We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Palace indeed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alhambra Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #16 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Palace indeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Alhambra Palace in a junior suite. The room was large and comfortable. the bathroom had double sinks and a large shower.
The room had an expansive view of the City.
The staff was extremely helpful starting with giving us precise and detailed driving instructions to find our way to the hotel. They also accommodated our car despite their notices that there was no parking at the hotel.
They further assisted with contacting the director of a nearby performance hall so we could inspect the hall for a potential venue of a youth orchestra.
The breakfast buffet was large and varied.
The hotel's location a short walk from the Alhambra was very convenient but most excursions into the rest of Granada was done by taxi.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    518
    163
    57
    21
See reviews for
304
727
51
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Decided to treat ourselves last week when we went to Granada to see the Alhambra Palace and booked into the Palace Hotel on the recommendation of a friend. Although it was stretching our budget we took the decision to do it as the location looked so good. Well are we glad we did. It was fabulous and the location is +++++++++. The walk down the hill into the old city was fabulous and the proximity to the palace itself just perfect with a wonderful walk through the gardens.Also very easy to use the public transport back up the hill with the stop just metres from the hotel foyer. The room was wonderful and spacious and the staff very helpful. Two small detractions were that the bathroom has NO place to put personal toiletries at all. Out toilet bags had to stay at the end of the bath and be removed when we showered as they got wet. And secondly the coffee in the breakfast restaurant was AWEFUL (very surprising for a country that loves it's coffee).

Room Tip: we had a room facing east looking toward the palace and enjoyed the morning sun streaming into the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Location is obviously superb, up on the hill. Very easy walk to all parts of the Alhambra. Walk down into town (and back up) is more work but makes you earn your food :). Steps right by the hotel to walk down to the city are much more convenient than walking down along the road.

Suite is magnificent in both the view it provides over the city and the Sierra Nevadas as well as its overall size. Both the main bedroom and the adjoining living area are quite large. Wi-fi though was somewhat spotty. We were on the -2 floor.

Restaurant is nothing special. We had a mid-afternoon snack where they seemed somewhat annoyed that we wanted food. And did breakfast one morning but found their buffet to be quite lacking for the price.

Staff was professional but did not stand out in any way.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdxsteeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la jollla
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We only stayed for one night and our family had 2 rooms, everything was lovely. We did not have a city view but our rooms were on the upper floor and had nice views of the all the greenery and it was peaceful and quiet. All though it was busy the valet parking made it easy. Breakfast was very good, The rooms were very nice and very clean. The public areas are classy. We had a light lunch of tapas and they were tasty and the staff was friendly. Over all we were very pleased and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horvathmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed just one night but wish we had spent more time there.

From the moment we checked in and a very warm and immediate welcome was offered despite the fact that it was very busy to the check out, nothing was too much trouble. The staff were very attentive although drinks on the terrace were a long time coming; but not a problem when you have one of the most spectacular views imaginable!

The rooms are all beautifully decorated in the Mozarabe style to chime with the Alhambra which is just a short walk up the road.

Getting into town is also an easy walk although getting back may be better in a taxi if you don't like uphill!

All in all, a very pleasant stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We took two rooms based on the proximity to the palace and gardens. One can walk to the palace, which was the only advantage to this hotel. This hotel was obviously the Grande Dame when built in the 1920's. however, the original bathrooms and tiny, worn rooms are no longer becoming to this property. We found the management and staff poorly trained. When checking out, the front desk was more interested in the car stooped on the street than checking people out. I had to ask twice for a receipt. Very strange. The breakfast was quite nice. There are no restaurants outside the hotel within an easy walk. I don't what the hotels in the city are like, but we did spend two evenings in the city and found ample, wonderful restaurants and shopping. If we return, we will try to find something in the city, and take one of the many, inexpensive cabs to the palace. When visiting the palace, start first thing in the morning before the crowds arrive. The palace and gardens are fabulous.

Room Tip: Take a room on the rear for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grand_A_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comment. Thank to comments like this we try to improve day by day. Our hotel was built in 1910 and keeps the antique old style of those dates. The furniture of the rooms and the bathrooms are completely renovated while at the same time keep the old style of the epoch in which was built. The Alhambra Palace Hotel is how many people used to say “the Alhambra experience” for that reason we hope you came back and maybe you can experience it and we can thank you personally.
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We (my husband, 79 year old father and I), stayed at the Hotel Alhambra Palace Hotel on 14th abnd 15th May 2014. On arrival a porter immediately helped us with our luggage and, as there are no parking facilities at the hotel, he asked if we wanted to park the car ourselves at the Alhambra car park (a walk of about 15 minutes up hill from the hotel), or he could valet park it for us, so we chose the valet parking (15 Euros per night which was very reasonable indeed). The check in staff were helpful, friendly and very efficient.

I had booked a junior suite with views over Granada, but when we were shown into our room, the suite actually consisted of a very large bedroom with a big super king size, chairs and a table, ample hanging space, an alcove in the hallway for all our luggage, a large bathroom with a toilet, bidet, sinks, and a drencher and a normal shower both over the bath, and also a huge sitting/dining room with very comfortable chairs, a table, and a singe bed made up for my father. Each room had large doors leading onto a Juliet balcony, so although we could not sit on the balconies, we could stand on them to look at the fabulous views over the city of Granada and towards the snow-capped Sierra Nevada mountains.

The hotel was exceptionally clean, and all staff were very helpful and friendly.

Breakfast was served in the large dining room, and there was a very good selectin on offer - fresh fruit juices, cereals, rolls/breads/croissants, meats, cheeses, sliced fresh fruit, and hot food (bacon, eggs, tomatoes, etc.).

We had dinner in the hotel which was also excellent with a wide selection on the menu and it was cooked to perfection, with impeccable service from the waiting staff.

There is also a terrace bar, again with fabulous views over the city.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the Alhambra Palace, and there is also a taxi rank just outside the hotel for the trip into the city of Granada (it cost us about 4.75 Euros to get from the hotel to the cathedral, which was very reasonable). It cost us about 7.50 Euros to reach the Albaicin quarter from the hotel, which again was reasonable.

Check out was also very efficient and our car was brought to us within aboutu 10 minutes of our requesting it, though our departure was slightly delayed as the French Morgan owners club had been staying the previous night and had been able to park their cars (about 20 of them) outside the hotel, so we had to wait for them to depart before we could get on our way.

Amazingly, the Hotel Alhambra Palace is only a four star hotel. However, I guess if they had a car park and a swimming pool, they would easily be five stars.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anybody thinking of staying in Granada, as it s very romantic and is not at all like some of the more modern impersonal hotels. It was so good that we were really sad to leave the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a junior suite with a view over Granada - the price is not much more than for a standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloucesterKdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely comment. This type of comments are what make the staffs of the hotel keep working with the same motivation as if it were the first day. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us because it means that our work is fruitful and our guests can almost feel like home. We hope you came back soon so we can thank you personally.
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Parador de Granada
#13 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Property: Hotel Alhambra Palace
Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#25 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing