We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Hotel for Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Ranked #18 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Central Hotel for Short Stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I could not fault this hotel in any respect .

The location was right in the centre where you want to be . Our GPS took us through the one way road system up to about 50 metres from the hotel , but not to the door . The hotel is tucked round a corner on a small side street , so we just stopped the car and took a short walk around the area and found it .

Parking is underground below the hotel and it is very tight , but you basically park the car and forget about it till you leave Granada as everything is accessible on foot or by bus .

The hotel room rates are very reasonable indeed , but the parking is Euro 22 per day .

The hotel is relatively new with a modern style , and it was immaculately clean is all areas all the time . I requested a room on an upper floor to avoid city / street noise , and was allocated a room on the top floor . The room was compact , modern , clean , etc with a comfortable bed , quiet air con , TV with a couple of English channels , safe , fridge , free WiFi which worked fine . We did have to ask for a couple of extra pillows .

The room overlooked a small square at the back of the hotel where there is a couple of restaurants , and we had a small juliet balcony where you could watch the world go by . But once you closed the double glazed patio doors , the room was silent and we slept very well.

Th staff were very friendly and helped with directions and advice whenever we needed help. We did not use the hotel for breakfast or dinner , but the breakfast options looked ok .

My big recommendation is to buy a Bono Plus card on www.bonoturistico.cajagranada.es It costs about Euro 35 and gives you access to all of the Alhambra , Cathedrals , Monastries for free , hop on hop off bus tour , and you get 9 free bus trips which enables you to get around and about without a car . Its valid for 5 days but we did everything in 3 days .

We had a fantastic time in busy Granada , and the Monjas Del Carme hotel was just perfect for us .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmonjasdelcarmen, Gerente at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Gordon R,

Thank you very much for you comments and we hope to see you again in Hotel Monjas del Carmen.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    417
    89
    19
    9
See reviews for
189
527
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Great city centre hotel, 20 minute walk from Alhambra. Room clean, and friendly service at reception.

Alhambra tickets secured in advance (online) can be collected from the Alhambra shop which is about 200 yards from the hotel, and this allows you to gain entrance through the Justice Gate which is the one nearest the hotel.

Hotel has its own car park but it's not the easiest place to find. We parked at the city bus station (plenty of free parking) and then taxied to the hotel in less than 5 minutes. It worked out cheaper than paying the hotel's parking charge.

Hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to La Oliva - see Granada Restaurants reviews. Well worth a visit, but you need to book in advance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macsporran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmonjasdelcarmen, Gerente at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Macsporran,

Thank you so much for all your info and comments given.
We have to clarify that Granada coach station is 4,2 km away from Hotel Monjas del Carmen.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband, my teenage daughter and I stayed here for one night in August. We wanted a hotel with a triple room within walking distance to the Alhambra which also had car parking and was reasonably priced! I did a lot of research on the Tripadvisor site and this hotel seemed to meet all our requirements. We were not disappointed! The hotel's driving instructions with photos were very good and we found it easily. To help with the driving (we didn't have a SatNav in our hire car), I downloaded an off-line map of Granada onto my phone and was able to use it like a SatNav through the GPS function, it worked very well (ForeverMap app).

As previously mentioned by other travellers, the car parking (which is underground underneath the hotel) is quite tricky to get into even with a normal sized car, fortunately my husband is a very good driver and managed to do it without scraping the sides going down the corkscrew turnings. I wouldn't recommend the parking if you have a larger vehicle though.

Our room was spotlessly clean, nicely decorated, modern, spacious, with lovely, quiet air-conditioning and double glazing. Noise wasn't a problem as the room was also tucked towards the back of the hotel on a corner (Room 303), but I could imagine that some of the other rooms which are more of a 'court-yard' style would be noisier than this one (also previously mentioned by previous travellers). Ana at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful, and we felt well looked after by her.

As mentioned by another traveller, if you have booked tickets on-line for the Alhambra which still have to be printed at a Ticketmaster machine, go to the book store around the corner from the hotel (out the door, turn left onto the main road, about 50m down on the left hand side) and print your tickets there at the machine they have inside the store, no queueing to print tickets at the Alhambra, saved us a lot of time, so I am now passing on this very good advice!

The Alhambra was as beautiful and awe-inspiring as I remembered from my first visit 20-odd years ago, except now you have to book tickets in advance to get into the Nasrid Palace, make sure you don't miss your allocated time slot for the Palace or otherwise you will not be let into it! We started to queue about 10-15 minutes before our allocated slot and this worked well - but you don't want to stand in the hot sun for too long as you will get roasted!

I also booked tickets for a Flamenco show in the evening which was a two-minute walk from the hotel as I knew we'd be tired from walking around the Alhambra all afternoon. The one-hour show was called Casa del Arte Flamenco, a very small venue, four dancers/singers/musicians on stage, no food, only the Flamenco, and it was brilliant!

It was lovely to stroll the streets of the Albaicin afterwards and soak in the great atmosphere, and then not having to walk very far to get back to the hotel. The beds are very comfortable (soft mattress) and for once I had a good night's sleep on a hotel bed.

We had the continental breakfast in the next-door restaurant the next morning (we sat outside), and this was included in the price of the room. A cup of coffee/tea, a glass of freshly-squeezed orange juice and a pastry or a huge toasted bread roll with jam/marmalade. The food was nice and more than adequate to last until lunch time. Quick and friendly service, too!

We had time for a visit to the cathedral and for lunch at the Plaza de Bib-Rambla, a beautiful Plaza located just behind the cathedral. The cathedral is definitely worth a visit if you have the time.

All in all, a fantastic stay in Granada, and I am very pleased to have found this lovely hotel, which made our stay even better than imagined!

Room Tip: Go for a room tucked away in a corner of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The Hotel Monjas del Carmen is absolutely perfect!

Location - Great location just off the Plaza Nueva - we had no problems finding it whatsoever. It is ideally located for all the main attractions of Granada.

Rooms - Spotlessly clean, spacious and contain all the comforts you need. Modern decor. Cleaned daily. Safe provided. Free air conditioning. Lovely small balcony.

Staff & service - All of the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful.

Breakfast - Simple but delicious, made to order. Great coffee.

We couldn't believe how wonderful this hotel was for such a bargain price. Book it before everyone else discovers it and the prices go up!

Room Tip: A room on the top floor will be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rikster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a modern hotel in a great location in the centre of Grenada very close to the Alhambra. The rooms are nicely furnished and very clean. There is an underground parking garage (Euro 22.00 per night). The staff are unusually friendly and helpful and came down to help us with extensive advice when we struggled to get our car out of the small garage. After reading other readers reports didn't have the hotel breakfast, but went to a nice cafe just around the corner (Carmela). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the courtyard are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferry41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abu dhabi
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

i spent 4 night at this hotel. the hotel is located in a central area not too far from Alhambra Palace and Albayakin Area. its good to go out at nice and just walk around the hotel. the staff are kind (what i mean by staff is the front desk officers because i didnt meet any other staff during my 4 nights stay).

the breakfast is awful, had my breakfast 1st day only then skipped the rest. they call it continental but it has nothing to do with the name. it gets noisy at night as people start drinking. and they don't sleep early in Granada.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pekasho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The room was very clean and very quiet. Not large, but adequate and great value for the money. You are steps from the tourist center of Granada, and downhill from the Alhambra, which we went to with a taxi to avoid the climb. We didn't have a car so no comments on parking.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#17 of 122 in Granada
962 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,230 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,179 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 122 in Granada
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monjas del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monjas del Carmen

Property: Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Address: Plaza de Cuchilleros,13(Plz. Nueva), 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monjas del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hotel Monjas del Carmen is located in the historic city center of Granada, at the confluence of the neighborhoods of the Albaicin (Muslims), Realejo (Jewish), at the foot of the Alhambra and next to the Cathedral and main monuments, tapas bars, entertainment and businessarea.Its 32 rooms are equipped with the latest technology in air conditioning and soundproofing. There is private parking in the building, exclusive use of our clients.The perfect choice to visit Granada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monjas del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing