We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart, modern hotel in good location”
Review of Vincci Albayzin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vincci Albayzin
Ranked #26 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Smart, modern hotel in good location”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

As others have said, this is a smart modern hotel in a good location 10 minutes stroll to the city centre & about 25mins to the main Alhambra entrance. Breakfast was very good & included cooked to order egg dishes whilst you waited (and was included free on a tripadvisor offer!) We ate once in the hotel restaurant in the evening & this was enjoyable & good value at 18euro for 3 courses-shame we were the only people eating as it lacked atmosphere despite the attractive surroundings. Perhaps more people would have joined us if the 'Menu of the day' had varied as it remained the same during our 4 night stay.

El Corte Ingles is 2mins walk away & includes a good supermarket in the basement for any essentials.

Although we requested a quiet room the first one we were allocated was above the entrance to this & a neighbouring hotels car parks. This resulted in a lot of noise through the night, especially from a reversing bin lorry at 5.30am. We were moved to an inner courtyard room for the remaining 3 nights & this was a lot quieter.

Overall we had an enjoyable stay & would have no hesitatiation in staying here again if we could reserve a courtyard room.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the restaurant courtyard, on 3rd or 4th floors are quieter, although there is no v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mercury28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Albayzin, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Vincci Hotels and for sending us your feedback and opinions. We are pleased to know that our location, breakfast and dinner were all to your liking. Surely, our guest´s satisfaction is our reason to be and what we work for every day in Vincci Hotels.
We regret, though, that you were not entirely pleased with some aspects of your stay and would like to inform you that we will bear very closely in mind your opinions in order to improve our service.
Regarding our restaurant, we would like to clarify that, in addition to our menu, we have available a menu of four different dishes that we change weekly. We repeat, in any case, that we will take note of your suggestions in order to continue improving this aspect and we are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    438
    141
    44
    12
See reviews for
170
603
29
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is our second time in a Vincci hotel, We have been visiting cities in Andalusia and liked the Vincci La Rabida in Seville, which was a traditional old style establishment so thought we would compare it with one of their modern offerings.

Vincci have two hotels in Granada and we plumped for the Albayzin because it had an inclusive parking offer and is also centrally located. Our room looked out onto a tree lined avenue with a tiled central walkway, which the older Spanish people still took their weekend promenade in their Sunday best.

Our room was a standard twin on the 4th floor. It was stylishly furnished with a large en suite, There was not room for a separate table and chair, but it was perfectly adequate,had all the facilities, including a reasonably sized flat screen and was impeccably clean.

We did not use the restaurant for either breakfast or dinner as we prefer to mix with the locals just for the experience. However, the set dinner menu at 18 Euros seemed a good deal particularly when you consider the setting of the restaurant. This is an original brick courtyard, split level with an atrium roof. Other reviewers have commented on how good the breakfast is, so if your hungry - eat in.

The reception staff, were dignified, efficient and friendly. Once they had dealt with the formalities we found them helpful with recommendations and possessing a sense of humour.
They were clearly very well trained

This is a modern centrally located city hotel, which works well for tourists and business. It's great for shopping, Tapas bars, eateries and an interesting 20 minute walk through the latter to the Alhambra.

The only unimportant oddity, which someone will no doubt explain to me, was the lift/elevator. It says quite clearly on the lift info that Reception is on floor "0" but there is no "0"
Reception is actually the floor marked B.(Which is the ground floor and not the basement) The first couple of times I went to the 1st Floor and walked down a level. Then I found I enjoyed the exercise so much I walked the whole 4 floors! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Albayzin, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones.
We would like to let you know that we will take your opinions into account: they will doubtless help us to improve the customer service we offer our guests in the future.
We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel is in an ideal location for visiting the city, as it is within walking distance of most of the tourist attractions. The rooms are modern, comfortable and clean, ideal for a city break when all we needed was somewhere to sleep. We didn't use the hotel restaurant or bar during our five night stay as there are plenty to choose from within a short distance. We would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonsBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Albayzin, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The rooms are clean, comfortable and functional if a little small. However, as my wife and I spent very little time in our room the size was of little concern.

What really made the stay (we stayed 6 nights) was the breakfast the hotel provides. It caters for all nationalities and the breakfast covers all. There are fresh cooked eggs/omlettes to order and even bottles of Cava if you fancy a glass of fizz with smoked salmon.

The staff are polite and helpful and I would stop there again if I'm in Granada.

If your looking for Tapas the hotels is good, but if you want what the locals eat try Casanova opposite the hotel. The owner ensures you get a variety when ordering drinks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Albayzin, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Thankfully our TomTom found the hotel although some have found it difficult due the change in name. The car is parked for you and there is a parking charge. Checking in was fine though it might be nice if the staff smiled once in awhile! Rooms are good size and clean. Breakfast offers plenty of choice and omelets are freshly cooked. You will need to book early to dine in restaurant at night as this gets fully booked. The hotel is in a good location for you to be able to walk everywhere. If in Granada again I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Albayzin, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We would like to let you know that we will take your opinions into account: they will doubtless help us to improve the customer service we offer our guests in the future.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just had two nights at the Vincci Albaycin. Drove to it in our hire car and - thanks to our Tom Tom - found it relatively easily (though without sat nav I suspect it could be a difficult task). Staff parked the car for us (parking cost was 18Euros per day). We had a third floor room overlooking the main street. The room was very clean and very modern. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was well-equipped. There was some noise at night (inevitable for a city centre hotel), but the other off street rooms we were offered seemed to be affected by a humming noise from the air con plant so we decided not to move. We both slept okay and the free Wifi worked well for us (there's also a laptop for guests to use in the lobby and this too worked fine). Staff were friendly and attentive. We didn't eat at the hotel, but grabbed a coffee and a couple of croissant from the bakeries and cafes directly opposite and these were delicious. We wished we'd decided to have dinner at the hotel. The restaurant is in a most impressive room and the fixed menu priced at 18Euros per person for three courses is actually very good value (we paid 12Euros for a very mediocre paella and 16Euros for a plate of lamb chops at a restaurant not far from the hotel). What deterred us from eating in was that the hotel's own restaurant seemed a little chilly and was almost empty (a shame). The choice of music played there was a little incongruous. Having grown up in the '80s and '90s, I get quite nostalgic about bands like Europe and singers like Belinda Carlisle. Nevertheless I think a restaurant like that in the hotel would be better served by something a bit more classical or opera orientated or traditional Spanish music. As noted in other reviews the hotel is well located for exploring Granada. We use the red hop-on hop-off tourist bus to get our bearings and then spent a wonderful day exploring the Alhambra (tickets booked through our previous hotel). Overall I can certainly recommend the Albaycin and we we'd go back there again if we visited Granada.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilbernInvader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Albayzin, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for sending us your feedback and opinions. We are pleased to know that our location, rooms, bathrooms, Wifi connection and restaurant service were all to your liking. Our guest´s satisfaction is always our reason to be and what we work for every day in Vincci Hotels.
We regret, however, that you were not entirely pleased with some aspects of your stay. We will bear very closely in mind your feedback and opinions in order to continue improving and adapting as best as possible to the tastes and preferences of our guests.
We are at your disposal for whatever you need.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights on a short trip to Granada and Cordoba. The hotel is very central on a lovely street. The room was comfortable and clean with a decent sized bathroom but it lacked any real distinguishing features. There was free wifi but nowhere to place my laptop in my room except on my knees. There was a small sauna in the basement with enough room for two people adjacent to a small gym. Breakfast which was included with a trip advisor deal was fairly plentiful but the quality could have been better. My wife thought the eggs were completely tasteless. There was a coffee machine that made good expresso but it seemed to breakdown every 20 minutes. We didn't use the bar or restaurant except for breakfast. One reviewer raved about the bar giving free tapas with drinks. This is not unique to the hotel - it is a Granadan custom for bars to give free tapas with every drink. Overall worth staying in but nothing particular wonderful

Room Tip: For a quiet room ask for a 4th floor room at the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Albayzin, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your opinions and feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to know that our location was to your liking and that you found our rooms comfortable and clean.
We will pass along your praise to the entire hotel staff. That our guests have a good experience with us is surely our greatest satisfaction and what we work for every day in Vincci Hotels.
We regret, though, that you were not entirely pleased with certain aspects of your stay. We will bear closely in mind your opinions and suggestions in order to improve our service and adapt as best as possible to the tastes and preferences of our guests.
We are sorry as well if your stay coincided with a day when we had problems with the coffee machine and apologize for any inconvenience.
Regarding our breakfasts, we would also like to clarify that at all times we try to offer a varied and quality selection in which the guest can find whatever they feel like having. We are sorry that in spite of this our breakfasts were not to your liking and reiterate that we will bear very closely in mind your opinions in order to continue improving.
We work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are our best guide in doing so.
We hope to welcome you again soon to our hotels.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#30 of 122 in Granada
2,161 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Suites Gran Via 44
Suites Gran Via 44
#11 of 122 in Granada
804 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
NH Granada Centro
NH Granada Centro
#25 of 122 in Granada
1,266 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Albayzin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Albayzin

Property: Vincci Albayzin
Address: Ribera Genil 48, 18005 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#11 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#31 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#40 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Albayzin 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tryp Albayzin hotel is located in the Carrera del Genil, in the city center of Granada, next to the Basilica de Nuestra Senora de las Angustias and the Palacio de Congresos. Its interior shows the typical elements of Granadian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vincci Albayzin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Granada
Sol Melia Albayzin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing