We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and Close to the Alhambra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #16 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Great views and Close to the Alhambra”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice Hotel but could do with some updating.Rooms are good size but walls are paper thin. the first night the person next door had a phone call and she could have been sitting on the end of our bed! The views are good and it is located about 5 min walk to the Ahlambra Palace. The town is located about a 10 min walk down hill ( which means you either walk up or pay to get the bus). Breakfast and service was average. Compared to other hotels of this standard it was lacking in amenities and service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barringMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback, essential to our quality controls and monitoring. We would refer you that our hotel was built in 1910 and currently enjoys special protections, so the reforms are sometimes slower than normal. However, the rooms were renovated in 2008, and again between 2011 and 2012, including an important technical reform (electricity, air conditioning, elevators, kitchens and technical areas). In 2013 and later in 2014 we continue to make improvements (taps, bathroom screens, carpets, televisions, beds, etc). As our quality of service, we give good faith the hundreds of positive reviews that can be read on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    535
    166
    60
    22
See reviews for
319
750
52
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middle East
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I guess the most telling question is - "would I go back" - and the answer is, "yes, without a doubt". We booked a junior suite and found that,unlike many hotels, this actually gave us two separate rooms, rather than one larger room, with a sofa, etc. The view from the room was fantastic - looking south, straight down andover the city from on high.

In addition, the hotel is about a four minute walk from the Alhambra! How good is that?

The arrival at the hotel was excellent as well. We pulled up just across the road and two porters ran over. One took the car away to park it and the other dealt with the luggage. Reception staff spoke good English and were very efficient.

The lift (translation - elevator for you Yanks!) was somewhat jerky. It creaks its way up and down and gives a double bounce on arrival; as though it was on a huge elastic band - perhaps it was!

Air conditioning functioned as required - in fact we were too cold on the first night. The bedroom is an inner space and so it blacked-out almost completely - a definite aid to good sleep. have to say that the pillows didn't suit us - either a long thin one, that would be better as a door draught excluder, or a smallish square option, of more conventional thickness - this is the pillow I chose.

Breakfast was a disappointment - but it often is for us in Spain. The normal things were there - the fruit wasvery tasty; but the coffee was too strong - and I LIKE it strong. My wife couldn't drink it without diluting it one to ine with hot water. Scrambled eggs were lacking in seasoning and cooked what we call the American way ( I love you guys really). If the price had been, say, 8 euros, then fine, but this cost us 14 euros each.

The terrace bar and food, on the other hand, was superb. The views delighted and we were kept cool with one of those mechanisms that sprayed us with a fine mist. We loved this terrace.

Staff were unfailingly efficient and helpful. On checking out, a member of staff had already checked our room and rushed up with my phone - what a disaster it would have been if he hadn't caught me .... thank you so much! The porters / concierge loaded the car and off we went.

An excellent hotel in a superb location.

Stay there!

Room Tip: Get a room looking over the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Marina, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel was superb, however we have received a notification via our insurers from Granada traffic for 80 euros. The violation incurred was due to driving through the city centre (this was via our sat nav) we are now informed we should have taken the ring road to the hotel.
It would have been helpful if this information had been given to us on booking the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moniball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
317 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our room was nice and over looked the entire city. great views especially at night.
no patio for the room and no pool. the room windows were large and fwe opened them each morning for the cool air and the views.
right next door to the Alhambra Palace.
a short ride to downtown and all the shopping, etc. you could walk to the town but we took a cab which was very reasonable..about 5 euros and worth it.
just a great city to visit.

It took me awhile to figure out how to use the shower, I have never encountered anything like it...my wife finally figured it out and from there we were ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTravler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Awsome crew!!!! Perfecto hotel in the maximum details!!! Macarena and all the crew where the best!!!!! The city lights are incredible and the arquiteture from the hotel was just muy harmoniosa too!!! I had a perfect time here!!!! Thank's for all!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ana Carolina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

if you are coming to see the Alambra, there is no pint in staying anywhere else.
Of curse it is only 5 minute walk to the Alahmbra but more than that, much more than that, this is a gem. From the front door to the stairs to the rooms, it is beautiful, well maintained and has a lot of character. The arabesque patterns are used for throughout, you almost feel like you are staying at the Alhambra.

If you can try for the top floor room 407 or equivalent, you will have a huge terrace, you can even pull out your bed and sleep under the starts.
Do not miss having a drink and tapas in the terrace bar/cafe over looking the city, specially at sun set.

Room Tip: fourth floor eastern or western extreme opening on to a huge terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANOldFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This is an outstanding hotel with a deep history of its own.

The hotel staff are outstanding and will do anything to make your stay memorable.

The breakfast, tapas and meals are of an extremely high standard and the wine list complements the meals that are available ... Even a champagne is available at breakfast.

Rooms are small but big enough ... After all you don't spend your holiday is such a place in your room do you? They are always clean and fresh after the make up service!

Of course the Alhambra Palace is a small walk away as is the Albayzin and town centre ... It is perched on a hill so the views are spectacular. The walks get the heart going and taxi's or small bus # C3 are regular.

Well worth it if the hotel suits your budget.

Thank you all at the Alhambra Palace Hotel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DickandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Parador de Granada
#13 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Property: Hotel Alhambra Palace
Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#25 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing