We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, excellent service, lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Ranked #24 of 124 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel- centrally located about 15 mins walk from the Alhambra. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff, lovely rooms if a tad small perhaps, fantastic shower and everything really clean. Modern but not aggressively or impersonally so- still has a natural feel to it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ftmpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmonjasdelcarmen, Director General at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Ftmpc, thank you for your comments.
We hope to see again in Granada and in Hotel Monjas del Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Loved Monjas del Carmen for its location and price-quality relationship. The room is airy, spacious, clean and comfortable. Renovated bathroom, excellent shower. Breakfast is charged apart, but served in a restaurant on the ground floor next to the reception. There are 3 options, the cheapest (the one we chose) is good enough and they offer fresh orange juice, enormous toasts and a large spresso coffee for a reasonable price. Excellent service, friendly ownwers. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARIA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmonjasdelcarmen, Director General at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Virginia C, I am glad to read that your stay was as you expected. We work hard everyday to satisfy your needs and make your stay as comfortable as we can.
We hope to see you again in Granada and in Hotel Monjas del Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I loved the location of the hotel like all the other reviewers do. Just around the corner from Plaza Nueva with all its terraces with good drinks and tapas. Also near all the sights. There is a nice city waling tour for 12 euros starting from Plaza Nueva. The many shops and small squares to sit down and have a drink, it’s all great. The room was spacious and very clean with a good shower. There is also a mini bar and a safe. The bed was very comfortable.
At night there is noise from the streets but with the door closed it was no problem. Later at night I opened the door for some fresh air and it was quiet then. The TV only had Spanish channels but when I checked out it turned out I should have had English and German channels too; someone might have changed them. If I had told reception earlier they could have changed them for me so if you have any problems, tell reception. If you want to be right in the middle of town, this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetraRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmonjasdelcarmen, Director General at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Petraro, thank you for your comments about Hotel Monjas del Carmen. Since 10/08/12 we can offer up to 40 different channel in different languages.
We hope to see you again in Granada and in Hotel Monjas del Carmen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is a beautiful modern hotel in the heart of old Granada. The location is ideal. Rooms are generously sized, comfortable and clean. Excellent air conditioning (we visited in July, with outside temperatures pushing 40 Celsius). Solid double glazing means no unwelcome noise even while the bars just outside are full and lively. Receptionists were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmonjasdelcarmen, Director General at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Ben M, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in Granada and in Hotel Monjas del Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Out three night stay at this hotel was perfect. The hotel has been recently renovated and is bright and airy. Its location at the end of a cul de sac makes it quiet and the staff are exceptionally friendly. They went out of their way to accommodate all our requests & made us feel very welcome.

Breakfast is optional and they have a selection of fixed price options. It is a little more expensive than at one of the many coffee shops in the area, but, nevertheless good value for money.

The hotel is perfectly situated for the major attractions of central Granada, all of which are within easy walking distance. The taxi from the Granada Estacion de Autobus costs around Euro 6.00 and the taxi rank is in the street about 50m from the hotel. Very convenient.

We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: The quiet rooms are on the top floor facing the small alley at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SPAMELOPE010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmonjasdelcarmen, Director General at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear SPAMELOPE010, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in Granada and in Hotel Monjas del Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

You can't go wrong staying at this hotel. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have a modern decor. The location is perfect for visiting Granada. As other reviewers have stated, this hotel makes visiting the Alhambra simple and stress free. We picked up our tickets the day before our visit at the library around the corner from the hotel. The day of our visit we took the minibus up to the site and walked back to the hotel after our visit. Couldn't have been any easier!

The restaurant located within the hotel is a great choice for drinks and tapas and there are plenty of other excellent choices close by.

For this price, I doubt you can find a better value in Granada. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlanticC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmonjasdelcarmen, Director General at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear AtlanticC, thank you for your comments and We would like to inform you that since July we also offer Apartments in the Albayzin, just 400 mts away from Hotel Monjas del Carmen. We hope to see you again in Granada and in Hotel Monjas del Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Quality-price is good. The rooms are clean they have an underground car park (18 euro a day) and its very close to the entrance of the Alahambra ( porta della Justitia). You can collect your tickets at 5 mins walk from te hotel at the library of te Alahambra instead of going to the main entrance the day before or the same day. It's a steep way up so bring some good walking shoes ladies.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyKIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmonjasdelcarmen, Director General at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear TonykIreland, thank you for your comments about Hotel Monjas del Carmen and you are right about bringing good walking shoes to visit Granada, Alhambra and Albayzin, because there are many hills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Puerta de Las Granadas
#17 of 124 in Granada
1,014 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#8 of 124 in Granada
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#21 of 124 in Granada
1,188 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Anacapri
Hotel Anacapri
#28 of 124 in Granada
767 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 124 in Granada
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monjas del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monjas del Carmen

Address: Plaza de Cuchilleros 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 124 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £43 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monjas del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hotel Monjas del Carmen is located in the historic city center of Granada, at the confluence of the neighborhoods of the Albaicin (Muslims), Realejo (Jewish), at the foot of the Alhambra and next to the Cathedral and main monuments, tapas bars, entertainment and businessarea.Its 32 rooms are equipped with the latest technology in air conditioning and soundproofing. There is private parking in the building, exclusive use of our clients.The perfect choice to visit Granada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Monjas del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing