We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Saray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Saray Hotel
Ranked #33 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Bit tired looking - parking garage from hell, which nevertheless costs a fortune - double bed was two singles pushed together. Continental breakfast is served in a separate little room with no sign, and if you go in the main dining room by mistake you get charged full hit. Horrible. Give this one a miss.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ContextNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    764
    279
    64
    27
See reviews for
334
729
49
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We used this hotel as a springboard to visit the Alhambra Palace. Although staying only one night at this hotel with a tour group, I found this hotel very appealing as the grounds and gardens were most attractive and well kept.

Our rooms were well appointed.

Room Tip: The beds tend to be on the firm side.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sbj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
254 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had a spacious, well equipped comfortable room and bathroom - very good value for money. The hotel is a good 15 minute walk from the town centre but it's a good place to stay if you have a car because the parking is relatively cheap. We tried the express breakfast which seemed like good value at first - but we feel that you are probably better off buying breakfast from one of the cafes outside the hotel. We did eat dinner at the restaurant one night and while the food was reasonable, the drinks were expensive and you are better off eating outside.

Room Tip: We had to change rooms (from 430 to 302) and found that the WiFi worked a lot better on Level 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Decent stay but far from a proper 4* star hotel. Not so top notch as it is presented on the photos, poor shower power, really terrible bed that caused me back pain, busy reception desk and general shabbiness all over. The architecture of the building is that of H letter so most of the rooms overlook parts of the building. Quite far from the town centre although a walk is not that bad -20-25 mins. We had parking included so that was convenient indeed as parking on the streets is quite a challenge. Ok for the cheap price, just don't expect it to be a proper 4 star as it's not.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Val V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We chose this hotel, because from my search it seemed to be in a quiet area and it was one of the cheapest out of the 4 star hotels out there. It is in fact located in a quiet residential area and has some flaws that I expected from the low price tag.

Although I thought the walking distance from the hotel to the city center was a bit longer than I expected, I liked the location after all. The new years eve was absolutely quiet, to my surprise. Didn't hear a single shot of fireworks.

The room itself seemed to have been recently renovated, but the bathroom wasn't. It looked aged with a plenty of age spots. The towels were clean, but again old. Oddly, the maid didn't change our towels or empty the trash cans on the second day. I understand the towel part if it was to conserve water and detergent, but they could've left extra new towels just in case we need them.

The room itself was pretty quiet, considering the hotel was full; but in the bathroom, it was a different story. I could hear running water in the shower and toilet flushes from next door, as loud as through a speaker.

We tried their pastry breakfast buffet for 5 euros, since by the end of our trip, we were tired of the same full breakfasts from the previous hotels. It was much worse than I expected. The room was like a plain cafeteria. It reminded me of the Best Western breakfast.

Overall, our stay was good and I have no regret, but I think they could improve their service and quality.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwhenyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We checked in for two nights in Saray hotel so that we could spend a day visiting the Alhambra Palace in Granada. The hotel car park was very narrow and challenging to maneuver in, but we were comforted that it was almost fully packed with cars. Check-in was efficiently done; we had a little difficulty logging into the internet initially, but the receptionist was very helpful to get us connected. The room was small but clean and adequate, and I loved the 5 different types of pillows made available for our use. Having just come from a much more expensive hotel, I really appreciate the fact that for 50 Euro a night, we had a comfortable room so close to Granada town centre. I accidentally forgot to lock my safe into whichever I left quite a bit of cash, but returning after a full day out, I found that our room was made up, but all my money was intact and my iPad was still there in the unlocked safe! What more could I ask? I highly recommend this as an excellent budget hotel with very honest staff.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SYKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
563 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night as part of an Insight Vacations group tour. There was no air conditioning and the room temperature was around 26 degrees Celsius from the afternoon sun. Hotels in Spain should adjust to global climate change and leave their central air conditioning on in November.

The room we had, was small, old and needs refurbishment (see photos). Opening the window meant that the apartment dwellers next door (around 20 metres away) could see into our room. The included breakfast was mediocre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanetOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Hotel Carmen Granada
#43 of 122 in Granada
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 122 in Granada
957 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#30 of 122 in Granada
2,164 reviews
Andalucia Center Hotel
#49 of 122 in Granada
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saray Hotel

Property: Saray Hotel
Address: Paseo Enrique Tierno Galvan 4, 18006 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Granada
#14 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#33 Family Hotel in Granada
#46 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Saray Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Saray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saray Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing