We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget friendly hotel in great location”
Review of Los Tilos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Tilos
Ranked #42 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2011

About my stay:
-Great free breakfast, we filled up before touring La Alhambra
-nice view of the plaza
-close to the cathedral, shopping area, University, and bus stops to Alhambra
-very, very quiet
-can accomodate large parties
-clean but small bathroom
-a great value as long as you aren't expecting a super luxurious room
-TV had a good selection of English channels
-Staff was not very friendly, but not rude either. They held our luggage for an entire extra day since we had a late train out of Granada

Room Tip: Request a room on the 4th room for better views
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caspervr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Los Tilos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2011

We had a room overlooking the plaza with good views of the plaza, the cathedral, and the Alhambra. The room was large and the beds were fine. They have a good breakfast that is free with the Lonely Planet guidebook. You can climb to the top floor where there is access to a little terrace that overlooks the plaza. The hotel is within easy walking distance of most of the major sights, and just a couple of blocks from the stop for the crowded little bus that runs you up to the Alhambra.

And now the negatives. Noise from the plaza was a problem--especially the crashes of bottles at 4 am when the restaurants recycled their glass. You might prefer an interior room. The hallways (but not the room) smelled of fuel oil and/or exhaust fumes. The older man at the desk in the afternoon and evening was bizarrely unfriendly--not a smile in 3 days. He would help a bit on request but never volunteered anything except a cold stare. In contrast, the people serving breakfast and at the desk in the morning were human. There was alleged to be WiFi, but we could not make it work--the only place in Spain it did not work for us. The hotel has a deal with a parking garage near Puerta Real (a few blocks from the hotel) for a reduced rate, but be sure you get the right garage. I would suggest trying to get exact directions from the hotel and plotting out your route before arriving in Granada. There are pedestrian-only zones in the area that can be traversed by car only late at night and you are fined for transgressions.

It is difficult to rate this hotel without having stayed at others in Granada, but at least you can go there knowing what you will encounter.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salem9002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Positive: relatively big rooms, especially for the price, good value breakfast, rooms and bathroom on the clean side.
Negative: unfriendly staff, barely anyone speaks English, the corridors reek and are dirty, the bathroom was very tiny, internet was not available, even though they said it should be (and no one was willing to help). It is also a nuisance to come there by car, since you can't even unpack it in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adynatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Hotel is located on the touristy square, so it's close to many attractions. Plus, tourists don't stay out that late, so the square really gets quiet after 10 pm. Room was huge. Air conditioning worked fabulously. Staff were very understanding and helpful when our voltage converter blew a fuse and the entire floor lost power.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smidden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

Great location, but just an average hotel really. Rooms were a bit noisy, but decent sized. Bathroom was fine, but I found a big ball of someone else's hair caught in a towel in my bathroom!!! Ew! I assume it's just a one off though...

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seagreen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We found the Hotel Los Tilos to be, as the previous reviews indicated, to be in a great spot right on Bib Ramblas, but the reception staff ranged from "ok" to hostile. One guy who worked the afternoon and evening shift was the worst. Aside from the young fellow who helps set up for breakfast and actually smiled, the entire staff needs to find a different line of work that doesn't involve dealing with the public because it is clear they can' stand it. The hotel does have a weird fuel oil smell, although our room did not. The room was fine - nothing special, but was clean and quiet and the bed was comfortable. I thought breakfast was pretty good for European hotels, actually. The price was reasonable especially because it included tax and breakfast because we had the Rick Steves' book. Parking is not available at the hotel - it is best to get very clear, written instructions from the hotel staff before you try to drive into Granada which I did and we were able to find a parking garage several blocks from the hotel. Anyway, overall, it's a mixed reaction. Good location, good price, decent breakfast - but the staff is really in the wrong business. If you are looking for a warm welcome - or even any welcome at all - go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WethersfieldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

The location is very good and convenient - on a beautiful square with many restaurants, close to the Cathedral and Gran Via de Colon.

The staff is so-so. I cannot call these people friendly but they aren't hostile too. These not young men are not much of English speakers.

Rooms and breakfast are usual. The entrance to the hotel is steps up so prepare to bring your bag by yourself.

So I would recommend this hotel for people who don't spend much time inside. For a reasonable price it's quite ok. Granada is a beautiful town and you can spend time walking on its street in the afternoon and enjoying sangria on Plaza Bib Rambla in the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Las Nieves Hotel
Las Nieves Hotel
#52 of 122 in Granada
334 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Anacapri
Hotel Anacapri
#32 of 122 in Granada
732 reviews
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#22 of 122 in Granada
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Posada Del Toro
Hotel Posada Del Toro
#25 of 122 in Granada
410 reviews
Navas Hotel
#53 of 122 in Granada
537 reviews
Hotel Sacromonte
#58 of 122 in Granada
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Tilos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tilos

Address: Plaza Bib 4, 18001 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#22 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £42 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Tilos 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Los Tilos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tilos Granada
Los Tilos Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing