We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #16 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here in September 2013. The hotel is showing its age but is clean and very comfortable. Located on the Alhambra hill top, it is only a five minute walk to the palace grounds. The walk to town takes about 20 minutes downhill or you can take to free bus that stops right in front of the hotel. It has limited free parking we were lucky to get. We didn't eat here but we did have tea and coffee on the patio. The wifi sucks. Really. I had to stand in front of the front desk to get reception. Overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear client thank you very much for your comment we are glad to hear you enjoy not just your stay with us but also our snak-bar Terrace. However, we would like to inform you about the last renovation done in our wifi system so know there is no need of password and the signal reception is much better. Hope to see you again to thank you personally.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    527
    163
    58
    21
See reviews for
313
738
52
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Alhambra Palace is truly a fairytale hotel. Our son was entranced as we arrived at its red crenelated exterior and driving right up to the Alhambra is a treat in itself. Placed atop Granada, the views from the terrace were great - we spent happy hours drinking coffee/ beer/ anything while watching the city below. Our room was huge - a corner turret so further excitement! With an extra bed for our son at no charge and still masses of room. Lovely bathroom and everything on a curve. Room was very comfortable, which was great since we needed a base. Wonderful to walk from the hotel to the Alhambra itself, and while that was our best day, every day we just wandered around this lovely city. The staff were very friendly, for a smart hotel they could not have been more welcoming to our son. Breakfast was formal but lovely and we ate in the restaurant every night, great food, made a real fuss of us and our son, wonderful in every way.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Alicia2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthews nc
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Just back from the experience of a lifetime. This hotel was a large part of our fabulous time. Its location above the city and just barely below the Alhambra (easily walkable) was stunning. The hotel itself is beautiful and magnificent and spotlessly clean. I took 30 pictures in the hotel itself, so that tells you how much I loved it! Moorish architecture and glossy marble columns and counters and a killer view from lobby and eating terrace and your room, if you ask for city view. It was simply a breathtaking experience staying here and I miss it already. Beauty inside and out and every way you turn. A must do.

Room Tip: Be sure and get a city view room, the sunsets and the views over the city below are just incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmgMatthewsNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Alhambra Palace is located on the same hill and just a stone's throw from the famed Alhambra Palace. A short walk away. It is a magnificent hotel reminiscent of Alfonse XIII in Sevilla. Large quite rooms, beautiful tile work, pleasant and attractive common areas for early morning coffee or late afternoon drinks; an outdoor veranda for drinks, lunch and dinner with a spectacular sunset and an unsurpassed view over the city of Granada; and, last but by no means least, the most pleasant and friendly staff you could find anywhere. Christina and the staff in the reception could not have been more welcoming, helpful and gracious with everything from room selection to booking Flamenco dinners, Alhambra Tours and Olive production guided tours. The breakfast buffet is varied and excellent and a good way to start the day. Having stayed in so many hotels in more countries and cities than I care to remember, I am pleased to be able to say that the Alhambra Palace is at the top of the list of pleasant experiences.

The location is unsurpassed in three ways: 1. The closeness to Alhambra Palace; 2. The view over the entire city of Granada from the Hotel Veranda or individual rooms; and 3. The short walk down to Plaza Nuevo, the center of Granada, either through the park adjacent to the Palace or, more strenuously, down the steps next to the hotel.

Room Tip: For most, a view of the City of Granada would be the first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staffan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The first time we stayed here one night's accommodation cost more than the rest of the holiday put together. Now, fortunately, I collect Paradores and I am more used to the price. Wonderful position within the wall s of the Alhambra complex, where you can wander at night and wish yourself back to Moorish times -hopelessly romantic but what is wrong with that now and again. The rooms are excellent, especially the suites. The restaurant serves reasonably priced excellent food for those who want their Andalucian dishes slightly sanitised - and I don't mean that negatively.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jake1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We spent two magical days in Granada and would recommend this hotel for a short stay. The hotel itself is stunning and replicates the nearby Alhambra. There are many lovely mosaics and other moorish touches. The view of the city from rooms/bar and outdoor terrace takes some beating. It is only a 10 minute walk to one of the Alhambra gates and local buses stop outside to take you into town if you cannot manage the 15 minute downhill walk - it is steep.
All service areas were good - staff couldn't do enough, although we did witness other guests being rude to staff over absolutely a mix up that was clearly a language barrier issue and not a failing of staff. Staff remained unflappable and polite, even when sworn at, quite unreasonably.
The breakfast is good - lots of choice. We had a lunch here - it was nice but on the expensive side. However, the view whilst eating made it worthwhile.
Rooms were a good size but very comfortable. Bathrooms were good- ours had a rain shower and ordinary head too.
We would stay again and recommend this to others, especially good location for Alhambra (book tickets online to guarantee), the walking tour of the Albaycin (don't miss this) and the cathedral which is amazing too.

Room Tip: Ask for city view room. Stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights. The hotel bar has superb views of the city, the wifi works well and the breakfast is good. The hotel us well located if you are visiting the Alhambra. The staff at the front desk were very helpful in guiding us but were stressed. A proper concierge service would be helpful

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank YSamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Parador de Granada
#13 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Property: Hotel Alhambra Palace
Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#25 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing