We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carmen Granada
Ranked #43 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Adelaide
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Maybe somewhere else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Easy walk to the Metro and to the shops. The pool closed at 8pm which was a shame as it was still light for hours. The room was dark. breakfast was good and eggs were cooked to order which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaideJanpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    542
    266
    93
    45
See reviews for
304
535
26
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in room 558 on 22nd July after deciding to visit Granada from our base in Malaga - big mistake!! The room was dark, drab and had a fausty smell. Granada was incredibly warm and yet the air conditioning was non existent - poor show!
The roof top pool was nice, although very overcrowded.
I felt very sorry for the barman who was serving on his own, it was incredibly busy, he was really struggling to serve everyone and thus service was poor as a con sequence - surely it needs to be better staffed.
When we went to check out, I expected only to hand over my key given that I had already paid for the room on booking.com, however I was told that the room hadn't been paid. Rather than avoid a scene, I paid AGAIN and was told that if I do get charged twice then give them a call and I would be refunded in full - I am still waiting!! I have phoned the hotel three times and emailed them - as yet I am still out of pocket. The customer service at this hotel is appalling - the location may be good but sadly it has nothing else going for it. My advice is to stay clear! !!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose Ignacio r, Director Comercial at Hotel Carmen Granada, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,

Acusamos recibo de su reclamación y le agradecemos sinceramente sus comentarios acerca de las deficiencias detectadas durante su estancia en nuestro hotel. Los comentarios de todos nuestros clientes son básicos para poder mejorar día a día.

En el hotel Carmen**** intentamos que todos nuestros huéspedes vean cumplidas sus expectativas y lo lamentamos profundamente cuando no lo logramos.
Debido a un pequeño error informático el cobro realizado por anticipado con booking no llego a nuestro programa de gestión, de ahí que le hayamos cobrado a la salida. Una vez comprobado que el cargo estaba hecho con anterioridad hemos procedido a hacer la devolución de la cantidad cobrada de forma errónea.
Estimado cliente queremos expresarle de nuevo nuestras más sinceras disculpas por las molestias causadas y que sepa que sus comentarios nos han ayudado tomar las medidas correctoras necesarias para mejorar nuestros servicios y cumplir así las expectativas de nuestros clientes.

Quedamos a su entera disposición para cualquier otra sugerencia que pueda hacernos.

Reciba un cordial y atento saludo,


Dirección Comercial
Hotel Carmen****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The pictures are deceiving: the rooftop terrace is tiny, and the pool only takes 8 people max. It only opens at lunchtime so forget an early morning swim. The was only one person on duty on the terrace, very harassed and quite unpleasant. We waited ages for service. Check in was quick on the other hand but very cold. Couldn't believe it when reception recommended we reverse 50 m up a busy road to turn into the parking street; only on insisting, did they agree to valet park it for us. Breakfast room is pleasant, buffet selection adequate. Coffee is terrible. Location good for city trip. And for the first time ever in a hotel, we had to pay to use the room safe and return to reception to collect the key.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vacianaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed for one night on the way to Seville. Wonderfully located in the town centre with a small rooftop pool and restaurant terrace with view of the Alhambra.
If you have a car tho' parking is impossible without using their car park (18 euros/day) I didn't mind tho' as they did all the work for me and it made my stay really easy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumistheword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Beautiful city w/ one ugly block consisting of this one hotel w/ Corte Ingles across. Staff was hit or miss and disorganized - couldn't find our reservation (until i pulled out my hard copy) and then a lost item finally made its way back to us after many different stories & run-arounds. Roof top pool is tiny, but refreshing w/ nice views. Breakfast is awfully overpriced (even for little kids). The 1st room they gave us had an opaqued small window facing a lightwell; they kindly switched us the next day facing street, which was loud but better. The rooms are void of warmth, personality or aesthetics; but they are well sized and the bathrooms are large & comfortable. Both rooms had a pretty thick layer of dust underneath beds. Would avoid staying here if i could.

Room Tip: Request a room above 4th floor facing exterior of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liliana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Truly a four- star hotel, it has friendly service, comfortable and elegantly appointed rooms, and a rooftop terrace with a a great bar, restaurant and even a small pool for cooling off after a day of sightseeing. Located on the main street in Granada across department store Corte Ingles, it is also walking distance to many bars, restaurants and shopping. Memorable views of the city and surrounding hills (Sacromonte, Realejo) and partial views of la Alhambra from the terrace. Parking was cumbersome, but the staff is helpful and worked it out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

ideal location to unwind after a busy day sightseeing. Surprisingly contemporary inside with an older look to the exterior. rooms were spotless and spacious enough, roof top was the cherry though, excellent views, small pool but ideal for a cooling dip, nice bar and staff and very reasonably price so over all ideal!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bono's_mate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#29 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Saray Hotel
#34 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Granada Center
Hotel Granada Center
#35 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Vincci Albayzin
#26 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmen Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmen Granada

Property: Hotel Carmen Granada
Address: Acera Darro 62 | In the Heart of Granada, Just in Front of "El Corte Ingles", 18005 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carmen Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Carmen is one of de most classical hotels of Granada which is located in a privileged place in the city center (in front of El Corte Ingles Store), nearby the most important monuments like the cathedral (400m), the Alhambra (15 min walking) and the Granada Congress & Exhibition centre (500m). With 222 modern rooms entirely renovated and equipped in 2011 the hotel is a perfect place for business trips and family holidays. The rooms are distributed in Standard, Family, Premier, Junior Suite and Suite. Some of them with terrace and view to the Alhambra.. The Hotel Carmen offers exclusive solutions for M.I.C.E. Meeting rooms fully equipped for every kind of events. The perfect position of Hotel Carmen in the city center of Granada nearby the monumental and commercial center makes it a very special place for all kind of your events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carmen Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing