We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, friendly service in a prime location”
Review of Hotel Macia Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Macia Plaza
Ranked #40 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, friendly service in a prime location”
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I can't say enough about the kindness of the front desk workers at this hotel- they were pleasant and accommodating. Also the hotel is literally at the base of the walk up to Alhambra so it's location is perfect for the main site in Granada, and not far from the Moorish quarter either.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adajos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    311
    86
    18
    10
See reviews for
80
332
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Macia Plaza offers clean, comfortable accommodations for sightseeing in Granada. The location is excellent, the airport bus drops you off a block away and there is a taxi stand right in front of the hotel. You can easily take a taxi to Al Hambra or to San Nicolas view point. Also the hotel is well situated for walking to the Royal Chapel.
The rooms are small, but the beds are very comfortable. We didn't have any light in our room since it was on the inside, but the rooms facing the street are likely to be noisy - or so I have heard.
Several cheap food options abound for those on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsahgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Great (i.e. UNESCO World Heritage) location at a very reasonable price. Surprisingly quiet at night despite being right on the Plaza Nueva. Just make sure to skip the hotel's 7 euro/person breakfast. You can definitely get something better/less expensive at one of the numerous cafes/restaurants (less than) a couple of blocks from the hotel.

PS If you have a rental car, it may be better (or certainly easier) to stay at their sister hotel (Macia Gran Via) about 5 blocks away since it has a (pay) parking garage with ample parking directly beneath it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotSoLocalYokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Got a great pre-pay deal (132 EUR total for two nights for late October) from the hotel's website. Staff was extremely friendly, and the location on Plaza Nueva is centrally located and quite convenient for access by minibus (or a 20-30 min walk) to the Alhambra and the Albayzin district. Rooms are on the small side, but big enough. Wi-Fi available in our room with hotel-provided password, but the bandwidth was on the slow side.

However, our stay became extremely unpleasant each morning during the breakfast period when MASSIVE amounts of cigarette smoke would invade our room. Despite the fact that breakfast was in the basement and we were on the first floor (which is two floors away in Europe), the smoke wafted up the stairwell and came pouring into our room. I know it's Europe and a lot of people smoke there, but this was disgusting. I would recommend requesting a room far away from the main staircase so that the same thing doesn't happen to you.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziti49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

What a value for a great hotel! I was a little skeptical (despite positive reviews) when I booked this hotel for around $80 US dollars/night. The location on Plaza Nueva is absolutely perfect for exploring Granada, there is a bus stop and a taxi stand here also. The hotel itself was very clean, modern, and quiet. Free wifi was available also. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiTravelgirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Absolutely the best location in Granada. I was hesitant to stay here because it was such good value for money but didn't need to worry- it was the best hotel I've stayed in in Spain. In the middle of everything and a bus to plaza San Nicholas (from where you get amazing views to Alhambra) is right outside the door. Is walking distance from the Alhambra and lots and lots of food.
Loved it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nakel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I'd stayed in Granada twice before and both times I'd stayed in the 3* hotel next door. Although a very good hotel, on the second visit it had been rather noisy, so this time I decided to try the Hotel Macia Plaza instead. I was delighted! I pre-booked the first night for about £33, left very early and went walking for three days in the Sierra Nevada, and then came back to the Macia Plaza and paid about £43, including breakfast (which I hadn't needed the first time). The room was clean, spacious, quiet and well-equipped and I consider the value for money to be excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheProfessor34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#17 of 122 in Granada
933 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 122 in Granada
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Anacapri
Hotel Anacapri
#27 of 122 in Granada
701 reviews
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#22 of 122 in Granada
1,112 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macia Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Plaza

Property: Hotel Macia Plaza
Address: Plaza Nueva 5, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Macia Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Macia Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macia Plaza Hotel
Macia Plaza Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing