We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful which apartment you actually get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Montalban Apartamentos
Ranked #75 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Maybe it was just my bad luck but the apartment we got was poor and most importantly was not one of the 4 different options as advertised on the website here : http://apartamentoscasamontalban.com/. Its a simple case of false advertising whereby what you got was not what was advertised on the website and you were not told of this fact either.

Simple facts are about the apartment we got are :
1) Located opposite Mercado San Agustin this immediate block happens to be the designated "home" for a half-dozen homeless people who live outside the building nightly and relive themselves there as well. As a result, there is permanent stench of urine and feces at or around the building entrance. I have nothing against homelessness but as a tourist visiting a city this situation is obviously not ideal.
2) noisy. The building has a large, heavy, noisy old front entrance door which can be heard being closed everytime its used. All through the night you will be keep awake with this loud door closing "crash" for each and every person using it (its a large apartment building with many many units).
3) lousy A/C. Granada in summer is hot and this apartments single A/C unit in the living room simply does not cool the entire place well enough, especially the bedroom on the other side of the unit.

Mr Fernando is a nice fella and was disappointed with my feedback. My poor review is simply for the sake of others to be careful when evaluating the actual apartment you will be getting and to encourage renters to advertise what they actually provide. I am not a picky traveler and I find it hard to believe that anyone would have been satisfied with the unit I got.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FromVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casamontalban, Propietario at Casa Montalban Apartamentos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear friend Chai
As I see you didn´t wanted to wait my answer to your yesterday mail and you and you've moved, expanded, to tripadvisors, I answer you this way.
The apartment I gave you was the same as I offered you the first time you contacted me. The only one I have for two, because the others are for 4 or 6. I don’t know which webpages you saw before contacting me but you referred, in your mail 03/21/14 that you preferred not to hire by booking.com. This apartment is not still in Tripadvisors nor in my own web. However it´s placed in booking.com, where you said you'd seen. I have no obligation to offer all my apartments on every page. And in any case, you asked an apartment for 2 people and I told you that you could provide, which was clearly in Plaza de San Agustín. Before making your reservation you make me abundant questions about the apartment and about Granada and I promptly replied to all of them. Where is the false advertising? Not for my part, of course.
1. The apartment "La Plaza", where you stayed, is indeed in the Plaza de San Agustín. A very, very central, quiet, yet close to everything interesting in Granada. And that, unfortunately, are often present, for a time, a group of beggars. Not cause any problems. But some tourist cities have to endure a population of vagabonds lured by the charms of the city. In any case, you should realizes that his presence is beyond of my possibilities, and, as you could see, they are not the only ones that roam the city.
2. Your apartment is on the second floor of a building of 5 floors. Also facing the square of St. Augustine, while the entrance is down the street Baratillos. Moreover it is equipped with modern double glazed joinery, plus 50 cm thick walls. I say this because, although it is true that at that moment the front door of the building had the spring was a little loose and banging (already fixed). You're the only person who has complained about that noise, even among those who gave the Baratillos Street facade.
But on the other hand, the bedroom of the apartment is on the inside, giving a quiet courtyard in which a soul isn’t heard. It is physically impossible that from your bedroom you could hear any noise, neither from inside nor from outside the home.
3. I don’t know about your experience with the air conditioning. The air is installed from one month before your arrival and worked and works perfectly. Rated at 4500 BTU that to 42 m², that is more than enough in a climate like Granada.
But I've bothered to check the temperatures of Granada during your stay, day 16 to 21 last June (I'll send the chart to your email). In those days you can check in to any site (accuweather.com, for example) that June 21 was a high of 30° and the other days the temperature was shifted from 19 ° and 27 °. Neither we were on summer nore we had excessive temperatures. And all that without counting that the building, with thick brick walls, is quite cool and comfortable. And the air conditioning, contrary to what you say, is amply powerful for housing.
Some of the reviews on trip advisors and many of booking.com come from travelers who have stayed at this apartment and, although it is clear that one can not please everyone, I think your opinion is far from other travelers.
When I have a little more time I will put the rest of my 10 apartments on trip advisor. When I change the webmaster, I will incorporate on my own page. But my priority is to be ready for everyone to come, can enjoy living with us. And till then, there are all exposed in booking.com and any other, where you can see all the apartments that I manage.
Like I told you, I asked you the day before your departure, whe you were 6 days in Granada, how was your staying, and you told me that everything was fine. Inexplicably at 2:00 am, you sent me an email with your complaints that, frankly, I can’t understand as sincere.
Andalucia is, probably, louder than average, but the apartment are well-conditioned, and has an air conditioner in perfect condition. And, accepting that the sensation of heat / cold is subjective, you were not in a hot period of Granada
Anyway I checked the apartment, I checked the proper functioning of air conditioning and has been repaired the front door a few weeks ago. The rest ...
I hope we have better luck another time. Or you know how to discover.
Greetings.
Fernando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Fernando met us at his place and escorted us to the apartment. I was quite pleased with the apartment itself. It's small, yet quite accomodating with a washing machine, refridgerator and stove. Well decoreated and good ventilation with AC and heater.
Fernando provided a map with easy walking directions to just about everything we needed. I did contact him once via email to ask a question and he responded within minutes.
The apartment is very localized so we had a great choice of local cafe's, Sacramonte and all transportation. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casamontalban, Propietario at Casa Montalban Apartamentos, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thanks for your kind comment, Marie. Delighted to welcome back anytime. Forever, best regards. Fernando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

When we visited Granada recently, we stayed at Casa Montalban and it was a great choice. Clean, spacious and secure. The apartment was close to shopping areas, tapas bars, panaderias, the Cathedral and even the Alhambra! The proprietor, Señor Fernando was very helpful and made himself available pretty much any time. Wifi included which was great! I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lloren64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casamontalban, Propietario at Casa Montalban Apartamentos, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you very much for your comment. We always try to make happy the visit of our guess. We use to take care of cleaning, services, tourist and curiosities information and all those little details that help to make your staing unforgetable. I love we have had success whit you.
Greets
Fernando Martín

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel is near of main points and restarurantes, easy access for load and unload lugagge, parking very close.
Rooms very clean and the owner/staff very helpfull for any request, (tour, skiing, meal and so on)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ricardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casamontalban, Owner at Casa Montalban Apartamentos, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias, Ricardo, por tu comentario. Gracias por tomarte el tiempo en agradecernos nuestro trabajo una nueva vez. Nos encantará recibirte de nuevo. Saludos. Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our stay at Casa Montalbán was superb. Its location is excellent, very close to Granada's cathedral, tapas bars and shopping area. We could see one of the most beautiful cities we have ever been to without needing a car.
Our apartment was really nice, spacious and clean. It includes some details that the owner, Fernando, has incorporated as he designed the building.

We were given a warm reception by Fernando, who informed us of monuments, bars and restaurants, tours, and activities of interest. Thanks to him, besides the Alhambra we also visited the Science Park, which we would have missed otherwise.

Overall,we were impressed with the quality for the price we paid. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casamontalban, Propietario at Casa Montalban Apartamentos, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you, John, for your opinion. I love you have enjoy here, in Granada and living in hour home. I hope you can com again to Granada and visit us.
Greets.
Fernando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Pure and convenient apartments, near the historical downtown.
Booked room with one bedroom, but to us provided smart number with two bedroom and a wide drawing room.
Very much it was pleasant to us.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casamontalban, Propietario at Casa Montalban Apartamentos, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you, Helen, for your great opinion. It´s very important for us to know about your experience in Granada and our apartments. To know that you have been happy in our home is a fantastic support of our work for attending you. May be, in any ocassion, you could came again, and visit us.
Greets.
Fernando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Necesidades de espacio. Están muy bien decorados.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando M, Propietario at Casa Montalban Apartamentos, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Habitat Suites Gran Via
Habitat Suites Gran Via
#3 of 146 in Granada
238 reviews
B&B Hotel Granada
#25 of 122 in Granada
808 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Al-Andalus Hostel
Al-Andalus Hostel
#67 of 146 in Granada
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Zaidín - Vergeles
Saray Hotel
Saray Hotel
#38 of 122 in Granada
1,653 reviews
Hotel Carlos V
#26 of 122 in Granada
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Montalban Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Montalban Apartamentos

Address: Calle Montalban 5, 18002 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range: £70 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Montalban Apartamentos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Montalbán has its beginning in a carefully restored historic building with modern spaces for your enjoyment. But now we manage apartments in 4 charming buildings. We are in the heart of Granada, in quiet but central places, close to everything important in the city: Alhambra, Cathedral, Tapas, Albaicín, shops, etc.. Very easy access by car and associated garage. In Granada you will not need to use your car. The apartments are spacious and comfortable with modern facilities and everything you could need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Montalban Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing