We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,671)
Filter reviews
2,671 results
Traveller rating
912
1,114
424
160
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
912
1,114
424
160
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location premium room family room central location per day calle navas tapas car park lovely city alhambra bus bars and restaurants easy walking distance reception staff quiet street public parking very nice hotel the air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
602 - 607 of 2,671 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We spent a long weekend in Granada in March, as I'd not been there for almost 30 years. The city has changed a bit, but is still a lovely place to visit. We booked the Melia hotel online, as we had received a promotional rate invitation from the hotel chain, and at around 60 Euros a night (room only) we thought that was pretty good for a 4* hotel!

The location is very good - about 10 mins walk to the Cathederal, and around 20 mins walk to the Alhambra (depending on how fast you take the hill!). Granada can get very busy and very noisy, but the Melia is on a side street that is a little way off the main streets, and is therefore a lot quieter. You don't really pick this hotel for the view, although you could see the snow-capped Sierra Nevada from our window if you leant out far enough!

First impressions were very good; a spacious reception area with plenty of comfortable seats. Check-in was painless, and we discovered that if you have booked room-only, but you have an MAS rewards card (the card for the Melia group), you get two breakfasts for the price of one - handy to know!

The room was spacious, clean, and well appointed. Pretty much everything you need, really! The only thing that we could have done with was tea/coffee making facilities, but that was about all. Depending on how you get there, you also need to know that the hotel does not have its own car park, but there is public parking nearby, and the hotel also operate a system for 18 Euros per day where they will take the car and park it, and bring it back when you need it.

Although the hotel is popular for business meetings, we never felt that it was crowded, and the bar area was spacious enough to lose yourself in.

All in all, an excellent base for exploring this lovely city.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soulsease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Great hotel. No complaints at all. And good internet rates.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank ProfessorCalculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2008

My husband and I just returned from Granada. I spent a lot of time researching hotels. We were visiting our daughter who is in a study abroad program and is attending the University of Granada. We wanted to be in a convenient location and I knew that noise would be an issue. My criteria was that the room be airconditioned so we could close the window at night. We paid over $200 US dollars per night for a "deluxe" room. After the first night, we realized that the room did not cool off when the AC was turned on. It was so noisy until 3:00 a.m. that we had to shut the window. When we asked about the AC at the front desk, we were told that the hotel did not have the airconditioning turned on yet. It wouldn't happen until May. The hall way and lobby were airconditioned and our room was very hot during the day because it was on the sunny side of the building.

Their web site advertised that they have airconditioning. This is very misleading and it should note when it would be turned on. I was very disappointed by the attitude of the staff. They didn't care that we were uncomfortable.

The bathroom was spotless and it was a nice room; small by American hotel standards. My husband and I had to sleep with the window open and wear ear plugs.

I would not choose this hotel if we visit Granada again.

Sue from Massachusetts, USA

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveler2346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2008

While the property is well located and the lobby is nice, we found the staff to be very dismissive, self-important and unhelpful. Our check-in was long, the lobby staff were unable to help with restaurant reservations, and the bellman was positively depressing - which was a problem because he was everywhere. Lines at the counter were inevitably long, the staff harried and short. Our room was uninspiried, and internet service came with a fee. We'd look for another hotel in future stays.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2008

The Melia Granada isn't the best in the chain, but the hotel is charming and the small rooms are comfortable. The hotel is about a five minute's walk to the Cathedral and is convenient to a variety of shops and restaurants. It sits in an upscale shopping area with very good clothing stores to both the right and left.

The lobby is small, but has a nice bar and a good restaurant. The corridors are narrow and intricate making the rooms difficult to locate. My second floor room was small, but had interesting architectural details in terms of moldings, pilasters, and cornices. There was an interesting plaster classical medalion in a gilt frame above the bed and well-framed classical prints and mirrors. Carpet and draperies were in keeping with blue/buff motif and were clean and easy on the eyes.

There was a desk with TV, two standard European beds, and an easy chair. The TV was hard to figure out; finally turned it on using the button on the TV itself and then channel selection from the remote and it worked like a charm. Street noise was more than usual because of the lower floor. They pick up the trash quite early here and conversations from pedestrians carries through to the rooms. The bath was surprisingly large with a small marble topped vanity, tub and shower, toilet and sitz/bidet.

The hotel is serviced by two elevators which were a bit slow, but were housed in a glass elevator shaft that offered a view of the small court/shaft. Staff was friendly and bi-lingual and the restaurant was good and not that expensive. There is a wonderful outdoor churros/hot chocolate stand about a block away.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews