We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable and clean room, front desk could be more helpful.”
Review of Melia Granada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Granada
Ranked #28 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 May 2011

My sister and I spent 10 nites at the Melia. We looked at lotz of hotels on internet and chose the Melia. It is right in the center of town, and I think we got the best room in the hotel. Fourth floor, corner room. One window showed the town and the mountains; other showed the Alhambra tower! We had three windows, which I think is unusual - so we lucked out. Would have LOVED to have something to make coffee and tea in the room. The towels are big and soft, the maid service great, room clean. Noisy a bit since one window was right over a taberna/cafe that stayed open late and then they dumped all the bottles in the recycling bin. But we were so tired from walking, that it really didn't bother us. The front desk could have been more service-oriented and friendly, but everything else was great. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room 441 - twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surelyacollectible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 2,328 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2011

Visited Granada with some friends - all stayed at the same hotel. I booked directly, but my friends booked through an online UK agency. We all got good prices. The Sol Melia Hotel Granada is nicely designed, located in an attractive and very convenient location (best part of central Granada city?). The rooms were very clean and housekeeping staff very friendly and smiley. But they should provide tea and coffee making faciilties in the rooms - they only had an expensive minibar. Restaurant staff were very friendly and breakfast was excellent. Comfortable and quiet working lifts, with floor maps of rooms on each floor (needed!). However, the reception staff (all male and mostly middle-aged, when I was there) were rather unfriendly and unhelpful - not good for the first impression on arrival. Foreign language (English and French) was not a strong point, and most interpersonal contacts were one word grunts - eg. "card", "sign", "passport" etc, or just silence or just pointing. Not useful when asking for local maps or directions or transport issues etc. This was particularly important when we tried to find the Alhambra Palace (which was itself rather disappointing unfortunately -see later notes). The barman in the adjacent reception bar/restaurant was equally gruff and unhelpful. Modern hotels, especially international chains, nowadays offer better customer contact. Many of them employ both male and female staff of mixed age ranges - all helpful happy-looking staff who can speak the popular international languages. This reception staff ignored us for several minutes, and they stopped and served other Spanish arrivals when halfway through our registration process. They were equally uncommunicative during checkout. They need training.

Summary: good location; lifts, clean comfortable condition of hotel; good breakfast and friendly restaurant staff; competitive pricing; it needs tea and coffee facilities in the rooms; sulky unhelpful reception and bar staff. Reception and bar staff training sorely needed (for customer services aspects) - but I would still use this hotel.

A related topic: A popular reason for going to visit Granada is to visit the Alhambra Palace in the city. Sadly, we were very disapponted in the Alhambra. It was very hilly to get to (not it's fault), lots of steps and cobbled streets to climb, poorly signed and labelled, unhelpful entrance staff, very little explanatory posters or guides (except a 35 Euro electronic-talking guide which had to be returned back at the top of the hilly site when finished); no furniture or carpets or paintings or any form of current or recent usage or life - just lots of empty stone rooms and gardens full of hedges, and several parts of the Palace were closed off or under longterm restoration - but we were not forewarned. I could not recommend the Alhambra visit, but there are plenty of bars and restaurants and ice-cream parlours and cake patisseries around town. So Granada itself was very enjoyable, and we also had very good weather. A good few days holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UK-Traveller-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

centrally located, rooms are all right if a bit old but clean.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cortecera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Positive: Great location, you can walk everywhere from here. Rooms are clean, breakfast is good, lobby is nice.
Negative: the staff at the reception struggle to speak english, they are quite lazy and do not look very professional (definitely not good for a 4 stars). I'd suggest them to employ some young and more smiling people! Our room was very small, and with a terrible view (facing a wall). The other problem was that even though we asked for a non-smoking room, it was often possible to smell the smoke of cigarettes coming from somewhere else. This must be so because they do not divide between smoking and non-smoking floors, but just rooms. All considered, I could definitely return here, but if I had a bit of time to look around I am sure I could find a better solution!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borto_lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

excellent location, quiet, good food, good service - adding these words just o have the review long enough

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silencd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We stayed for 4 nights in this hotel and found it to be a great base for our holiday,

We were on the 5th floor and had a view of the Alhambra Palace from our window. There was some noise from the street below but nothing that stopped us sleeping!

The staff were freindly and helpful and were on hand to help if there was any problems.

The cost to use their car park is VERY EXPENSIVE 19€ per night so if you can find some free parking in a side street lake we did it is definitely worth it.

The hotel is close to some excellent bars and restaurants, one in particular which is great for steaks is the Atahualpa Steak House, only a 3 minute walk from the hotel in the Plaza del Campillo.

All in all a great hotel to use as a base to explore the City.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveandfran96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Melia Hotels are trustworthy bt you always leave feeling they fall just slightly short of what you expeted. This one is a great hotel in a fab location and lovely room. However my room was very noisy and it may just be as it was over the Easter / Semana Santa weekend but the noise proofing could be better. I found the reception staff stithly less than "very helpful" as they didnt really TRY and help with my queries on bus and train schedules which at the click of a button I could google and find myself! My compliments to Martin and Natalie at reception who were exceptional though.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelestialNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
NH Granada Centro
NH Granada Centro
#24 of 122 in Granada
1,353 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 122 in Granada
1,602 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Suites Gran Via 44
Suites Gran Via 44
#11 of 122 in Granada
816 reviews
Vincci Albayzin
#27 of 122 in Granada
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Granada

Address: Angel Ganivet, 7, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Granada
#7 Business Hotel in Granada
#13 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#36 Family Hotel in Granada
#40 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £63 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Granada is located in the heart of the city of Granada, near the cathedral, Calle Navas, Alcaiceria, the Puerta Real, Calle Elvira, Plaza Nueva, Realejo, Paseo de los Tristes, the Science Park and the Congress Centre.Its strategic location in the city centre, personalised service and excellent facilities make it the perfect choice for your visit to Granada.Neat the hotel, you can visit exclusive boutiques and fashion houses. Plus nearby there is a one of the city’s main leisure and entertainment areas with numerous tapas bars and restaurants. Meliá Granada is also just a short distance from the most trendy nightspots and major shopping streets such as Reyes Católicos, Recogidas or Mesones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Granada Hotel Granada
Sol Melia Granada
Granada Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing