We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #16 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Beautiful hotel. Great location and he view from the restaurant is amazing. The room was quite small but the bed was fab, bedding lovely, towels are great. Really beautiful hotel really enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelchick6383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

First time visit! Wonderful experience in Granada Spain! Relaxing atmosphere, private rooms, quiet hallways and lobbies. Great service made you feel like royalty. Delicious food and the hotel’s sit-down restaurant serves Andalusian food. There is also a bar with a terrace featuring impressive views of Granada and the Sierra Nevada. Alhambra Palace is just outside the Alhambra’s ancient walls, offering spectacular views of the city of Granada. It features stylish rooms with Moorish-inspired décor. I would go back again

Room Tip: Any room is royalty quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAVERNE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My initial request was for an open view on the town of Granada: unfortunately we had to spend the first night on the back with an average room: view on the eleven fans of the air conditioning system (therefore noise) and by midnight being thirsty we checked that the beer from the fridge was tepid and to be drunk before last month (Feb. 2014). The explanation is quite simple and paradoxical: the electrical network in the room is only connected with the keycard, including the fridge!!
The following day after claiming for these dysfunctions, I was given a nice room with a nice view on Granada.

Room Tip: Be selective for the rooms: front are beautiful and back are...pitiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank t0up0ul0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here in March 2014. There is not a lot to recommend at this hotel. It is very close to the Alhambra, which is why we chose it. However, although it is about 1/3 mile from the main entrance, the walk is all uphill, with some of it relatively steep. The young and/or physically fit will have no trouble (I walked it in less than 10 minutes), but the elderly and people who are even mildly disabled will need to take a taxi (it costs 4 euros for that 1/3 mile).

For a tourist hotel that has many English-speaking guests, the hotel staff is remarkably poor in their English language skills. At least half speak no English at all. Another fourth speak a few words and perhaps a fourth speak English with some fluency. I speak no Spanish, but then I’m not in the hospitality business at a tourist hotel. Every communication is a struggle; room service has no idea what you’re ordering (they had to send someone to our room with the menu, and we pointed to what we wanted), and at the front desk you learn which one of the three people on duty speaks English and wait for her.

The hotel rooms are plain (except for exceptional crown molding). All have views from small balconies; ours was of Granada with the snow-capped Sierra Nevada just in view. The carpet is very worn and is coming off the floor around the edges of the room. The bathroom had beautiful tile work but was poorly laid out. The toilet is six inches from the sink (literally) and so had to be sat on sideways (I’m not kidding). Meanwhile, there is a bidet sitting off by itself with much more room than it needs (assuming, of course, that a bidet is necessary at all). The shower requires someone with a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering to figure out how to work it. And it has a half glass enclosure, guaranteeing that water will spill onto the floor.

Internet is “free,” but often does not work. Average loading time for a webpage was about 2 minutes if it worked at all. We were at the end of a hall, so there was very likely one router in the middle of the hotel and it didn’t carry the signal far enough. Except for a few nice touches, the rooms do not measure up to a Holiday Inn Express in the U.S., but the hotel passes for a four-star hotel in Spain.

As negative as the review is so far, perhaps the most annoying aspect of the hotel is its isolation and management’s apparent obliviousness to this fact. There is no place to shop within at least a mile of the hotel (except at the Alhambra, but those shops have limited selection and hours). The hotel itself has no gift or sundry shop, so there is no place to purchase a soft drink, candy bar, or other items (think female hygiene products). That is just poor management on the part of the hotel and not excusable.

The hotel has some good points. The lobby and public areas are beautiful. The food, both on the terrace overlooking Granada and for room service, is excellent. Nice prints of Spanish cities from several hundred years ago (Cordoba, Seville, Granada, etc.) are in the hallways and rooms. The staff members are generally friendly.

Overall, the negatives strongly outweigh the positives. The hotel was a disappointment to us.

Granada itself is quite nice, and the warren of small shopping streets in the cathedral district is great. And the Alhambra will exceed your expectations, whatever they may be . . ..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tripman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment. Thanks to comments like this we do our best to improve. However we would like to inform you that the Alhambra is 5 minutes by walking form the Hotel but there is also a bus stop where you can take a MiniBus1.20€ to the Alhambra from the entrance of the Hotel. In addition, we inform you that all of our staff speak enough English to understand and being understood as you can read on other tripadvisor comments.
Regarding the size of the bathroom, we inform you that all of them as well as the rooms obey with the legal room’s size and the bidet it is a cultural theme. The shower has the modern mechanism that all 4 stars hotels has, even though you have our front desk staff in case you have any dough about it, they are more than please to help you.
We also we like to inform you that our snack bar has a wide offer of cakes, toast (pintxo), drinks and cocktails between other things.
We are just 10 minutes by walking from the center of the city and 5 minutes by public transportation but what is more important we are inside the UNESCO’s protected area, the reason why there is not a mall nearby the hotel but, there is a souvenir shop where you can find all the typical handmade presents between other things, just at the corner of the Hotel.
Hope you have the opportunity of coming back to Granada so we can thank you personally.
Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed in this hotel for four nights - beautiful room with balcony and amazing views across Granada and to the Sierra Nevada. Slightly over-the top kitsch decor added to the feeling of being somewhere unusually 'foreign'. Impeccable service in the bar and restaurant, and everywhere spotlessly clean and maintained. Amazing location for access to the Alhambra, and the climb up and down from Granada helped offset the food and rioja ! Only criticism ~ the cooked breakfast was not five star (but perfectly acceptable). A beautiful place to stay in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have views across the city - and fewer still appeared to have a balcony - we were just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad you enjoy your stay at the Hotel Alhambra Palace. We would love to see you soon so we can thank you personally.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel is in a fantastic location with views of the Sierra Nevadas that are amazing. We spent every evening either on our own terrace or on the bar terrace watching the sunsets. The hotel is very well maintained (this from an ex-hotel Engineer) Only the edge of the stair well carpets showed some wear, but the interior design is beautiful. We got some exercise, too since the hotel sits on a hill and all roads to and fro are steep.

Room Tip: Get a room with a terrace on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swedishfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much or your comment. We are glad you enjoy your stay with us and we would love you came back soon so we can thank you personally.
Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four nights midweek in March which was pretty quiet, but we had a good time. The hotel is really beautiful and decorated in the Alhambra style. Our room was a little on the small side, but was clean, comfortable and well furnished. We used the bar facilities including snacks which were really good if you don't want to eat a large meal from the restaurant. Breakfast was excellent with a really good choice of cold buffet and cooked breakfast, which was always fresh and hot. Because we were there early season we didn't have a problem parking our car, not sure what this would be like high season as there is limited parking at the hotel.

Room Tip: Very few rooms have big windows and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonSkiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,814 reviews
Parador de Granada
#13 of 122 in Granada
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,312 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#29 of 122 in Granada
2,362 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £106 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing