We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Barcelo Carmen Granada
Ranked #45 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The hotel is centrally located in a busy street but the good soundproofing and the comfortable bed meant we had two excellent nights' sleep. The hotel provides valet parking, which is a plus. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, the breakfast started the day off well and the room was very clean and well supplied with good-quality toiletries. Shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance but to visit the Alhambra we'd advise getting a bus or taxi - the tourist information staff told us it was a 25 minute walk but it was more like 40 minutes!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire_walker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

There were two good things about this hotel - the breakfast and the location. The hotel is tired and in need of some refurbishment. Our room was dingy and dark with damaged furniture and fittings. Noise carried from room to room and the room doors clanged sending 'prison' echoes along the corridors. The staff were not very welcoming although the chamber maids and restaurant staff were excellent. The hotel boasts a pool - it holds 8 people maximum and is impossible to swim in, but the views from the roof terrace is why I say the location is good.

Overall we have stayed in hotels at half the price with good locations that put this hotel to shame.

Room Tip: Is there one?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tozilch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Would recommend booking in advance.
Very central four star hotel.
Great shopping location!
Excellent professional, friendly staff.
Rooms spacious, clean & very comfortable with luxury toiletries supplied.
Enhanced our trip to Granada.

Room Tip: It's best if you ask for a room at the rear of the hotel as rooms located at the front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great Hotel
Amazing lively central location - with everything in walking distance from bars and resteaurants to all the major sites.
Fell in love with this city, 2 day / one night stay during our south spain road trip - wished we could have stayed here for a week.
amazing people, place everything about it - it had a special feel, would love to live here type of feeling!
Easily one of the best cities ever visited if not the best.
as for the hotel - perfect - breakfast not great - rooms modern and adequate - so no complaints whatsoever - it was the location that was unbelievable!

had a balcony to look over the top of the city and down on the main busy street - make sure you get a high floor for this view

Room Tip: high floor front facing - to make best use of the balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MominRabbani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel is centrally located just a few minutes walk to Granada's main attractions, including the Cathedral and main square.

The highlight of this hotel is the rooftop bar which overlooks Granada and the Alhambra Palace which is quite a sight both during the day and in the evening whilst sipping a cocktail...

The staff at the bar on the rooftop and in the restaurant were good, whereas our experience of the staff on reception were a little indifferent on the occasions we spoke to them.

The room we stayed in was generally of a good standard but looked out directly onto a wall which made the room slightly dark even at midday.

Breakfast was good, a nice selection of food (even Churros! which are quite popular in this part of Spain) with well made fresh Spanish coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeakTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hotel Carmen is located about a 2 minute walk from the main Square of Granada. The staff were very helpful and spoke English. One of their staff members walked us down the road and helped us purchase tickets to the Alhambra which was above and beyond what they are required to do. Parking is easy as you park right outside the hotel in the space provided and a valet parks your car. The rooms were modern and very comfortable. The restaurant which we had breakfast at daily is also terrific. This hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the Alhambra. Overall this Hotel was great and Granada the town is a must see for the younger traveller as the night life is vibrant. 5 beers and a pizza for €4.90...don't mind if I do.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JWQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We picked this hotel for the rooftop pool for our tween kids, which was terrific.. The hotel itself is basic, not tourist-focussed, but perfectly adequate. The breakfast, which was included in our room rate, was excellent, with a lot of variety. The staff was helpful, although my impression was that there was a lower level of English fluency than we experienced elsewhere in Spain. The rooms and public spaces are utilitarian, but clean. We were able to walk to the cathedral and older part of town quickly.

Room Tip: Many rooms seem to face on an airshaft, not outside. if you want a view specify this when making a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKMomNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#28 of 122 in Granada
2,328 reviews
Zaidín - Vergeles
Saray Hotel
Saray Hotel
#38 of 122 in Granada
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vincci Albayzin
#27 of 122 in Granada
1,092 reviews
Allegro Granada
#39 of 122 in Granada
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelo Carmen Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelo Carmen Granada

Address: Acera del Darro 62 | In the Heart of Granada, Just in Front of "El Corte Ingles", 18005 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £43 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Barcelo Carmen Granada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Barceló Carmen is one of de most classical hotels of Granada which is located in a privileged place in the city center (in front of El Corte Ingles Store), nearby the most important monuments like the cathedral (400m), the Alhambra (15 min walking) and the Granada Congress & Exhibition centre (500m). With 222 modern rooms entirely renovated and equipped in 2011 the hotel is a perfect place for business trips and family holidays. The rooms are distributed in Standard, Superior, Family, Deluxe and Junior Suites. Some of them with terrace and view to the Alhambra.. The Hotel Barceló Carmen Granada offers exclusive solutions for M.I.C.E. Meeting rooms fully equipped for every kind of events. The perfect position of Hotel Barceló Carmen Granada in the city center of Granada nearby the monumental and commercial center makes it a very special place for all kind of your events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Barcelo Carmen Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing