We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,640)
Filter reviews
2,640 results
Traveller rating
893
1,108
422
156
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
893
1,108
422
156
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location premium room central location family room per day calle navas tapas car park lovely city alhambra bus bars and restaurants easy walking distance reception staff quiet street public parking very nice hotel the air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
606 - 611 of 2,640 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2007

Granada is a beautiful town. Most famous for the Alhambra palace, but also the town itself is pretty, with nice shops, restaurants and cafes, especially nice in the evening.

The hotel is fairly central in the city, and about a 30 minute walk to the Alhambra. It is not the nicest Melia I’ve been to, but it’s clean, central and convenient. The front desk is a little chaotic (small and not enough staff).

Tip on the Alhambra: reserve tickets online before going! They only have limited tickets they sell each day, and weekends/summer especially can get sold out days before hand.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marga88ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2007

We were very pleased with our recent stay at the Melia Granada. The hotel is conveniently located for the main sights, shops, bars and restaurants, and not far to walk up to the Alhambra. Our (non-smoking) room overlooked the street and was light and spacious. Although quite noisy with the windows open, it was remarkably quiet with the windows shut. Beds were large and very comfortable, and the only drawback was the rather cramped bathroom. The choice at breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MrsSlowDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Melia Granada for a long weekend in Granada. On check in, we were given a smoking room with windows opening to an interior courtyard housing all the elevators (i.e., no air flow and noisy). I normally don't get too bothered, but the room simply stunk of cigarettes and we had requested a non-smoking room when making the reservation. We asked to be moved to another room and were given an odd-shaped room, also smoking, but facing an outer street. The front desk informed us that there were no other rooms available until the next day. We decided to try out the second room as it was too much of a hassle to move (again) and we were better able to ventilate this room. The room walls were dirty and the shower grout was moldy. All in all, we didn't feel like we were staying at a 4* hotel and certainly didn't feel the service was 4*. We have stayed at many hotels in our travels in Spain, and this one was not as nice as some of the 3* hotels. On the plus side, the location is excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaasema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

The facility is in excellent shape, the lobby and staff were great and the room was large, clean and quiet. Problems mentioned by earlier travelers no longer exist - nothing to complain about.

This is a great choice if you're driving, as they have valet parking available which allows you to drive into the center of town without having to deal with finding parking. They take care of the permit required to be in the city center.

The hotel is located within an easy walk of the Royal Chapel, as well as to Plaza Nueva where you can take the mini-busses to Alhambra, Socromonte or Albaicín. Lots of shopping and dining nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PVCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2007

My husband and I just returned from a three night stay at the Melia Granada. The hotel is in great condition...no problems with the revolving door or elevator noted in other reviews. Our room was beautifully decorated and had a nice large bathroom. The hotel staff are very friendly and speak English which was helpful for us. They also provide a valet parking service for a charge that's a little expensive.

The location of the hotel is ideal - very easy to get to by car if you are driving. While we were exploring the city we saw some of the other hotels we had considered staying in and they were on VERY narrow streets and would have been extremely difficult to reach! We were very pleased with our choice once we saw how close we were to all the sights. Great restaurants and bars just around the corner from the hotel. Maybe a 5-10 minute walk to Plaza Nueva. We even did the walk up to the Alhambra twice and its not so bad especially if you go before it gets too hot.

The only complaint that we had with this hotel is that the Expedia website listed fitness equipment under the property amenities however there wasn't any. I don't know if this is the hotel's mistake or Expedia's. However, there is a fantastic gym nearby with a nice outdoor pool for 12 euros a day.

One tip - while in Granada if you have time make a trip to the mountains. You can take a gondola/chair lift up most of the way and then have a nice walk up to the summit of Pico Veleta. Amazing views and one of the highlights of our two weeks in Spain.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jlb4x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews