 in Granada
2,358 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £106 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing