We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,603)
Filter reviews
2,604 results
Traveller rating
880
1,096
418
153
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
880
1,096
418
153
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationpremium roomcentral locationfamily roomper daycalle navastapascar parklovely cityalhambra busbars and restaurantseasy walking distancereception staffquiet streetpublic parkingvery nice hotelthe air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
594 - 599 of 2,604 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2008

Family of 4 stayed here in Jan 2008 for 2 nights on an internet deal from Melia. Previously stayed at the chain's Gran Fenix in Madrid.

Followed ViaMichelin website directions and found Hotel relatively easy, however, a potential nightmare without directions.
1st job was to drop off car at the Rail Station so have no comment about parking. Concierge gave good directions to Station which we followed perfectly until alomost the end. Noted that when the staff deliberated over directions they seemed to raise the fact that all the streets (being a tourist zone) are under close circuit TV and you can get booked if you just driving around after getting to the Hotel. Your number plate is targetted.

This is a tourist hotel and doesn't try to be anything different. Approached on that basis you probably will find it good value.
One of the 2 rooms was not very good. Bathroom was best described as a cubicle ensuite with a vanity the size of 1 single basin. Noise from hallway and lifts was exceptional. Big drawback was the Hotel heating which you couldn't seem to turn down or off. Our window faced an airshaft (which I personally think allows for a quieter night) so we left the window open - until someone checked in at around 1.30am and proceeded to yell the house down.

Ate in Hotel Restaurant both nights and had a great Paella. Other meals were well received. Breakfast was excellent. Internet connection was reasonable. Staff were excellent.

Reason for going to Granada is the same for most - La Alhambra. Can't find much to favourably offer Granada in comparison to Segovia, Avila, Toledo etc other than Alhambra. Dropping the car off and getting lost and walking back to hotel enabled me to see other parts of the town. It ain't pretty. Although night time and lighting hides its uglier side. On check out we had seen enough of Granada and were reasonably happy to be leaving.

Based on the deal we got and a walk past some of the other hotels would lead me to recommend this Hotel to other families - only if you get it on a good deal. If you don't like the first room you get ask for another (assuming they're not booked out).

Had coffee and tea break at the Parador (undergoing rebuild/renovations). It looked to be the benchmark for this town.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TimK-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2007

We got this hotel because Granada was mostly filled over the Christmas
-New Year's Holiday. The management is consistently unhelpful. They would not even give us a receipt for our stay since we booked online. They did not even have a local tourist brochure. Even for a four-star hotel, the beds were uncomfortable and the TV worked poorly. But the worst was the very noisy plumbing. The toilet kept going for a least 15 minutes every flush. We compare this chain to NH, which was much superior, at least in both Cartagena and Valencia.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank urtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2007

Stayed at the Melia Granada on a short business trip in October 07. The staff was very nice. I got a room on the executive floor (no extra costs) with an nice and spacious balcony from where you could see the Sierra Nevada. The rooms are not too big, but conveniently designed, so nothing to complain about. The location of the hotel is great. Everything is accessible within walking distance. When I was late to catch up my flight on the day I was leaving, the staff was very helpful to arrange a taxi to reach the airport in time. The price for value ratio is still OK. Well, ... like other travellors ... I also enjoyed the breakfast at the Melia Granada. Many bars and dining options are also nearby. This business trip turned into kind of a vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Olli65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2007

Granada is a beautiful town. Most famous for the Alhambra palace, but also the town itself is pretty, with nice shops, restaurants and cafes, especially nice in the evening.

The hotel is fairly central in the city, and about a 30 minute walk to the Alhambra. It is not the nicest Melia I’ve been to, but it’s clean, central and convenient. The front desk is a little chaotic (small and not enough staff).

Tip on the Alhambra: reserve tickets online before going! They only have limited tickets they sell each day, and weekends/summer especially can get sold out days before hand.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marga88ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2007

We were very pleased with our recent stay at the Melia Granada. The hotel is conveniently located for the main sights, shops, bars and restaurants, and not far to walk up to the Alhambra. Our (non-smoking) room overlooked the street and was light and spacious. Although quite noisy with the windows open, it was remarkably quiet with the windows shut. Beds were large and very comfortable, and the only drawback was the rather cramped bathroom. The choice at breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MrsSlowDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews