We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and good value in the heart of Granada”
Review of Los Tilos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Tilos
Ranked #46 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Edmonton, Canada
1310
Reviewed 6 April 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

Location, location, location. This is a small hotel situated perfectly on a charming small plaza surrounded by shops and restaurants, plus the best place ever for Churros! It is a little hard to find and the closest street is two or three streets away from the entrance which means you will have to walk when the taxi drops you off. Once you reach the hotel you will have to lug your luggage up a marble staircase to reach a tiny elevator which will bring you to the second level reception desk, so travel lightly. The rooms are large but the lighting in the rooms is dismal. This is offset by the views if you have a room on a higher floor. We stayed in room 301 which afforded us fantastic views plus a Juliette balcony. Be aware that on the 4th floor there is a smoking balcony and the smell permeates the rooms on the 4th floor. Cigarettes are bad enough but when we were there we smelled cigar smoke. Do not stay on the 4th floor even though the views are better! Breakfasts are ordinary but perfectly fine and the coffee is terrific.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the third floor facing the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeysslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Great location on the plaza pescadera, just steps from the cathedral! the room was Minimalist but more than adequate. Walking distance to so many different things. The staff was helpful. I would stay here again and again.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
Thank Sunny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We got to the hotel and were greeted by Jose Maria with a great smile. We checked in immediately and got freshened up for late lunch. As we had just arrived we asked for a recommendation from Jose Maria. He recommended "Nuevo Restaurant" which was great! The rooms were more than adequate for our needs. The bathrooms were just fine. The room was always kept clean and comfortable. The location right on Bib-Rambla makes it ideal for the tourist. There is no traffic in from of the hotel, but by crossing the plaza and heading to the Cathedral the bus and taxi stand is right there. A 5 min walk max. Restaurants around the hotel are everywhere! Breakfast was included at the hotel. It was adequate and very good. More of a continental type of breakfast with some local flavors like ham, sausages, mortadella, and cheeses. This hotel was a great value!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Checked into the Hotel Los Tilos after the long train trip from Madrid. The staff was efficient and professional, checking us in quickly. Our room was quite large and comfortable with firm beds and the bathroom was plenty big for our taste. Though the wifi was supposed to be in public areas only, I could often connect in the room. The most amazing thing was the view from the windows and small balconies across the Bib-Rambla to the Alhambra on the nearby hill. I could literally hang my head out the window to look at the Alhambra while taking a shower in the morning. Not bad for 55 euros a night! The location could not have been better with easy access to restaurants, plazas, and transport to the palace. We didn't indulge in the breakfast at 7 euros per, but went to a cafe on the square or ate pastries in the room. Loved Granada, especially the walk along the Darro, the Alhambra, of course, and the view from St. Nicholas in the Albaicin. Recommend the Bodega Castenada for great tapas and vino. Very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Get the rooms on the square with the view if available. Fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bethalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The location in the large plaza near the cathedral was perfect for all our Granada sightseeing. The room itself was clean and fairly quiet. There was somewhat of a sulfur odor in the bathroom. We think it was some kind of sewer issue and not the water itself. The WiFi was disappointing as we usually had to go out in the hall or down to the lobby to get a reliable signal. The 4th floor rooftop terrace was a wonderful feature; one night we sat up there with sandwiches and wine and the fabulous view of the town below us all lit up. We did opt for the added price breakfast on our last of the 2 days there and it was a nice continental buffet however the quality of the machine coffee was not good (cafe con leche was very sweet - yuck!). Overall, pretty good value for the money for this room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikerjff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I stayed here about 3 years ago after a friend suggested it (she'd been there 20 years before). Was far better than I expected the first time....and second visit (I returned just a few days ago after 10 days in room 404) was as wonderful again.

I cannot speak for lower floors...but the 4th floor is perfect for a quiet night...cannot here the cathedral bells even tho it is opposite. All you hear are any neighbours who speak loudly in the corridor....otherwise.....silence!

Great aircon...which the cleaners leave on for you so you walk into a fresh room. I was given the same room as last time....overlooking the inner shaft of hotel...perfect as no noise. Just as a good Med bedroom should be....quite dark....so does NOT let in loads of sun....just what I like. You go outside and there is ALL the sun you will ever want! Plus a buzzing atmosphere in the restaurants all around the Plaza Bib-Rambla.

The owner, Senor Jose Maria (dont know his surname) is delightful, quiet and kind and thoughtful and speaks some English and loves practising his English. The other desk staff also speak a little.. If they seem quiet, it is that they are quite shy about speaking, but if you can manage any Spanish at all, they are most encouraging. I didnt feel well one day, and the owner was very concerned and helpful.

As a middle aged lady travelling alone, I cannot recommend it highly enough! I will go back next year if funds allow.

Incidentally....anyone who puts on here that the breakfast is "only average" or adequate....I cannot imagine what they are expecting. I love their breakfast....and daily ate:2 kiwis, watermelon, yellow melon, hardboiled egg, chorizo, salami, cheese, 3 small croissant, orange juice,, Spanish oil biscuit with sugar (speciality), plus the best coffee of the day...cafe con leche, or cortado. Believe me....superb! also available...cereal, 2 breads, toaster, yoghurt, frankfurters, bacon. No...they dont do bucksfizz....is that what people expected for 35 euros a night including breakfast....?!! I never ate till 3 or 4pm...when I then went to one of the cafes and had tapas or tea with pionono cake (also local).

Every time....viva Los Tilos!!

Room Tip: Lift is excellent (and i am scared of them...but went alone daily as was very reliable). Top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Antonieta118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Las Nieves Hotel
Las Nieves Hotel
#54 of 122 in Granada
339 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Anacapri
Hotel Anacapri
#33 of 122 in Granada
738 reviews
Hotel Macia Plaza
#38 of 122 in Granada
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sacromonte
#60 of 122 in Granada
253 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Posada Del Toro
Hotel Posada Del Toro
#28 of 122 in Granada
414 reviews
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#22 of 122 in Granada
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Tilos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tilos

Address: Plaza Bib 4, 18001 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#22 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £36 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Tilos 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Los Tilos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tilos Granada
Los Tilos Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing