We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Barcelo Carmen Granada
Nearby Hotels
Alhambra Palace Hotel(Granada)
US$303
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Abadia Hotel Granada(Granada)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Saray Hotel(Granada)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Room Mate Leo(Granada)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$155
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Dauro Granada(Granada)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$140
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Senator Granada Spa Hotel(Granada)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Granada Five Senses Rooms & Suites(Granada)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Suites Gran Via 44(Granada)
US$155
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Melia Granada(Granada)
US$215
US$210
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,652)
Filter reviews
1,652 results
Traveller rating
453
684
327
126
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
684
327
126
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop pooldepartment storeopposite el corte inglessmall poolcentral locationair conbreakfast buffetreception stafftwo nightscar parkingeasy walking distanceone night staytapascomfortable bedslovely hotelthe heart of the citymain attractions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 1,652 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Booked 2 rooms in this hotel for 2 nights.
At the reception the receptionist offered us a suite in stead of our booked 2 separate rooms: overbooking! We went up and saw a family room in stead of a suite and refused the offer. Then they sent us to the Monte Carlo Hotel, just 100 metres down the street for the first night. This hotel can be called basic at the most, more a 19th century hotel, but to compensate the difference in comfort, the receptionist offered us a free parking during our 2 days and a reduction on the first night. Manager: invisible...

The morning after our night in the " hotel next door " we took breakfast at the Carmen hotel, which was very good. Our rooms were ready by the time we came back from our city trip ( 6 pm ). Rooms were clean and large, worth the price.
Second night: good bed in a good room and a good breakfast.
We left on Monday and apparently there was a whole new crew at the reception desk. Remarkable: the English of a 4-star hotel reception in a city that lives off tourists is terrible, and that is an understatement. Or maybe they put only ( more or less ) English speaking receptionists at the desk during the weekend?
We got the parking for free as promised, but the reduction for our first night in the 19th century hotel was and could not be put on the bill.
" I know notting from weekend, I start work today ", was the answer of the " hotel receptionist ". Manager: Invisible... Or maybe it was another one too on Monday?
We got our car back after looking for the exit ourselves and a very rude " goodbye " from the Monday "receptionist". After that, we saw that the car was damaged at the back bumper while it was parked in the garage, we saw the damage at the wall behind it, but could not get back into the hotel!

Overbooking, replacement is a 19th century hotel, promised reduction not received, one language staff, car damage, worst check-out ever: NEVER again.

One more thing: I tried in French, German, Dutch and Russian after not being understood in English but the only answer was: " not understand ". How can you give service to your customers if you don't understand what they are asking for?

Room Tip: Take your Spanish dictionnary!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rattenpakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The reception area looked good, but when you get out of the lift to get to your room what a difference. Our room was on the first floor down a dark corridor and down an even narrower and darker corridor. The room was dark and dingy. We switched on all the lights but it never got light - what wattage are the bulbs for goodness sake. I drew back the curtains to see the view. The window was frosted so it had to be opened before we could see anything. We wish we hadn't because all there was to see was a chimney for air conditioning or an extractor fan in a very small grey square area. No natural light came in.

The room was in need of refurbishment. It was grubby, the skirting boards were broken with dirt for about 20 cm above them and chipped floor tiles. The bathroom needed an upgrade too, the knob to activate the shower was broken, it all looked so shabby.

There was a safe in the small wardrobe but you had to pay 3 euros a night for it and the only way to see how to work it was with a torch as the light was so bad.

The 'restaurant' for breakfast was horrid. More like a school canteen than a 4* hotel. It was crowded and uninviting. The staff were offhand, the coffee was awful and I just didn't fancy eating there.

The reception staff were unfriendly. When we asked for a map they just shrugged their shoulders and said they didn't have one

Had we been staying longer than two nights we would have asked to be moved but all I wanted was the nightmare of that hotel to be over.

Our room and the restaurant were not what I expect in a 4* hotel. I suppose they get away with it because people usually go on short stays and don't bother to complain.

Room Tip: Ask to have a look at the room before you accept it
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Just had two nights here, stayed in a suite which was very nice with a lovely large terrace. The rooms were lovely, clean and spacious. As usual, the tea/coffee making facility was missing, a real disappointing aspect of the Spanish 4 star system.
The lobby is welcoming and thge reception staff were acceptable, not great but the other staff in the bar and restaurant compensated. The bar was simple and lacked ambiance probably due to an absence of people and the more salubrious Bizet bar was never open. The restaurant was embarrassing. A lack of diners and a huge waste of prepared food. It was shameful to see so much waste. We had a set meal on the first night which was okay, but we were two amongst 8 diners in total. The breakfast is excellent for cold buffet, not too good for badly scrambled eggs and bacon with gristle.
Access to the hotel from the city is very good and the transport services are excellent. We would go back but only via a special reduced deal and would consider alternatives for food and the ambiance factor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyshogun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have just had two nights in this hotel. The hotel is very well centrally located with good car-parking facilities. The hotel is very nice clean and well staffed who are very professional and helpful. The bedroom was quite a good size as was the bathroom. The room and hotel was very clean and had a good quantity of body cleaning products etc. The Breakfast Buffet was very very good with numerous optional foods including hot food. We did not sample any evening meals, but just a short distance from the hotel are several Restaurants and Bars including a decent sized Shopping area. Very close are also several regular bus and taxi services.
Would I stay here again? - Yes

Room Tip: The room we had was 553
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alant3898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were given in the noisiest side of the hotel and on top of that the air conditioning was switched off so couldn't sleep all night, very bad service and unhelpful staff.
After complaining again and again we were moved to the newer side of the hotel, again the air conditioning was good for only one night out of two, I would never want to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KUsman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews