We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Macia Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Macia Plaza
Ranked #37 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value and good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

This hotel is a good value and in a great location for seeing sights and exploring Granada. The staff were very helpful and super nice. Rooms at the front of this hotel could be noisy so request a room in the back. The rooms are clean but very small and very generic. Nothing charming about this hotel at all but it will provide what you need and the rooms are very clean. For the price and the location I would recommend it

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CO_travel_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    299
    81
    17
    10
See reviews for
71
319
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

Recently spent two nights at the Macia Plaza. The airport bus dropped us off five minutes from the hotel and we easily walked with our luggage to the hotel. The man at the front desk was kind and helpful. Our room was clean and modern, located toward the back of the hotel, which worked for us because it was completely quiet, no noise from the square. We liked that there was a computer with Internet access in the breakfast room, which we used for free. The hotel is located in a cute square surrounded by bars and restaurants. The bus to the Albazin Quarter stopped right outside the hotel and the bus to the Alhambra was just down the road, very convenient. We could also walk to both of these sites, as well as the cathedral and chapel. All in all, we were very please with the Macia Plaza and highly recommend it to other travellers.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aemlovesnegril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

We were very happy with our 3 day stay at this hotel. It is so central to everything, and a good walk to the Alhambra. Numerous sidewalk restaurants in front to enjoy the scene. We would have preferred a room with view of plaza, but had a very quiet one at the back

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

This hotel had three main advantages - outlined in title above.it is perfectly placed on the city's (pedestrian) central square. Anywhere you will want to go is in easy walking distance - The Alhambra (up the beautiful Correa del Darro alongside the eponymous river), the Albaycin, the Realejo district, the squares and streets around the cathedral and the groovy bars, restaurants and flamenco joints along Calle Elvira.
The hotel has evidently been totally refurbed fairly recently, so the rooms and bathrooms are very well appointed and very smart and clean.

The only drawback (and it's quite a big one if you're hoping for a nice romantic break) is the hotel it completely lacks any character whatsover. Plus most of the rooms have no externally-facing windows , so it feels as if you're sitting in an underground bunker at any time of day or night. This is tragic in a city as gorgeous as Granada with such beautiful views. Our window gave out onto a sort of inner shaft where all the air conditioning units were located so we had to put up with them switiching on and off and humming all night...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EalingOtterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

This place is an oasis. I look forward to staying here again!

Pedro at the front desk is a God send. He was so friendly, helpful, and enthusiastic. The other staff, eh.

Our room was fantastic. It had the most comfortable bed of our 5-city stay in Spain (surprisingly, it was the least expensive of all of the hotels). It was quiet, comfortable, and clean, and I was SO sad to leave. I am disappointed to read the review that mentions bedbugs, fortunately that was not our experience.

The location of this hotel is perfect. Right on the Plaza Nueva, it's walking distance to most of the sights and close to bus pick ups for the Alhambra and the train station.

They have a computer with internet for guest use which was great as we had forgotten the time of our Alhambra appointment.

Word to the wise (or stupid, like us) regarding the Alhambra - when the directions say you have to be in within 30 minutes your appointment time, they mean at the palace, not the complex. They show NO pity on confused Americans, and so we missed seeing the palace :( The gardens and ruins are beautiful, and we blissfully, ignorantly enjoyed leisurely strolling through not knowing we would soon be turned away from the most visited sight in the world. Alas.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArieleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

Despite the great reviews, I am still agonizing over the experience with this hotel chain.
1. Do not book and prepaid for this hotel under any circumstances.
2. They have bedbugs and fleas.

Less than one hour after I felt asleep, I woke with itches all over me. I jumped out of bed, peel back the sheets and saw debris all around the edges of the mattress. I have never experienced bedbug infestation in my own home but knew enough and saw photos of infestations. They tried to give me another room which upon inspection, both the mattress and box spring were encased with covers that had side zippers. These covers are used to control bedbugs. The mattress in the first room I was given did not have an encasement like this. I knew then I have to move out of this hotel. They let me move to another of their hotel on Colon but every two hours, I woke, felt something biting me and saw black bits all over the sheets and under the pillow where I know they were not there before. They deny the beds had any bugs but agreed to refund 100 EUR for the remaining two nights. They did not refund my credit card which was used to pay for the room but rather sent a wire directly to my bank account. Aweek later, I only received 95 EUR!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MISO8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

We stayed there for 2 nights. Loved our rooms. We traveled with kids and I asked for 2 rooms next to each other with the view. It was excellent - 1 room had 1 king bed and another 2 twins. Both rooms had balconies and incredible views, especially at night. Plaza Nueva is very lively and music was on until after midnight, but we enjoyed being in the middle of this festive mood and stayed late ourselves. We could just open the balconies and take in the atmosphere. If kids wanted to sleep, no problem - with the closed doors there was barely any noise. Rooms are modern and clean, newly remodeled. Bathrooms were on a smaller side and no counter space but clean, with all amenities. They had some problem with toilets which wouldn't work properly and we had to wait until morning for that to be fixed, But still, very helpful reception desk - gave us some restaurant suggestions, helped with maps. Location is the best. We walked everywhere. Alhambra walk was beautiful, just 20-25 min. It wasn't hot in the morning. If in Granada again would get same rooms in the same hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muziklv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#14 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#20 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#23 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macia Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Plaza

Property: Hotel Macia Plaza
Address: Plaza Nueva 5, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Macia Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Macia Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macia Plaza Hotel
Macia Plaza Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing