We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really convenient for both the old city and the Alhambra.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alhambra Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #16 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Really convenient for both the old city and the Alhambra.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The big plus of this hotel was its location; lovely 15 min walks down cobbled streets or through tree lined walks to the old city or 5 mins walk to the Alhambra Palace.The decor is very similar architecture to the Palace itself..very grand and imposing. Service was always excellent..very friendly and helpful.
The bedroom was ok, but a very tight squeeze between end of bed and desk. Bathroom was good sized and clean.There was an unfortunate intermittent smell of drains though. Food was very good in both the Tapas bar and in the formal dining room with prices similar to UK. Although if you pop down to the town it is about a quarter of the price. Overall great atmosphere...we expected Poirot to toddle thro at any moment! Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear client,
Thank you very much for your kind comment. We are really thankful you enjoy your stay with us and we hope you felt like home. These types of comments are the reason our staff keeps working as it was the first day. Hope to see you again soon to thank you personally.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    518
    162
    57
    21
See reviews for
303
727
51
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Love this hotel, although it is a climb if on foot, the views over the city are spectacular and very exciting. I will always return to this hotel. Food in the hotel was ok, breakfast good with a nice range of options. Room was a bit dated by still loved being able to pick a lemon from the window!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear client,

We are glad you enjoy you stay with us. Thanks to comments like this we don’t lose the motivation to keep working hard so our clients feels like home during their stay. Hope to see you again so we can thank you personally.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very helpful front desk staff. On the hill where the entrance to the Alhambra is located. A short walk to the busy, busy old city on a path with steps. Good buffet breakfast and good restaurant for dinner. The room on the 4th floor was lovely with tile work on the ceilings. The hotel has a lot of old world charm and good views from the windows. The little red bus goes by every few minutes if you don't feel like walking. Really nice hotel - well located and western standards were met all around. Try a drink at the bar with the great view and bowls of almonds. You won't be disappointed.

One note - if you are driving, the directions to the Hotel Alhambra Palace do not tell you that you have to go left of the parking gate entrance down a narrow two way street that looks like a one way. You don't go on the road for the paid parking. It is one road below that to get to the hotel. Parking is free at the hotel. You;d have to be insane to park in the old city if you aren't a local as the streets are very narrow.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for you comment. It is honor to know that our clients feels like home during their stay. The whole hotel team apprecciate for this kind words and we hope to see you soon so we can thank you personally.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

On the second stay, this hotel continued to please. There is no doubt it has the perfect location in Granada. Walking distance to Alhambra, and into town. Secluded, beautifully decorated and lovely spot. Food a bit pricey. Service excellent, the staff is very helpful. The housekeeper ran outside after us to bring an umbrella we had left in the room. Beautiful views of town and mountains from hotel balcony!

Room Tip: Get a room with a large balcony if the weather is nice! Beautiful views and some extra room to relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyadventurer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Great location for Alhambra. Bedroom small. Drinks pricey - food not brilliant. Service very good. There are other Hotel choices in the same price range in the same area and I think I would explore all of them!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Client,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comment. Thanks to it we try to improve our service. However, we would like to inform you that our rooms have the statutory size. Also we would like to inform you that our hotel is not just a luxury historic building from 1910 but also the last Hotel that’s still up and running since then, nearby the Alhambra inside a protected area by the UNESCO, what’s make us unique. Hope to see you again in order to thank you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Situated at the top of the hill above the city and just below the Alhambra itself
, the views from the terrace or a front room are superb. Service was excellent and room very good. Bar and restaurant prices are high and there are not really any options within walking distance. You would need to take the small bus outside the hotel into town and back - but at 1.20 euros a trip that is OK. The Alhambra itself is only a few minutes walk away. Be sure to book tickets in advance - they can sell out.

A few tips about travel. Everyone recommends that if you are travelling to Malaga you need to take a bus. Beware - the buses can get full with pre-bookings, and the bus station is a fair distance from the centre - at a busy time it can take 35 minutes to get there by city service bus. If you choose to go by train, the staff at the Renfe station will tell you it cannot be done. IT CAN - simply by taking a train to Antequera Santa Ana (NOT Antequera itself), then making a connection to Malaga. Admittedly the connection times may not be good and there is nothing to do in Antequera Santa Ana, but if it is that or being forced to stay an extra night in Granada because the buses are full - well you can judge.

Room Tip: Front rooms for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewnatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Location just adjacent to the palace and beautiful setting. Our room was very pleasant the bed very comfortable.

We liked the restaurant and the central lounge area where we had tapas. Excellent breakfast. Staff delightful. Lovely hotel in a beautiful city.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Parador de Granada
#13 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Property: Hotel Alhambra Palace
Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#25 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotelopia and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing