We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Retreat”
other traveller has booked this property
Beautiful huge house in its own private gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful huge house in its own private gardens
Splash-space for big groups of friends and families in the 17 metre private pool Dine in the atmospheric cobbled courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
118 reviews
Beautiful huge house in its own private gardens
Splash-space for big groups of friends and families in the 17 metre private pool
Dine in the atmospheric cobbled courtyard
Farmhouse, garden, pool and majestic valley view to mountains
Gardens, bikes, pool and trees great for kids on holiday
Lots of space - large family groups are our speciality
All-day shade for kids on the play-tent and children´s picnic table (plus hammocks for parents !)
Join in the fun and festivities at the local fiestas
Our closest town is the ancient Moorish white village of Iznajar with shops, banks and cafes
Find tapas & dinner at Antonio's Bar, a 20 minute walk through Almond Groves or past the Go
Total privacy set in olive trees and ancient oaks
Aesthetic pergola gives shade on 17m (55ft) pool
Relax on the Italian leather furniture in the Casita
Enjoy the space and atmosphere of 11 metre Gran Sala
Chill out in The Cortijo Kitchen by cooking or sitting on the sofa chatting to the cooks!
Wake up in the Writer's Room and stroll onto its balcony to take in the views of the Sierra Nev
The Blue Room has an ensuite with large shower and a private door leading to the central courtyard
The Yellow Room has an arched doorway to the ensuite with exposed stone wall and bespoke shower
Lots of different options for eating all together
Massive porton gated entrance to central courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
10 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Granada, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 118 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Peter L
1 review
“Wonderful Retreat”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

El Almendrillo was, if anything, better than advertised. Tastefully brought up to date, it retains a traditional feel and accommodated our group of 14 adults perfectly. It is set on a hillside at the very end of a small country road in the middle of a sea of olive groves, and views of the valley below are stunning. Other than the surrounding farms, there are few neighbors so it's peaceful and private. There are several outdoor areas for gathering and eating, including the courtyard where we ate every evening and the large, well maintained pool where we cooled off every afternoon. Granada is not far; Cordoba, Ronda and Malaga are within range too. Even closer, Loja and Iznajar are interesting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Multiple outdoor areas for gathering and eating; the pool on warm days; modern upgrades in an overall well preserved traditional finca.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
100KES
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful place to say - highly recommended”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at El Almandrillo with a group of friends - 18 of us, ranging from age 5 to semi-retired - and it was really amazing. A dream come true. What a perfect place for a holiday with friends and/or family! First, the location. We flew into Madrid Airport and it was a very easy, straight run that took about five hours or so. If you chose Malaga or another, closer airport it would be even easier to get there. And Mike's directions were great. As we wound our way to the villa through beautiful olive groves it felt like driving right out of the stresses and strains of the real world into a peaceful haven. And the views! The photographs give you an idea but in real life they are stupendous. You can sit and stare at the surrounding countryside all day.
If you wanted, you could very easily stay at the villa for your whole holiday (I was tempted!). But it's easy to get out and about, to the Alhambra palaces (and very well worth the hour's easy drive), Malaga and Iznajar, which is really pretty and also worth the 15-minute drive.
Back at the villa, there are so many lovely spots to relax in that we found it very easy to switch off and totally relax. The kids spent most of their time in the superb, huge pool (no near neighbours = no objections to screaming silliness!) while the adults could relax without worrying about them. We loved the hammock, the table tennis table (many tournaments were played and not just by the children) and the choice of outdoor furniture, including the poolside loungers where you could be in either sun or shade.
Overall, the villa has such character and has obviously been restored with enormous care and cleverness. It was beautifully presented with lovely, comfortable furniture, plenty of spacious rooms and lots of bathrooms. One thing we loved about our bedroom was the shutters, which made it cool and dark - and we slept late every day! SO relaxing. The kitchen was well equipped and easy to use - we did a combination of eating out, cooking for ourselves and also were lucky enough to have a paella cooked for us one night by a gorgeous local cook who created two enormous pans that catered for both grown-ups and children, and all with complete discretion and charm. How she managed it I do not know. the piece de resistance was the courtyard with its long, thin outdoor table. A great site for a BBQ. Really pretty and so sociable - it was the centre of our week and we came and went, sat and chatted (drank a little!) and could not have enjoyed ourselves more. There was space for us to all spent time as one large group, or go off and read a book or have a nap somewhere if we wished. What more can I say. We would highly recommend El Almandrillo to anyone thinking of booking. Thank you so much Mike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed atmosphere and stunning views.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anne T
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Heaven in Rural Andalucia!”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our large family group (20 people aged from 23 to 71) has just returned from a truly special week at El Almendrillo. Everything in every way exceeded our expectations! Every box was ticked!
The whole house is sympathetically and beautifully furnished, yet is very functional too. The bedrooms reflected the old place too, some being quite magnificent, some quirky, but all lovely. Interesting and comfortable areas everywhere inside.
The position of this wonderful and characterful old property was amazing. Out on its own in stunning countryside. So peaceful! We thought we'd arrived in heaven after the drive up from Fuente del Conde!
We spent many hours marvelling at the views at every time of day and pinching ourselves for being so lucky as to be there!
Outside the house were so many little areas with comfy chairs and tables, where folk could escape or sit quietly if needed. We all found our perfect personal favourite spots! The courtyard with it's long table was where we gathered for meals chat and music in the evenings...perfect! And no risk of annoying anyone with our noise and entertainment!
The BBQ area is conveniently situated in its own outbuilding, & was very user friendly. A real perk was the area where drinks could be stored, in a proper fridge. As a family getting together in a big group often, drinks storage for lots of folk can be a problem....but here it was perfect! And better STILL, Andres, the manager was able to pre-order not only all the drinks we could possibly want including a chilled barrel of beer on tap ....all ready for us on arrival! And at a very good price too.
Another highlight (which we'd read about in other reviews) was the special catered Spanish evening meal. A local chef and his helpers came along and prepared served (and cleared away after!) a marvellous tapas meal for us all one evening. A treat!
And that pool! A real wow! Enormous, and with awesome views! There were folk in there the whole time, playing competitive volleyball or just chilling...the weather was glorious, considering we were there towards the end of the season.
The table tennis area, table football, and a pool table were all well used too!
Local shopping (25 mins away) was excellent, and cheap too! And much easier without the drinks!
We could have ventured further than we did, making it to Granada, and to Benalmadena where we took the cable car and visited the Birds of Prey education centre.
For the Alhambra (a must!) it is key to book way ahead for tickets...we missed out!
But mostly we were happy just chilling in this wondrous place! Thank you so much Mike and Andres!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lex W
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unforgettable Wedding and Holiday in real Spain”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My wife and I came across the Finca El Almendrillo before I could call her my wife. We had travelled to Seville with the romantic notion of getting married somewhere really special in Andalusia.

The website provides beautiful images and very helpful information on the Finca but for us it was the very first conversation with Mike and Emma, that made our minds up. Planning a wedding is a difficult enough process so getting married abroad, we had to know we had sufficient support. Mike and the very helpful House Manager, Andres linked us up with everything from fantastic caterers and transportation to local alcohol suppliers and even hay bales for the big day!

Upon arriving at the Finca, after a year of daydreaming about the place, it didn’t disappoint. As you venture up from Fuente Del Conde through the olive groves and up over the ridge, you are presented with what can only be described as the sublime. An awe inspiring 180 degree view across the farmland, groves and onto the mountains. It truly does take your breath away every time, even after popping to the local shop and into your second week there!

It has to be said, the directions provided by Mike are excellent and the parking at the Finca is superb for a big group. Probably up there with a car park at the Grand Canyon for views! We arrived through the large gates and into the stunning courtyard where we would spend many evenings, through into the excellently kitted kitchen to a friendly note from Mike and some very kind supplies for our first night.

Exploring the Finca is one of the best things about the experience. We have a large family who arrived across the first two days at different times and every single guest was more than happy with the facilities and rooms provided.

This is a place so peaceful and so quiet, that we almost forgot we had a wedding to organise. It is so very easy to sit in a hammock, stretch out on a sun bed, plunge into the magnificent swimming pool or have lazy lunches picking a different spot every day to dine.

We would advise making an early visit to the large supermarket in Anterquera to ensure the property is fully stocked but the local shop sells bread, coffee and other essentials. Antonio’s Bar is an absolute must for a Cerveza, a (very large) Sangria or the grilled prawns.

The local area is stunning and Iznajar provides both the old town for those wishing to walk up to the castle via the tapas bar or for those who need a day at the beach, head to the lake where there are pedaloes, kayaks and a lovely beach bar.

Back to the Finca (which became a common phrase) we had a wedding to plan and gradually throughout the week, one by one the alcohol arrived, the haybales were unloaded by the farmers, the caterers set up and courtesy of a very helpful local chap our guests arrived, each with the same gawping, awe inspired expression as they made their way across to the lawn for our ceremony.

People always say their wedding is the best day of their lives and it was ours. I’m sure this would have been the case getting married in a small church here in England but having our wedding at The Finca El Almendrillo will live on not only in our memories but those of our friends and family who joined us that weekend.

We are already working out a way to get back to the Finca. A one year anniversary celebration perhaps? Someone must have a birthday coming up pretty soon. Failing that, a holiday will do.

My wife and I have been lucky enough to travel the world extensively over the past ten years but I think it’s safe to say we have never had a greater adventure, whilst feeling so at home anywhere else. If you are thinking about booking the Finca El Almendrillo for your family holiday or perhaps even your wedding, don’t think, just book it. You wont regret it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views are unrivalled
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing