We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel !”
Review of Saray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saray Hotel
Ranked #39 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a great hotel, nearby the center of Granada - busses stop nearby, but by foot only a 5 minute walk. Friendly staff, clean room, clean bathroom, wifi, safe, aso ...
Only : swimming pool is closed till mid June - and sometimes one of the 3 elevators might fail.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 1,650 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at the Saray hotel in Granada for a night as part of our Globus guided tour, the “Iberian Vacation”. We travelled as a group of four and had two rooms booked. Our experience overall at the hotel was a pleasant one.

The Saray is part of a small chain of hotels, the Hoteles Santos chain. We had previously stayed at another member hotel of the chain, the Agumar in Madrid and were expecting the Saray to be fairly similar; not overly chic or luxurious, but perfectly functional. The hotel is fairly centrally located, a couple of minutes walk from the river which runs through town. Cross the river and on the other side you will find many of Granada’s biggest attractions as well as plenty of shopping and dining opportunities. There certainly are more centrally located options available, but Granada is a compact city and it didn’t take us more than a casual 20 minute or so walk to get from the hotel to any of the main points of interest.

We arrived at the hotel in the early afternoon. It is quite an interestingly shaped building, with two wings of rooms connected in the centre by a narrower section which includes the lobby and the elevator lobby for each floor. We took the glass elevators up to our rooms, and were glad to see the hotel had seen we were travelling as a family of four and provided us with interconnecting rooms! The room décor was not overly modern, but they were clean and well maintained. Beds were comfortable, there was a large flat screen TV with a variety of local and international channels, a minibar, and a well-lit bathroom with all the necessary amenities. Wi-Fi was available in the hotel and is free for Globus customers, although I’m not sure what the cost (if any) there is for private tourists. If you don’t have your own device, the TV itself could connect to the internet and there was a wireless keyboard with touchpad mouse you could use, to access the internet on the TV while relaxing in bed!

We wanted to grab something for lunch and weren’t keen on heading off looking for something so we decided to take advantage of the hotel’s special lunch set menu, the Menú del Día. The menu cost just €12.95 per person, inclusive of tax and came with a starter, a main course and a dessert, plus bread and water. The lunch was served in a room called Salon Alhamar, a room which looked out onto the hotel’s pool area. In addition to serving meals, the restaurant also took care of the pool bar menu and the room service menu. It was a quiet afternoon so there was just one waiter on hand, and he provided excellent service. The choices on the set menu were extensive and included not just Spanish options but options from across Europe. The regular menu was also available and had plenty of hotel staples, such as the good old American hamburger. I’ve included pictures of the meals and menu with the review. Overall the food and service was good, especially considering the very reasonable price tag.

We had the full breakfast buffet the next morning. It was an extensive buffet and included a wide variety of breads, pastries, hot dishes, cold meats, yoghurt, fruits, cereal, chocolate and churros and more. It was included for us as Globus guests but the cost for regular guests was €11 including tax, which in my view is probably worth it. If you’re not interested in the hot food there is also an express continental breakfast available for €4.95. Perhaps it’s worthwhile seeing if you can get a package deal which includes breakfast. I have included some pictures of breakfast as well as the menu.

Staff at the hotel were overall pleasant and helpful, whether it was during meals or at reception, where the receptionist provided us with maps and directions to the attractions. We were alright getting by in Spanish but they all spoke a bit of English as well.

With regards to sightseeing in Granada, there is plenty to see. Make your way to Calle Reyes Catolicos (perhaps a twenty minute walk) and from there you can visit the Granada Cathedral and the adjoining Alcaicería, an area which was a former salt market but is now filled with souvenir shops. Go for a walk around the area and you will find plenty of stores like H&M, the department store El Corte Inglés and more.

A trip to Granada is also not complete without a visit to the Alhambra and adjoining Generalife. I’m not sure if it’s walkable or not, but it is only a short ride away by taxi. It’s a beautiful place and I highly recommend you visit!

For dinner we went to a restaurant called Paco Martin, about a ten or fifteen minute walk from the hotel. We went with the tour group but it is open to private tourists as well. The food was nice, although Granada is certainly full of great restaurants so do some research and ask around to find what you like!

All in all our experience at the Saray was a positive one. Nothing purely spectacular, but it was good, better than average. I award this hotel a rating of 4/5, and if in Granada again I wouldn’t mind returning.

I hope you’ve found this review helpful, and enjoy your visit to Granada! If you have any questions, please feel free to message me.

Room Tip: Request interconnecting rooms if travelling as a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Nice room, very clean. Staff not real friendly but I suppose they might get tired of dumb tourists questions. Hotel has a nice modern look from the front.Breakfast bar was good Only spent one night in Granada but would have liked to spent more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FYI29192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was the best hotel we stayed in while spending 3 weeks in Europe! It was very well located within walking distance to the city center and many attractions. This is important as Granada is hard to navigate via car. The views of the mountains and city from our hotel room were amazing! The room was clean and well kept. The bathroom was quite large for Europe and very nice! Our room was labeled non smoking but smelled very strongly of smoke, which was the only major downside.

Breakfast is expensive (there are two options), but was worth it for us since we had early plans and didn't want risk finding a place. Parking also is somewhat pricey, but again worth it for us to just park and not waste time looking for something less expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyssa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I understand this is the only hotel in Grenada with a pool (?) and for us it made a serious difference. Grenada is very much a city and while I loved it the weather was beautiful and warm, (we travelled early May some days in the 30's others high 20's) so having the pool to relax by was a huge plus. Otherwise the feel of the hotel was one you would use for a work trip but large clean rooms and bedrooms. For me the pool made all the difference.. a visit to the Alhambra is a MUST... if you are driving yourself the one way system in Grenada is a nightmare and road signs are not the best in Europe.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SassieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Saray is well located with a comfortable frontage welcoming its guests. Since we only spent one night in Granada, the hotel suited us very well since we were able to walk the proximity and had a good feel of the town.

Within the lobby of the hotel, the furnitures were well place to accommodate different small groups without interfering with each other. There were also a comfortable bar which servicing the whole day. The room was comfortable. The only minor issue had to be the limitation and size of the elevators which tense to be bid slow in rush hours.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Charn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

For a 4-Star hotel we found the infrastructure quite sufficient. the rooms were large enough and the beds were comfortable. However try to ask for a room in the back of the building, not facing the street, for obvious reasons, especially if you like to open the windows during a hot night and not using the AC. The glass lift was very unusual, but quite exciting .....you had a nice view to the outside whilst going up or down. The breakfast was reasonably good, I appreciated the hot food, especially since we experienced in Spain lots of lukewarm food, if you had a buffet breakfast. if you are lucky, you will not eat with large bus groups, which sometimes (if not often) occupy the hotel for a day or two. However these are usually early risers and leave prior to 8 am. The staff was very friendly, spoke reasonably good English and some French or even German. If you like to visit the beautiful town of Granada and the most astonishing Alhambra, you will have a good stay at reasonable prices at the Saray.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Andalucia Center Hotel
#52 of 122 in Granada
486 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#29 of 122 in Granada
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Senator Granada Spa Hotel
#50 of 122 in Granada
739 reviews
B&B Hotel Granada
#26 of 122 in Granada
808 reviews
Allegro Granada
#30 of 122 in Granada
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saray Hotel

Address: Paseo Enrique Tierno Galvan 4, 18006 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Zaidín - Vergeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Granada
#17 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#33 Family Hotel in Granada
#46 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £44 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saray Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hoteles Santos , Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Saray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saray Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing