We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful City, Great Location and Friendly Service, Liked it”
Review of Melia Granada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Granada
Ranked #29 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 December 2007

Stayed at the Melia Granada on a short business trip in October 07. The staff was very nice. I got a room on the executive floor (no extra costs) with an nice and spacious balcony from where you could see the Sierra Nevada. The rooms are not too big, but conveniently designed, so nothing to complain about. The location of the hotel is great. Everything is accessible within walking distance. When I was late to catch up my flight on the day I was leaving, the staff was very helpful to arrange a taxi to reach the airport in time. The price for value ratio is still OK. Well, ... like other travellors ... I also enjoyed the breakfast at the Melia Granada. Many bars and dining options are also nearby. This business trip turned into kind of a vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Olli65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,250)
There are newer reviews for Melia Granada
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 2,252 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2007

Granada is a beautiful town. Most famous for the Alhambra palace, but also the town itself is pretty, with nice shops, restaurants and cafes, especially nice in the evening.

The hotel is fairly central in the city, and about a 30 minute walk to the Alhambra. It is not the nicest Melia I’ve been to, but it’s clean, central and convenient. The front desk is a little chaotic (small and not enough staff).

Tip on the Alhambra: reserve tickets online before going! They only have limited tickets they sell each day, and weekends/summer especially can get sold out days before hand.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marga88ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2007

We were very pleased with our recent stay at the Melia Granada. The hotel is conveniently located for the main sights, shops, bars and restaurants, and not far to walk up to the Alhambra. Our (non-smoking) room overlooked the street and was light and spacious. Although quite noisy with the windows open, it was remarkably quiet with the windows shut. Beds were large and very comfortable, and the only drawback was the rather cramped bathroom. The choice at breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mrs Slow Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Melia Granada for a long weekend in Granada. On check in, we were given a smoking room with windows opening to an interior courtyard housing all the elevators (i.e., no air flow and noisy). I normally don't get too bothered, but the room simply stunk of cigarettes and we had requested a non-smoking room when making the reservation. We asked to be moved to another room and were given an odd-shaped room, also smoking, but facing an outer street. The front desk informed us that there were no other rooms available until the next day. We decided to try out the second room as it was too much of a hassle to move (again) and we were better able to ventilate this room. The room walls were dirty and the shower grout was moldy. All in all, we didn't feel like we were staying at a 4* hotel and certainly didn't feel the service was 4*. We have stayed at many hotels in our travels in Spain, and this one was not as nice as some of the 3* hotels. On the plus side, the location is excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaasema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

The facility is in excellent shape, the lobby and staff were great and the room was large, clean and quiet. Problems mentioned by earlier travelers no longer exist - nothing to complain about.

This is a great choice if you're driving, as they have valet parking available which allows you to drive into the center of town without having to deal with finding parking. They take care of the permit required to be in the city center.

The hotel is located within an easy walk of the Royal Chapel, as well as to Plaza Nueva where you can take the mini-busses to Alhambra, Socromonte or Albaicín. Lots of shopping and dining nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PVCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2007

My husband and I just returned from a three night stay at the Melia Granada. The hotel is in great condition...no problems with the revolving door or elevator noted in other reviews. Our room was beautifully decorated and had a nice large bathroom. The hotel staff are very friendly and speak English which was helpful for us. They also provide a valet parking service for a charge that's a little expensive.

The location of the hotel is ideal - very easy to get to by car if you are driving. While we were exploring the city we saw some of the other hotels we had considered staying in and they were on VERY narrow streets and would have been extremely difficult to reach! We were very pleased with our choice once we saw how close we were to all the sights. Great restaurants and bars just around the corner from the hotel. Maybe a 5-10 minute walk to Plaza Nueva. We even did the walk up to the Alhambra twice and its not so bad especially if you go before it gets too hot.

The only complaint that we had with this hotel is that the Expedia website listed fitness equipment under the property amenities however there wasn't any. I don't know if this is the hotel's mistake or Expedia's. However, there is a fantastic gym nearby with a nice outdoor pool for 12 euros a day.

One tip - while in Granada if you have time make a trip to the mountains. You can take a gondola/chair lift up most of the way and then have a nice walk up to the summit of Pico Veleta. Amazing views and one of the highlights of our two weeks in Spain.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jlb4x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2007

We stayed here for a week in February 2007. Its a good hotel in an excellent location with a good breakfast and nice rooms. BUT if you stay in a room at the back right hand corner of the hotel you will discover that there is a bottle bank in the square outside into which the bars around the square will tip bottles at regular intervals into the small hours. Then as a highlight of the night a bin lorry will arrive during the night to empty the bottle bank itself - a truly shattering noise!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jazzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
NH Granada Centro
NH Granada Centro
#24 of 122 in Granada
1,310 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Suites Gran Via 44
Suites Gran Via 44
#11 of 122 in Granada
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,256 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,198 reviews
Hotel Carmen Granada
#43 of 122 in Granada
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Granada

Address: Angel Ganivet, 7, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Granada
#7 Business Hotel in Granada
#12 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#36 Family Hotel in Granada
#40 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £70 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Granada is located in the heart of the city of Granada, near the cathedral, Calle Navas, Alcaiceria, the Puerta Real, Calle Elvira, Plaza Nueva, Realejo, Paseo de los Tristes, the Science Park and the Congress Centre.Its strategic location in the city centre, personalised service and excellent facilities make it the perfect choice for your visit to Granada.Neat the hotel, you can visit exclusive boutiques and fashion houses. Plus nearby there is a one of the city’s main leisure and entertainment areas with numerous tapas bars and restaurants. Meliá Granada is also just a short distance from the most trendy nightspots and major shopping streets such as Reyes Católicos, Recogidas or Mesones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Granada Hotel Granada
Sol Melia Granada
Granada Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing