We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury with an incredible view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #16 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Luxury with an incredible view”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed just one night but wish we had spent more time there.

From the moment we checked in and a very warm and immediate welcome was offered despite the fact that it was very busy to the check out, nothing was too much trouble. The staff were very attentive although drinks on the terrace were a long time coming; but not a problem when you have one of the most spectacular views imaginable!

The rooms are all beautifully decorated in the Mozarabe style to chime with the Alhambra which is just a short walk up the road.

Getting into town is also an easy walk although getting back may be better in a taxi if you don't like uphill!

All in all, a very pleasant stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    535
    166
    60
    22
See reviews for
319
750
52
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We took two rooms based on the proximity to the palace and gardens. One can walk to the palace, which was the only advantage to this hotel. This hotel was obviously the Grande Dame when built in the 1920's. however, the original bathrooms and tiny, worn rooms are no longer becoming to this property. We found the management and staff poorly trained. When checking out, the front desk was more interested in the car stooped on the street than checking people out. I had to ask twice for a receipt. Very strange. The breakfast was quite nice. There are no restaurants outside the hotel within an easy walk. I don't what the hotels in the city are like, but we did spend two evenings in the city and found ample, wonderful restaurants and shopping. If we return, we will try to find something in the city, and take one of the many, inexpensive cabs to the palace. When visiting the palace, start first thing in the morning before the crowds arrive. The palace and gardens are fabulous.

Room Tip: Take a room on the rear for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grand_A_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comment. Thank to comments like this we try to improve day by day. Our hotel was built in 1910 and keeps the antique old style of those dates. The furniture of the rooms and the bathrooms are completely renovated while at the same time keep the old style of the epoch in which was built. The Alhambra Palace Hotel is how many people used to say “the Alhambra experience” for that reason we hope you came back and maybe you can experience it and we can thank you personally.
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We (my husband, 79 year old father and I), stayed at the Hotel Alhambra Palace Hotel on 14th abnd 15th May 2014. On arrival a porter immediately helped us with our luggage and, as there are no parking facilities at the hotel, he asked if we wanted to park the car ourselves at the Alhambra car park (a walk of about 15 minutes up hill from the hotel), or he could valet park it for us, so we chose the valet parking (15 Euros per night which was very reasonable indeed). The check in staff were helpful, friendly and very efficient.

I had booked a junior suite with views over Granada, but when we were shown into our room, the suite actually consisted of a very large bedroom with a big super king size, chairs and a table, ample hanging space, an alcove in the hallway for all our luggage, a large bathroom with a toilet, bidet, sinks, and a drencher and a normal shower both over the bath, and also a huge sitting/dining room with very comfortable chairs, a table, and a singe bed made up for my father. Each room had large doors leading onto a Juliet balcony, so although we could not sit on the balconies, we could stand on them to look at the fabulous views over the city of Granada and towards the snow-capped Sierra Nevada mountains.

The hotel was exceptionally clean, and all staff were very helpful and friendly.

Breakfast was served in the large dining room, and there was a very good selectin on offer - fresh fruit juices, cereals, rolls/breads/croissants, meats, cheeses, sliced fresh fruit, and hot food (bacon, eggs, tomatoes, etc.).

We had dinner in the hotel which was also excellent with a wide selection on the menu and it was cooked to perfection, with impeccable service from the waiting staff.

There is also a terrace bar, again with fabulous views over the city.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the Alhambra Palace, and there is also a taxi rank just outside the hotel for the trip into the city of Granada (it cost us about 4.75 Euros to get from the hotel to the cathedral, which was very reasonable). It cost us about 7.50 Euros to reach the Albaicin quarter from the hotel, which again was reasonable.

Check out was also very efficient and our car was brought to us within aboutu 10 minutes of our requesting it, though our departure was slightly delayed as the French Morgan owners club had been staying the previous night and had been able to park their cars (about 20 of them) outside the hotel, so we had to wait for them to depart before we could get on our way.

Amazingly, the Hotel Alhambra Palace is only a four star hotel. However, I guess if they had a car park and a swimming pool, they would easily be five stars.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anybody thinking of staying in Granada, as it s very romantic and is not at all like some of the more modern impersonal hotels. It was so good that we were really sad to leave the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a junior suite with a view over Granada - the price is not much more than for a standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloucesterKdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely comment. This type of comments are what make the staffs of the hotel keep working with the same motivation as if it were the first day. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us because it means that our work is fruitful and our guests can almost feel like home. We hope you came back soon so we can thank you personally.
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel is within walking distance to the Alhambra, the hotel arranged a tour. The hotel is beautiful and has an spectacular view of the city! The rooms had high end linens and a beautiful tiled bathroom.
To get downtown, its a short bus #30 ride (1.20 E) that passes right in front of the hotel every often, we took a cab back and it was 5.50E.
I recommend you arrange for it to include the breakfast, as you do not have any restaurants nearby. I made the reservations directly and it was included and for a bit lower than booking thru this site.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spalady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely comment. Thanks to comment like this the staffs of the hotel keep working with the same motivation than if it were the first day. We are very glad you enjoy during your stay with us and we hope to see you soon again so we can thank you personally.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Whenever we take a family vacation, we always stay in budget hotels, hostels, and cheap vacation rentals. However, we always treat ourselves to one night in a luxury hotel or resort. For our 2014 trip to Europe, the Alhambra Palace was our treat. We weren't disappointed, the ambience was old-school Europe, the service was very good, and the room was lush. But for the budget traveller it is an expensive indulgence. The good news was that valet parking was free, as was the very slow wifi. The facility itself is quite lovely, and the terrace restaurant has spectacular views of the city. The best part is the proximity to the Alhambra itself. You can walk to the gates and ticket booth in five minutes. I didn't have Alhambra tickets, but I discovered that if you arrive at the ticket booth by 7AM they have a few tickets they sell each morning. All in all, a very nice, but expensive, place to stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank pcumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at this fabulous Hotel at Easter this year , having been there in previous occasions, when visiting Granada.
The position is great you can take the little bus that runs every 1/2 hr to The Alhambra or to the Cathedral or walk the shaded gardens to the Alhambra or to the center of the City.
The ambience is excellent , helpful staff , good breakfast.

We loved to see the sunset from their open terrace that has stunning views to the Mountains and views down to the old quarters of "The Realejo" with their old pantile roofs and gardens.

Unfortunately, this lovely and ONLY terrace has to be shared with the smokers!

Not only they annoy you but also the screeching noise every time a chair is moved on their tiled floor. Could they put a rubber stopper on their legs ?
With the information available now we consider its time to move the smokers to another area.

Room Tip: Some distance from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilda064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Perfect location for visiting the Alhambra, as it's walking distance to the palace. Large rooms, good air-conditioning, free WiFi (important to the kids). Very nice service, nice lobby for a glass of wine, and also porch off the back of the hotel overlooking the city for drinks or lunch. Very interesting and impressive architecture and decor of the entire hotel and in particular the public areas. Enjoy the view.

Room Tip: Get a room facing toward the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Parador de Granada
#13 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Property: Hotel Alhambra Palace
Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#25 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing