We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean and welcoming”
Review of Hostal Londres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Londres
Ranked #24 of 97 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and welcoming”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed just the night in Granada to see the Alhambra and gardens. Granada is terrible for driving in the one-way system, particularly as the Gran Via on which the hostel is located is restricted access for non-authorised vehicles. Managed to work our way opposite the hostel and park in the side street before ringing the bell of the apartment block of which the hostel occupies the 5th floor (there is a lift). The friendly Juan came down and guided us to their parking garage a couple of blocks away.

The hostel offered a large room with a nice balcony looking west over the city. The room and en suite were very clean but the decor and furnishings basic and dated. The front terrace offers great views of the alhambra, which is a (very steep) 25 minute walk. For the price of 30 euro plus 15 for parking we were satisfied and we thank Juan for his geniality and decent english.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jubbsfandalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    37
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
26
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

On arrival it was not obvious that the hostel was on the 5th floor of the building and the entrance to the building was poorly lit after dark. The proprietor greeted us on the 5th floor and was very friendly, with a warm smile and courteous presence. We booked a double room, but ended up with a room with 4 single beds. The room was a good size (no swinging cat jokes there), the shower room small but clean and also with an additional sink in the room area, ideal if a few friends are travelling. The accommodation was extremely central. The front door on to the main road was often left open when we arrived back late, which did pose a risk because of the lack of adequate lighting in the main entrance area. Also, most of the time no-one is manning the reception, but if you need anything you can ring a bell and the proprietor will come. Unfortunately, on leaving we were not greeted by the lovely lady with the smiley face, who spoke English ( putting us at peace because of our pigeon Spanish), we were checked out by a Spanish gentleman who asked us to pay by cash. This took us by surprise as when we booked the accommodation it was clear on the Booking.com website that we could pay by credit card. Fortunately, we did have enough cash on us. We would recommend this hostal to anyone looking for an economical stay in Granada.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dommi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

The hostal is in an excellent location along a main street in Granada. It's located on the top floor of the building. The owner checked us in and gave us very good tips on which buses to take to which sites, where to eat, etc.

Our room (a double and twin bed to accommodate 3), was very clean and comfortable. There was a window in our room with a great view of the Alhambra. Clean towels were provided each day and the beds were made. Laundry service cost 7 euros. Heater worked well. Walls are a bit thin and we could hear our neighbor singing in his room. But it was not a problem at night, and we had earplugs in case it became a problem. There is also a refrigerator in the room.

To have your room made you must be out of the hostal around noon, which should be fine for most tourists.

Best part of the hostal was the terrace with the view of the Alhambra. Beautiful view.

Bathrooms were not as clean as I would have liked. There was a faint smell of sewer from the toilet. One bathroom has a window to the outside, which was much more pleasant. The showerhead was hand-held, excellent water pressure, hot water always there. The shower was a little dirty. But overall not bad for the price.

If you like fresh tapas, head to Los Diamantes right now!!! They stick with the "free tapa" with each drink purchase, and the tapas are fresh and different with each drink. For the best, creamiest, most delicious hand-made ice cream stop by Los Italianos, which is on the way to Los Diamantes, for a cone (1 euro for 1 scoop and a cone).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leilapalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Very competitive price considering city centre location (5 mins to Cathedral, Plaza Neuva, Albaicin). Small room but more than adequate for travelling. Clean bathroom, hot water always available. Excellent Wifi. Communal terrace has lovely views of Albacin and Alhambra. Really welcoming owner.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimpetScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Rooms are a bit small but nice and very clean.The service is excellent and the terrace view is absolutely fantastic. Price is very convenient. Very recommendable. The Granada is a very lovely city full of culture, monuments and history.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villach, Austria
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We spent 2 nights within a room with bath, had one window to the south-west, one to north- east, both with great view as to the south no other building is higher and from the other window facing the terrace we saw albaicin, the alhambra and the mountains in the back. The room was clean, the host friendly, easygoing, and helpful. We would surely come back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polsterzipf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The hostel is located on a 5th. floor and the elevator failed when we were inside so we remained there for about 30 minutes. Bad luck because the owner knows how to repair it and at that moment was away. He apologized for that and for us was not the big deal. Talking about the hostel itself, it's run by its owners who are extremely friendly and speak different languages. The room was a little bit too small but the A/C and the cold and hot water were working well. It's close to the touristic area but far enough to make it quiet (5 minutes walking to the cathedral). It has an amazing terrace and the price is very good for what you get. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Just_the_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Olympia
Pension Olympia
#18 of 97 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hostal Antares
Hostal Antares
#39 of 97 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hostal Mesones
Hostal Mesones
#27 of 97 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostal AB
#71 of 97 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Apartamentos Venecia
#14 of 97 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Pension Castil
#15 of 97 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Londres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Londres

Property: Hostal Londres
Address: C Gran Via 29 Calle Agua de Albaicin, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Londres 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hostal Londres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing