We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”
Review of Melia Granada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Granada
Ranked #29 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bronx, New York
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I did a two day excursion in Granada. This was during - and completely unrelated - the town's Easter-week festivities. The main street was closed for through traffic due to the processions which occurred nightly. This did not negatively impact our stay at all.

We checked in with the rudest host I have ever come across. It appeared that he wanted little to do with speaking to us, pushed us along with no line behind us, and was just extremely unpleasant. For a place that advertises it's 4-Star Trip Advisor rating, maybe the person could have been a bit more welcoming to tourists.

The room was basic, nothing special. The bed was very low to the floor - I found that very odd. The toilet did not look like it had been cleaned (which is kind of disgusting). My wife had lost an earring in the room one day before breakfast. I had went back to the room and started checking the floor. I found more than I could handle (Advil tablets which we did not use, bugs crawling around, very disgusting things). All that had to be done was to run a vacuum - not sure why this was such a difficult thing to do.

Another issue is that the hotel had two elevators. It just isn't enough and we routinely had to wait 10+ minutes for an empty one to become available. The doors also closed if anyone inside the elevator even flinched. It was extremely difficult to handle during the high volume times during the day.

If we did more than two short nights of our vacation here, I would have been very disappointed.

Positives about the hotel are the location to a major strip of cafe's, the bar in the hotel was probably the best I have ever seen and stayed open past 1am (with very attentive serves), and the breakfast setup was pretty impressive.

Unfortunately, I could not get past the rudeness of the employee who checked us in or the disgusting things I found within the room.

Room Tip: Ask for one that they actually clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    929
    370
    129
    47
See reviews for
508
1,003
62
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights while visiting our daughter,she is studying abroad. This hotel was in an excellent location, with in walking distance to all the sites and the mainstream of downtown Granada. This is a very busy area of the city, best dining, great shopping and close to the Plaza Nueva. The hotel is very new, totally renovated with a high tech feel, large bath, well appointed room with a balcony. Also I can not leave out the great value, $70 USD, and the staff was wonderful and spoke English.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The hotel was very comfortable - although the rooms booked were not available the substitutes were fine as the double beds were large. We had booked singles as cannot abide tiny double beds! the hotel is quiet and comfortable and not too large. Everything in this beautiful city was within walking distance and we were 4 o.a.p's! The fabulous breakfasts set us up for the day but we still found room for trying out numerous tapas bars. Granada is a wonderful compact city and so beautiful...we had two days which was not enough and will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agia Paraskevi, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Average-sized room and bathroom, free safety box, outrageously high parking fees (€20,00 per night) to a nearby subterranean (and dangerous) parking facility that cooperates with the hotel. Reception personnel was cold and snub-nosed, quite helpful but only if they cannot avoid it, e.g. if you are the only customer around. Our feelings regarding the reception were even worst during the night of our arrival: we noticed that the reception clerk was scanning our passports through an unknown device and when we told him to stop right now and tell us what he was doing, he simply ignored us and continued on, murmuring ''Policia". After he finished, he told us that the procedure is mandatory by the police but failed to provide any relevant document, bulletin or even a written warning on the reception area. For any security conscious person, this action reveals huge risk for the safety not only of his/her accounts but of his/her personal safety as well. We had to lodge a complaint to the EU authorities in Brussels to obtain a minimum legal cover for possible consequences from this incident.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giota22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia-Granada-Gex, RECEPCION at Melia Granada, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We ar very sorry if during your stay with us tou could find some inconvenience, Do not hesitate that we will follow your rematk.

Thank You.

CARLOS MORA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Very centrally located close to all amenities, local transport, Alhambra and many other attractions. Surrounded by restaurants. The restaurant was amazingly decorated and the breakfast was amazing containing all the healthy stuffs you need to start your day. If you want good tea you should ask specifically for English breakfast tea. The room was spacious and the bathroom was amazing. The only drawback was the room we had was noisy. There was singing and dancing all the day till early hours of the morning outside which interrupted our sleep. Also the airconditioning was producing heat only and not cold air so not suitable for the current weather

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiphip9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia-Granada-Gex, RECEPCION at Melia Granada, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It has been very kind of you to let us know about your experience in our hotel and that You for taking the time to write yours comments.

CARLOS MORA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

When it comes to hotels while in Spain, remember Melia. We stayed in four of their hotels during our Spain tour and found all of them in great locations. They also have very friendly staff, comfortable rooms, and excellent breakfast buffets. When in doubt, remember a hotel with a great track record.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntflady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia-Granada-Gex, RECEPCIONISTA at Melia Granada, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank You for reporting us ypur experience after your las stay in Melia! It is a real honor to know that You enjoyed it.

Many Thanks.

CARLOS MORA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Rooms are compact. Opted for a room with terrace but weather wet. Some noise outside in the early hours due to bars in the street below. Breakfast an excellent buffet. Just had Junior suite at the Melia Sierra Nevada so our room here feels small. No tea and coffee in room, Car park is the public car park next door which is 20e per night! Cenrally located which is a must if it's your first visit to Granada. Lots of tour groups.

Room Tip: In the summer go for terrace room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fsnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia-Granada-Gex, RECEPCIONISTA at Melia Granada, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Fsnet,

We are really sorry to learn that we have not reached your expectations during your last stay.

CARLOS MORA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
NH Granada Centro
NH Granada Centro
#25 of 122 in Granada
1,268 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Suites Gran Via 44
Suites Gran Via 44
#11 of 122 in Granada
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,219 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,159 reviews
Vincci Albayzin
#26 of 122 in Granada
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Granada

Property: Melia Granada
Address: Angel Ganivet, 7, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Granada
#7 Business Hotel in Granada
#12 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#36 Family Hotel in Granada
#40 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Granada is located in the heart of the city of Granada, near the cathedral, Calle Navas, Alcaiceria, the Puerta Real, Calle Elvira, Plaza Nueva, Realejo, Paseo de los Tristes, the Science Park and the Congress Centre.Its strategic location in the city centre, personalised service and excellent facilities make it the perfect choice for your visit to Granada.Neat the hotel, you can visit exclusive boutiques and fashion houses. Plus nearby there is a one of the city’s main leisure and entertainment areas with numerous tapas bars and restaurants. Meliá Granada is also just a short distance from the most trendy nightspots and major shopping streets such as Reyes Católicos, Recogidas or Mesones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Granada Hotel Granada
Sol Melia Granada
Granada Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing