We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Ranked #16 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
York, England
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Location is all”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The location of this hotel is quite good although there are other (more expensive) hotels that have a better location.

The room was quite small. The bathroom didn't have a bidet. The shower door wouldn't open fully because it caught on the toilet and wouldn't close properly so it flooded the floor.

I'd read here that the continental breakfasts weren't worth having - I can report that neither the English nor the Healthy breakfasts are worth having either!

The receptionists were very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnhmrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmonjasdelcarmen, Director General at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Pnhmrk, thank you for choosing Hotel Monjas del Carmen. We are glad to inform you that breakfast will change into buffet style in few weeks time.
We also have room with bidet (on request), the same as with shower or bath.
We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again in Granada.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    413
    87
    19
    9
See reviews for
187
523
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We booked this hotel largely based on its location and that proved to be spot on. It is modern inside and our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Very helpful staff and nice little cafe attached for breakfast, drinks and other meals. It has a car park directly underneath which costs Euros 22 per day but the hotel was very reasonable. Only complaint was the difficulty finding it by car. We asked specifically for directions which were given and we got virtually to the door but the directions were not specific enough right at the end so we failed to get there. In the end we were "helped" by a local scooter rider who said he would take us there if we followed him. He then took us all round the city centre (when in fact we had only been only 200 yards from the hotel) and then "charged" us Euros 5 for the privilege. I was refusing to pay but my wife insisted I should! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmonjasdelcarmen, Director General at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thank you for choosing Hotel Monjas del Carmen and we hope to see you again in any of our establishment in Granada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon coast
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Very welcoming and helpful staff. Nice sized room with a small balcony. It's noisy sometimes due to the two outdoor restaurants immediately below ... but ... that's Spain! ... pack earplugs! The start of the road up to the Alhambra was only half a block away. The souvenir/info shop for the Alhambra ... where you can pick up your pre-ordered tickets (and DO pre-order!) ... was only a block in the other direction. So we could walk up the hill, tickets in hand, and enter at one of the side entrances to the Alhambra. We found our way to Mirador San Nicolas, also walking from the hotel ... but I highly recommend you use your smartphone GPS or mapping system to navigate the many twisting streets. Only one guy working the breakfast room when we were there but he worked hard and fast. We paid a little over $100/night ... an excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljr88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmonjasdelcarmen, Director General at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thank you for choosing Hotel Monjas del Carmen and we hope to see you again in any of our establishment in Granada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Really friendly staff and the Alhambra is just around the corner. The rooms are really good and there's a parking garage next to the hotel. Since there are many one way streets and one shopping street in which you are not allowed to drive at all it's quite a challenge to get there without making any traffic violations.

Don't forget to book your tickets for the Alhambra as soon as you know when you are going (since tickets often sell out and there are various time slots of which you can choose from). Tickets can be booked via ticketmaster.es.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raoul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmonjasdelcarmen, Gerente at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Raoul W,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Monjas del Carmen.
Granada is quick dificult to drive in, therefore we always try to send you by email "How to get to Hotel Monjas del Carmen" not to get lost with cars.
In case Alhambra tickets are sold out, please do not hesitate to ask our front-desk staff.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at one of the apartments that can be booked on the hotel website, for 2 night in early October. The apartment was half the price of a hotel room and much more spacious. We arrived quite late at night and elected to taxi the short distance to the apartment. This was a good move, especially with bags and in the dark as the apartment wasn't easy to find.The apartment can only be accessed by walking up quite a few steep steps and was in a quiet residential area, though still only 5 min walk from tourist areas and restaurants. The apartment itself was excellent, with lots of space and a kitchen, with milk and juice thoughtfully provided. The facilities were clean and felt very secure. Everything you needed was provided, with the bed made up (obviously not serviced daily as in the hotel) and good towels. Good bathroom and air conditioning worked well. Overall, we thought this was a fantastic value option in a city where accommodation can be expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmonjasdelcarmen, Gerente at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Alan F,

We appreciate your comments about our apartments.
We hope to see again in Hotel Monjas del Carmen.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is a beautiful hotel smack bang in the middle of the action. Only let down was breakfast, tough and stringy jamon on toast and they couldn't understand how to make tea, we were given a pot of hot milk with a tea bag in it - twice - even though we made it clear we wanted it with hot water. The cafe was also EXTREMELY noisy. The usual cafe noise times by 4 and then the guy who couldn't make tea was also throwing the saucers and cups down onto the counters and we couldn't hear ourselves think.

There are plenty of great cafes and pastelerias within a couple of minutes walk, which would be a much better option.

The hotel is modern and beautiful as was the room with a little juliet balcony overlooking the pretty lane way.

The service on reception was good and there is onsite parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunAndFoodSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmonjasdelcarmen, Gerente at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear SunandFoodseeker,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Monjas del Carmen.
Regarding breakfast, we have spoken with Los Manueles and we are going to change few things to satisfy our guest needs.
Looking forward to seeing you again in our establishment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here and really felt lucky to have chosen this hotel. It is superb value for money, with beds, bathroom and comfort worthy of much more expensive establishments. The location is excellent; 5 minutes' walk from most places of interest and plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. Also close to Tourist office and the Alhambra shop for tickets to the Alhambra. I would highly recommend this hotel for both comfort and location. If you want simple, no frills but great value for money this is for you.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Surrey_UKHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmonjasdelcarmen, Gerente at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Surrey_UKHeather,

We appreciate your comments about Hotel Monjas del Carmen.
Your home in Granada is right here.
Looking forward to seeing you again in our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#18 of 122 in Granada
957 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,220 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
NH Granada Centro
NH Granada Centro
#25 of 122 in Granada
1,268 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monjas del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monjas del Carmen

Property: Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Address: Plaza de Cuchilleros,13(Plz. Nueva), 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monjas del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hotel Monjas del Carmen is located in the historic city center of Granada, at the confluence of the neighborhoods of the Albaicin (Muslims), Realejo (Jewish), at the foot of the Alhambra and next to the Cathedral and main monuments, tapas bars, entertainment and businessarea.Its 32 rooms are equipped with the latest technology in air conditioning and soundproofing. There is private parking in the building, exclusive use of our clients.The perfect choice to visit Granada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monjas del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing