We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #16 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed 27 February 2011

For this price (140 euro - triple room* without breakfast - in February) I would rather choose a different hotel.
The position of the Alhambra Hotel is great, but nothing else.
The rooms desperately need renovation. The smell in quite unpleasant (mustiness)
The hotel does not have a parking, you'll have to park in the Alhambra's parking (10 minuts walk)..

* the triple room was not a real triple room, but a double with added bed

A short glipm into another room with the view of the city revealed that those rooms are even smaller (and will not fit an additional bed), and probably they are more expensive than the ones without view

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marghe_Warsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    535
    166
    60
    22
See reviews for
319
750
52
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, Ca, USA
Level Contributor
453 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Wanted to stay as close to the Alhambra as possible, but not pay the rate that the Parador wanted. Reasonable rate on Booking.com (135 euros). Was lucky to get free parking in the front of the hotel (limited space available). Common areas are quite impressive with great views of the city and mountains. (and mentioned in more detail in many other reviews). Rooms very nice, well furnished and spacious. About a 10-15 minute walk uphill to the entrance of the Alhambra (or you can take a bus or taxi). We had reserved our tickets to the Alhambra several months before online. Coming back to the hotel, take one of the lower tower exits and it is less than 10 minutes back to the hotel, with minimal uphill walking. Taxi to the town for tapas or dinner is around 5-7 euros. Great breakfast buffet included in our room rate. We thoroughly enoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

The location and ambience of the hotel was great, but the service standard is not comparable with hotels in Singapore or Hong Kong.

Our double room was a bit too small and the front desk happily moved us to a twin room which was much larger and nicer. Luckily we were able to park outside the hotel in their very small and cramped car park on arrival.

The staff were nice and helpful when asked, but I didn't feel any real warmth from them beyond what they were required to do.

Free wifi internet is almost a must for hotels charging this much.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I loved the Andalusian Moorish kitschiness of the place and it was such a thrill to walk in the footsteps of Garcia Lorca! The breakfast buffet was wonderful ( even had wine if you so desired!) the room had a splendid view and my only complaint, is that an effort could have been made to serve something a little bit more exciting (and less salty) with drinks than salted almonds! But even that won't deter me and I shall be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meliche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

Our stay here has to be the highlight of our entire 15 day trip in Spain. Everything was PERFECT - the quality of the rooms, space, and the spectacular views overlooking the entire city of Granada. Staff was extremely courteous helpful and knowledgeable. The quality of the decor in the hotel is remarkable and it is well located - 15 minutes walk to downtown else a convenient bus ride from right across the street.

The AlHambra is a mere 10 minute walk from the hotel.

The highlight of course is a leisurely afternoon sitting on the terrace bar, soaking the sun, admiring the views and the sunset - whilst sipping a Sangria all afternoon - and the Sangria is the genuine stuff & deadly - so be careful - don't order jugfulls.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suneha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis, missouri
Level Contributor
192 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

With a good price from Hotels.com we found the Alhambra Palace to be the perfect place to stay in Granada. The view from our room was fabulous. It matches the view from the lobby/bar and the restaurant. Service was fabulous from finding a parking space for our car to all the meals. We had dinner and breakfast which was included. If you are going to the Alhambra this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norms_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Alhambra Palace in September. It was easy to get to by car and we parked for free at the entrance the entire three days of our stay. (There are a limited number of these free spaces available, though, and if they're taken hotel guests receive a discounted rate at the Alhambra lot.) Both a bus stop and a taxi stand are located across from the hotel, which make it easy to go anywhere in the city.

The lobby and public spaces of the hotel are lavishly decorated in neo-Moorish style. The terrace and bar area overlook the city of Granada and the view is impressive at night. Drinks and snacks are fairly expensive, but you're paying for the panorama as well as your order.

We had a standard room, which was clean, but it and the bathroom were both on the small side. The bathroom was adequate but wasn't the most convenient for hair drying, etc. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The personalized welcome message on the flat screen TV was a nice surprise. We used the laundry service and our clothes were returned to us cleaned and pressed and neatly folded in a basket. They actually looked like brand new clothes!

But the best thing, by far, was the absolutely huge private terrace that our two sets of french doors opened onto. Most of the rooms here have a very small balcony that overlooks either the city or the Alhambra hill. Two rooms, however, each have an incredibly large patio that overlooks the Alhambra. We somehow received one of those rooms. What a rare treat it was to sit peacefully on our own terrace, taking in the view for as long as we wanted with no interruptions of any kind! The Alhambra is flood-lit at night and we had ring side seats all night long! It was breathtaking!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkb6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Parador de Granada
#13 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Property: Hotel Alhambra Palace
Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#25 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing