We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Nice But Small Rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Macia Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Macia Plaza
Ranked #36 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice But Small Rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

Stayed at the Macia Plaza Nueva for one night. The location is excellent, smack in the middle of town, a short walk to the cathedral and the abaicin, but definitely take the bus up to the Alhambra. The hotel is modern and there is free WiFi in the lower floor, which also serves as the breakfast buffet space. The room we were in was very small, however, the bathroom was more normal size. Our air conditioning worked good. If you want a decent place to stay a night or two, this is totally ok, but don't expect to feel like you are in a spacious property -- it's definitely tight in there. I can only assume the front facing rooms with balconies feel way more open (we were in an interior room), but be aware that the hotel is right on Plaza Nueva, which was still in full swing at midnight with lots of people hanging out so I assume also a bit noisy if you are an early bird.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgnyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    299
    81
    17
    10
See reviews for
71
319
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

We loved the rooms, the staff, the location. AC was excellent, a real plus in July in Granada. I would return to both -- the hotel and the city.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ingiepingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

We found this hotel using Trip Advisor, and we were extremely pleased. After spending time in 4 cities across Spain, we found this hotel to be the best value for the money! I can't say enough - great location, excellent decor, great space, good breakfast - it has it all.

As others have noted, the hotel is right on the main city square. There are plenty of restaurants and stores nearby. I wouldn't look to stay anywhere else when returning to Granada!

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TreyJ03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

We took a bus from Madrid to Granada and stayed for 2 days/1 night. I would have enjoyed staying another night, but our itinerary was packed. Anyway, the hotel is a 15 minute or so bus ride from the the bus terminal, and it only costs 1 Euro 20 (I think) for bus fare, so it's more economical than a taxi. Taking the bus to the Cathedral stop puts you three blocks away from the hotel. Very convenient. There is also an Aeroporte bus that swings by for 3 Euro which will take you to/from the airport. The front desk staff can assist you if necessary.

The hotel itself was deceptively charming. The room we had was small, but it was nice having an actual double bed (as opposed to two twins pushed together). I would HIGHLY suggest paying the extra 5 Euros, or whatever the cost, to get a room with a view of the Alhambra. We had an excellent room on the 4th floor with a balcony, overlooking the plaza or square below, with Alhambra off to the left. At night, we were able to open our balcony doors and enjoy the view and wonderful temperatures. We stayed on a Tuesday night, and most of the outside noise from cafes seemed to be gone by 11:30pm or so. Also, the balcony doors seal really well and keep out noise.

The front desk staff was helpful and friendly, and was patient enough to help me correct my Spanish when necessary. They will also hold your bags if you have time to explore more of Granada after you check out.

Overall, this was a great smaller-sized hotel, and was a nice romantic stop on our tour of Spain.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelforfun74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Macia Plaza, July 2009 for 11 days. The hotel is situated in an excellent location, right in the main square with plenty of cafes and restaurants surrounding it. We had a view onto the square with a small balcony but a great view of the Alhambra.

The hotel room itself is great value for money. Although the rooms are not huge, they are modern in decor, exceptionally clean and comfortable. The rooms are cleaned every single day including weekends and fresh towels provided every day. The rooms do have a plasma TV but no English channels.

The hotel on a whole is exceptionally clean. Staff on the reception are friendly and helpful. The Hotel does provide breakfast although we didnt eat here because there are so many small cafes who do breakfast at a cheaper cost than the hotel did.

Granada is a lively town with most bars and restaurants staying open until the early hours. The hotel Macia Plaza is right in the heart of all the action. Its a great place for couples, there is plenty of places to eat, drink or just visit. The locals are friendly and make you feel welcome. Its definitely not a quiet town, but the hotel was fairly quiet in itself.

I think you will be happy with the Macia Plaza, we certainly were. You cant beat it for great value and great loaction.

Overall Granada is magical and I would definitely recommend the Macia Plaza. If your looking for great value for money yet clean and comfy then this is the hotel for you. Ask for a view and this makes it even more nicer.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank young_travellers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

Free wi-fi, the nicest bathroom of any of the similar-priced hotels I stayed at on this trip, and an overall modern decor. This hotel has a great location on Plaza Nueva with a view of the Alhambra and plenty of cafes on the same square. The staff is helpful, the breakfast is good, and the rooms are excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgrabyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

Stayed 3 nights at the Macia Plaza in the second week in May. Paid for a room at the front of the hotel (102) with a small balcony and views of the Plaza below and part of the Alhambra up on the hill above. The location is great for visiting the Alhambra, the Albayzin and the many tapas bars around the area.

Room and bathroom were both spotlessly clean and looked like they had been recently tastefully redecorated. The room was fairly compact, but not cramped, and the bathroom included a good shower over a standard size bath.

Didn't try the aircon, as it wasn't really necessary in spring time, but ventilation from a window in the bathroom and doors to the balcony was good.

Staff were always helpful and obliging with our many questions.

Being at the front of the hotel there is noise from the cafes in the Plaza below, but this was mostly low level and atmospheric. Thursday and Friday nights were quite noisy with local drinkers passing through the plaza until late, however the double glazing is good and if you've enjoyed a couple of glasses of Rioja yourself you shouldn't be too troubled!

We had breakfast in the hotel one morning and it was about the only thing that wasn't so good about the hotel - particularly the lack of decent coffee!

Overall, the hotel was excellent value for money and I'd certainly recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeckhamWry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#14 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#19 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#23 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#11 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macia Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Plaza

Property: Hotel Macia Plaza
Address: Plaza Nueva 5, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Macia Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Macia Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macia Plaza Hotel
Macia Plaza Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing