We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy but reasonably central”
Review of Melia Granada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Granada
Ranked #29 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 May 2009

First the good things: the street is well known and reasonably easy to find. Parking is available in an adjacent lot for 19E per night. You can walk to the main bus stop area and catch a bus to the Alhambra or other places. And prices are reasonable. The less thrilling parts: the room is modest in size and smelled of smoke though I specifically requested nonsmoking; when I opened the window, there was so much noise outside I really couldn't sleep. It is across the street from an internet cafe/pool hall and when I returned from the Alhambra around midnight there were some fairly unsavory characters about. The staff isn't very knowledgdable about things like public transportation to the Alhambra, indicating that buses ran every five minutes (more like every half hour) and that they would run until closing time (closing time is 12:00 and buses ran until 11:00). Thus, I was stuck alone hoping a taxi would come by. Also, the staff was fairly unfriendly at checkin - making me wait while they did some paperwork without even acknowledging my presence. I would only recommend this hotel if you got a VERY good price.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skimeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 2,357 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2009

The hotel itself is worthy of the 4 stars, but I'd booked a premium room on the top floor and was told by the receptionist that it was one for the best rooms in the hotel. Well, it was certainly very spacious and apart from the cracks in the wall and the ripped curtains (!) there's not much else I could fault. However, I'd expect more for one of the best rooms in a 4 star + hotel.
The other problem we had was that since it had been cold the week before the air conditioning wasn't connected. When we arrived it was 30º and since the room was on the top floor, we started sweating after walking in the door. About 2 minutes after phoning reception (where they were very apologetic), the maintenance man came up to try and fix it but explained that there was nothing he could do.
Breakfast was great with a very varied selection. I discovered before going that if you join this hotel's 'fidelity club' which is free of charge, you don't have to pay for your partner's breakfst and you can check out up until 4pm if there's availability. However, when you book online, remember to just book the room since if you book B&B, they won't refund the second breakfast.
The location of the hotel was perfect. They haven't got a car park, but if you leave them your keys, they'll park the car for you. However, next door there's an underground car park which costs exactly the same (18€) if you prefer not to give up your keys.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We spent a long weekend in Granada in March, as I'd not been there for almost 30 years. The city has changed a bit, but is still a lovely place to visit. We booked the Melia hotel online, as we had received a promotional rate invitation from the hotel chain, and at around 60 Euros a night (room only) we thought that was pretty good for a 4* hotel!

The location is very good - about 10 mins walk to the Cathederal, and around 20 mins walk to the Alhambra (depending on how fast you take the hill!). Granada can get very busy and very noisy, but the Melia is on a side street that is a little way off the main streets, and is therefore a lot quieter. You don't really pick this hotel for the view, although you could see the snow-capped Sierra Nevada from our window if you leant out far enough!

First impressions were very good; a spacious reception area with plenty of comfortable seats. Check-in was painless, and we discovered that if you have booked room-only, but you have an MAS rewards card (the card for the Melia group), you get two breakfasts for the price of one - handy to know!

The room was spacious, clean, and well appointed. Pretty much everything you need, really! The only thing that we could have done with was tea/coffee making facilities, but that was about all. Depending on how you get there, you also need to know that the hotel does not have its own car park, but there is public parking nearby, and the hotel also operate a system for 18 Euros per day where they will take the car and park it, and bring it back when you need it.

Although the hotel is popular for business meetings, we never felt that it was crowded, and the bar area was spacious enough to lose yourself in.

All in all, an excellent base for exploring this lovely city.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soulsease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Great hotel. No complaints at all. And good internet rates.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank ProfessorCalculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2008

My husband and I just returned from Granada. I spent a lot of time researching hotels. We were visiting our daughter who is in a study abroad program and is attending the University of Granada. We wanted to be in a convenient location and I knew that noise would be an issue. My criteria was that the room be airconditioned so we could close the window at night. We paid over $200 US dollars per night for a "deluxe" room. After the first night, we realized that the room did not cool off when the AC was turned on. It was so noisy until 3:00 a.m. that we had to shut the window. When we asked about the AC at the front desk, we were told that the hotel did not have the airconditioning turned on yet. It wouldn't happen until May. The hall way and lobby were airconditioned and our room was very hot during the day because it was on the sunny side of the building.

Their web site advertised that they have airconditioning. This is very misleading and it should note when it would be turned on. I was very disappointed by the attitude of the staff. They didn't care that we were uncomfortable.

The bathroom was spotless and it was a nice room; small by American hotel standards. My husband and I had to sleep with the window open and wear ear plugs.

I would not choose this hotel if we visit Granada again.

Sue from Massachusetts, USA

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveler2346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2008

While the property is well located and the lobby is nice, we found the staff to be very dismissive, self-important and unhelpful. Our check-in was long, the lobby staff were unable to help with restaurant reservations, and the bellman was positively depressing - which was a problem because he was everywhere. Lines at the counter were inevitably long, the staff harried and short. Our room was uninspiried, and internet service came with a fee. We'd look for another hotel in future stays.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2008

The Melia Granada isn't the best in the chain, but the hotel is charming and the small rooms are comfortable. The hotel is about a five minute's walk to the Cathedral and is convenient to a variety of shops and restaurants. It sits in an upscale shopping area with very good clothing stores to both the right and left.

The lobby is small, but has a nice bar and a good restaurant. The corridors are narrow and intricate making the rooms difficult to locate. My second floor room was small, but had interesting architectural details in terms of moldings, pilasters, and cornices. There was an interesting plaster classical medalion in a gilt frame above the bed and well-framed classical prints and mirrors. Carpet and draperies were in keeping with blue/buff motif and were clean and easy on the eyes.

There was a desk with TV, two standard European beds, and an easy chair. The TV was hard to figure out; finally turned it on using the button on the TV itself and then channel selection from the remote and it worked like a charm. Street noise was more than usual because of the lower floor. They pick up the trash quite early here and conversations from pedestrians carries through to the rooms. The bath was surprisingly large with a small marble topped vanity, tub and shower, toilet and sitz/bidet.

The hotel is serviced by two elevators which were a bit slow, but were housed in a glass elevator shaft that offered a view of the small court/shaft. Staff was friendly and bi-lingual and the restaurant was good and not that expensive. There is a wonderful outdoor churros/hot chocolate stand about a block away.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,235 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
NH Granada Centro
NH Granada Centro
#24 of 122 in Granada
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 122 in Granada
1,612 reviews
Vincci Albayzin
#25 of 122 in Granada
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Granada

Address: Angel Ganivet, 7, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Granada
#7 Business Hotel in Granada
#13 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#36 Family Hotel in Granada
#40 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £59 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Granada is located in the heart of the city of Granada, near the cathedral, Calle Navas, Alcaiceria, the Puerta Real, Calle Elvira, Plaza Nueva, Realejo, Paseo de los Tristes, the Science Park and the Congress Centre.Its strategic location in the city centre, personalised service and excellent facilities make it the perfect choice for your visit to Granada.Neat the hotel, you can visit exclusive boutiques and fashion houses. Plus nearby there is a one of the city’s main leisure and entertainment areas with numerous tapas bars and restaurants. Meliá Granada is also just a short distance from the most trendy nightspots and major shopping streets such as Reyes Católicos, Recogidas or Mesones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Granada Hotel Granada
Sol Melia Granada
Granada Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing