We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #18 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Foster City, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved the hotel!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel is within walking distance to the Alhambra, the hotel arranged a tour. The hotel is beautiful and has an spectacular view of the city! The rooms had high end linens and a beautiful tiled bathroom.
To get downtown, its a short bus #30 ride (1.20 E) that passes right in front of the hotel every often, we took a cab back and it was 5.50E.
I recommend you arrange for it to include the breakfast, as you do not have any restaurants nearby. I made the reservations directly and it was included and for a bit lower than booking thru this site.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spalady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely comment. Thanks to comment like this the staffs of the hotel keep working with the same motivation than if it were the first day. We are very glad you enjoy during your stay with us and we hope to see you soon again so we can thank you personally.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    553
    171
    61
    24
See reviews for
325
780
56
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Whenever we take a family vacation, we always stay in budget hotels, hostels, and cheap vacation rentals. However, we always treat ourselves to one night in a luxury hotel or resort. For our 2014 trip to Europe, the Alhambra Palace was our treat. We weren't disappointed, the ambience was old-school Europe, the service was very good, and the room was lush. But for the budget traveller it is an expensive indulgence. The good news was that valet parking was free, as was the very slow wifi. The facility itself is quite lovely, and the terrace restaurant has spectacular views of the city. The best part is the proximity to the Alhambra itself. You can walk to the gates and ticket booth in five minutes. I didn't have Alhambra tickets, but I discovered that if you arrive at the ticket booth by 7AM they have a few tickets they sell each morning. All in all, a very nice, but expensive, place to stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank pcumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at this fabulous Hotel at Easter this year , having been there in previous occasions, when visiting Granada.
The position is great you can take the little bus that runs every 1/2 hr to The Alhambra or to the Cathedral or walk the shaded gardens to the Alhambra or to the center of the City.
The ambience is excellent , helpful staff , good breakfast.

We loved to see the sunset from their open terrace that has stunning views to the Mountains and views down to the old quarters of "The Realejo" with their old pantile roofs and gardens.

Unfortunately, this lovely and ONLY terrace has to be shared with the smokers!

Not only they annoy you but also the screeching noise every time a chair is moved on their tiled floor. Could they put a rubber stopper on their legs ?
With the information available now we consider its time to move the smokers to another area.

Room Tip: Some distance from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilda064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Perfect location for visiting the Alhambra, as it's walking distance to the palace. Large rooms, good air-conditioning, free WiFi (important to the kids). Very nice service, nice lobby for a glass of wine, and also porch off the back of the hotel overlooking the city for drinks or lunch. Very interesting and impressive architecture and decor of the entire hotel and in particular the public areas. Enjoy the view.

Room Tip: Get a room facing toward the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel is well positioned for Alhambra and for the city. Walking, or bus or taxi all very easy. Excellent buffet breakfast all good quality and fresh. Rooms are quite small but perfectly adequate for purpose Excellent helpful staff at reception. Price decent value for money.

Trying to sit in the evening on the terrace overlooking the city with a drink and a snack impossible because of the incessant smoking. How is this allowed in the EU? The hotel should not allow this but the staff just shrug!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comment. Comment like this is what motivates us to keep working as the first day. We are very glad you enjoy your stay with us. Regarding the smoking on our terrace, we are very sorry. As far a the law stipulate it is allow to smoke in the open air areas that’s the reason why the staff of the hotel couldn’t do anything about it. We hope you came back soon so we can thank you personally.
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mollington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I do not know which planet some of the people writing their reviews of this hotel where on.
The hotel is superb, the food is wonderful the rooms are clean and immaculate and the staff could not be more friendly and helpful, I know, I am staying here at the moment

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your kindest words. We are very glad you had a nice stay with us and that you enjoy it. Comments like this are what make us work as if it were the first day. We hope you came back soon so we can thank you personally.
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel has a superlative site on the Alhambra hill overlooking the city and conveniently next to the Alhambra palaces themselves. Its public rooms and spaces are absolutely beautiful and maintained to the highest standards, scrupulously clean, gleaming! The bedrooms are spotless too, the housekeeping staff charming and facilities modern (apart from too few electric sockets for gadgets). The bar and restaurant are a little disappointing, however: breakfast is very good with a wide buffet choice but the staff are not terribly interested in you; same in the bar - rather desultory service. I was astonished to be told that wine by the glass was restricted to two choices! You have to buy a bottle to get the full choice. We would have had a (dinner) meal in the restaurant but it doesn't open till 8.30pm Spanish style. This seems foolish policy for an international clientèle - far too late to start to eat. As a result the place is empty for the most part while local restaurants are teeming with diners.

Room Tip: The basic offering is a very nice room with wonderful views; plenty of space. Probably not worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClassicalBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 122 in Granada
1,670 reviews
Parador de Granada
#13 of 122 in Granada
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Property: Hotel Alhambra Palace
Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#25 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing