We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not go back there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macia Monasterio Los Basilios
Ranked #71 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 14 March 2006

I think Macia missed a chance here to make this into a 'charming hotel' (as it says on a sign next to the entrance). I don't think this hotel is charming at all. Neither does it breathe centuries of history, like it says on their website.
The only historical part we saw when we were there, was the passage around the patio.
When I take a look at the picture of the dining room on the website, it indeed looks very charming. But it also looks like a complete other room than the one we had breakfast in (yet it is the same). The way the hotel has been furnished and finished is just not charming. It is purely practical.
Due to the dominant presence of groups of young people it felt more like we were staying in a youth hostel than a hotel. Let alone a charming, historical hotel.

If you take into account that in the few days we spent there (four nights) we saw about four different groups of youngsters coming in, it makes sense that the hotel has been furnished in a practical way. It's understandable, but then they shouldn't present themself as a historical/charming place.

Breakfast
The breakfast buffet had a wide choice, the quality of the products was average. Some products seemed to come in just once or twice a week. When they ran out of yoghurt on Saturday, new yoghurt would not be come untill Tuesday.

Our room was located next to sports grounds. Some days there was screaming from dust till dawn and after that. We weren't bothered by it, but I can imagine that others might be.

Some positive aspects of the hotel:
■The location of the hotel with respect to the city/centre. It was a pleasant walk of about 15 minutes there.
■The hotel has little kitchen type cabinets in the bathroom. Really practical. I think more hotels should provide a good place for your toiletries.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OriginallyDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Macia Monasterio Los Basilios
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2006

Great hotel, clean & tidy. A good base for looking around the city. 15 mins walk to the Alhambra.
The restaurant menu is very limited, we are veggies & there wasn't much for us (2 streets back there is an excelent veggie place Racies I think).
There is no bar which is a bits of let down as the info said there was.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SATAN-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2005

A hotel with clean, modern rooms and facilities behind an old monestry housing the reception and a courtyard. Well located only a ten minute stroll from the centre. Breakfast was included in the room rate and there was a wide choice. We did not use the hotel's restaurant as it seemed very functional and lacked atmosphere. The staff are very helpful and speak good English.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JH45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2005

The hotel is in quite a unique setting in a monestry and the rooms are very clean and well appointed with good en-suit facility's and huge wardrobes. The staff speak English and are very helpful. Hotel is situated across the river and there is a footbrodge for easy access to the city/nightlife. For the Alhambra take the short walk to Plazza Nueva and take the mini bus up the hill (95cents). We got very competetive rates (£31) for a twin room on a Monday night .

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LesF_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer 313 war ruhig (Wochenende), Matraze etwas unbequem - für meine Frau jedoch in Ordnung !
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ed W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Roosuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mariam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.6 mi away
Reino de Granada Hotel
Reino de Granada Hotel
#86 of 122 in Granada
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dauro Granada
Hotel Dauro Granada
#39 of 122 in Granada
671 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Macia Plaza
Hotel Macia Plaza
#40 of 122 in Granada
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Senator Granada Spa Hotel
Senator Granada Spa Hotel
#47 of 122 in Granada
727 reviews
1.2 mi away
Macia Condor
Macia Condor
#92 of 122 in Granada
362 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macia Monasterio Los Basilios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macia Monasterio Los Basilios

Address: Paseo Basilios 2, 18008 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £42 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macia Monasterio Los Basilios 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macia Monasterio Los Basilios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macia Monasterio Los Basilios Hotel Granada
Macia Monasterio Los Basilios Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing