We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located; excellent for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Ranked #22 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very good overall; well appointed room; front desk efficient and helpful; simple breakfast; in the heart of town. Handy car parking but need to warn only suitable for small cars.

Hotel in the heart of old city so pretty much can walk anywhere though still advised to take taxi to Alhambra entrance as it is up hill.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben-Saud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

It's got to be one of the best hidden hotels ever.You will definitely need gps to find it.Car park is something else, all I can say is a Fiat Panda in the hands of a very experienced driver had my passenger in hot sweats trying to get into car park. Plus 22 euros a day for the privilege,of parking in it.Will not sleep tonite at the thought of trying to get the car back out tomorrow. Hotel itself is an immaculate basic hotel,wouldn't recommend it but fabulous to walk outside and everything is close in the city.Its a must to email hotel for directions once booked when coming by car

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Situated just yards from the Plaza Nueva this hotel was just perfect for us. We stayed for 2 nights and used the hotel as a base. The room was a reasonable size, very clean and with a very comfortable bed. No tea/coffee but that does seem the way-a mini bar was the option and although not used was fairly priced. There are few facilities at the hotel so don't book here if options are top of your list! That said there are many bars within metres of the hotel, including a top tapas bar.
Car parking was a godsend, albeit chargeable - this was a key consideration.
The real plus for this hotel is that all you would wish to see of Granada is on its doorstep. The Alhambra Palace is a wonder and must be at the heart of any visit.
I would hope to come back to Granada - it really is a magnificent city - and would likely rebook this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Redskyatnight2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Was in Granada for the early week of Semana Santa 2014. This hotel was central to most of the tourist attractions and the Plaza Nueva. Since we were near the Cathedral, there were numerous processions in the evening traversing through the Plaza Nueva. Since the hotel entrance is located in a dead end side street just off the Plaza Nueva, we could walk down to watch the procession or walk back to the hotel on our quiet street to get away from the clamor. The hotel might be hard to find if you don't download the instructions provided by the hotel. Minor issue.

Our room was on the third floor, great elevator access, clean, relatively modern, comfortable with A/C and heat controls, TV. The bathroom window in our room was soundproof for the noise outside. Unfortunately the same could not be said for the window in the bedroom itself. We are sound sleepers, but I can see light sleeper travelers unable to block out the noise from the back alley which emanates from the adjoining restaurant to the hotel and folks who like to stay out late at night for drinks. Staff was helpful, friendly. WiFi suited my needs to surf and keep up with email and Facebook. I would stay here again.

The next-door garage has a rather narrow entrance. I wouldn't know what the rest of it looked like as my companion and I arrived into the city by train. Most attractions, including the Capilla Real and Cathedral were within walking distance. The Alhambra bus stopped just outside the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Maybe you could ask for a high floor room toward the front of the hotel since the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotirado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

First the positives, the hotel is in a great Location, its right in the middle of all that is happening in Granada and I really liked it for that. If you are driving, they send you a detailed description of how to get there which is very helpful. The reception staff are very friendly and the room was clean. The continental breakfast in the restaurant is nice, fresh bread, fresh orange juice and coffee. We didn't have it included in our booking but it didn't matter it was only 4.50 per person.

Points to be aware of, the parking is not included as one of the reviews here suggest, it is 22 Euros per day, the parking is very tight, I have no idea how the big cars get in or out of that car park, we had a small hatchback and struggled, it was a complete Austin Powers moment. I find it funny now but it was stressful at the time.
The room is very basic. The bathroom could do with a refresh, it felt a bit tired although it was clean. We were on the first floor and late at night there was a lot of noise from the restaurant below.

All in all, the hotel worked for us in the three days we were in Granada mainly because of its location...if I go back, I may look at other options

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miti81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Not sure how this hotel could rate as high as it did.the location is great however the parking lot is terrible and $22 euros. It took 1/2 an hour to even check in (no joke) as the lady at the front desk was giving tourist advice to a couple. I understand customer service however, this was unreal. Several other guests were waiting at the same time and ended up leaving Our car was idling for that long! When we got to the room it looked ok however upon closer inspection, it was not great. There were fingernail clippings near the bed! The floor was buckling. Also although there was a pullout couch, they wanted to charge us for an extra sheet! Ridiculous. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel is really nice and in a perfect location for seeing the Alhambra and the lovely old part of Granada. As others have noted, the garage is very tight(!), but it is rare to have parking at all in this part of town, so we were very grateful to have it. Our spacious room was on a corner with two large windows, and the bathroom was deluxe with a very deep tub and modern fixtures. One thing we especially appreciated was that the hotel sent us detailed directions for how to drive there -- there were even photos of landmarks to note. This is so helpful, as streets are not always clearly marked here. We drove straight to the hotel with no problems at all. (By contrast, it took us over an hour to find our hotel in Sevilla using a map.) The only tiny complaint we had was that the internet connection was slow to non-existent, but there are much better things to do in Granada than look at your email!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanFranciscoBeachnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#17 of 122 in Granada
1,000 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,021 reviews
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#23 of 122 in Granada
1,163 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Anacapri
Hotel Anacapri
#30 of 122 in Granada
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monjas del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monjas del Carmen

Address: Plaza de Cuchilleros,13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £44 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monjas del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hotel Monjas del Carmen is located in the historic city center of Granada, at the confluence of the neighborhoods of the Albaicin (Muslims), Realejo (Jewish), at the foot of the Alhambra and next to the Cathedral and main monuments, tapas bars, entertainment and businessarea.Its 32 rooms are equipped with the latest technology in air conditioning and soundproofing. There is private parking in the building, exclusive use of our clients.The perfect choice to visit Granada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monjas del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing