We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
369
137
45
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
137
45
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rainfall shower excellent modern hotel cardio machines rooftop pool valet service double sinks minute walk downhill alhambra palace pillow menu five star hotel up hill perfect location the main attraction stay at this hotel again rooms are modern bus or taxi pleasant walk
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 577 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel is within a comfortable 5-10 minute stroll to the Nazrid Palace and the whole Alhambra complex. The rooms are very nice, including excellent shower and bath, etc. Lovely breakfast. Overall, however, it is the staff who make this place a cut above the average. The reception staff do a good job of seeming to know their guests and Rosa deserves special mention for orienting us on the city, the sites, and, critically, the buses for those uphill climbs to Albaicin and back to the hotel.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank DandAStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

This is a great hotel located directly next to the Alhambra. The room was VERY comfortable and everything exceeded expectations. I got a great rate booking the day of for two nights. The buffet breakfast is very nice too. When you're travelling for a while and you want some modern comforts - stay here.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank Mariko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

The hotel is well located for visiting the Alhambra and a reasonable distance from the bars and restaurants in town- there is a network of stepped paths leading to the centre.These are quite steep coming back but there is a regular bus which runs until 11pm and the taxi service is readily available.
The room was clean and a good size. Food in the bar was fairly ordinary, for example a club sandwich at lunchtime was generous but not special and the avocado salad was plain- just a collection of ingredients on a plate. Breakfast buffet was good and worth taking at the hotel if you are going straight to the Alhambra, but otherwise walk into town and find a cafe with much cheaper options. The thing that sets the Washington Irving apart is the fantastic customer service and well trained staff. It is a long time since we received such a warm welcome and efficient check in/out.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GlinysW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in April 2018. Our room is quiet, modern, clean and large with a king bed, a small sofa, a desk and a chair. The bathroom is good size with a tub. a separate shower and double sinks although the sinks are small. Our room has a view to the nice outdoor area outside the bar where we hung out and had a drink.

The hotel is right across from the Alhambra. It is a short walk uphill to the Plaza de la Alhambra entrance or a short walk downhill to the Puerta de la Justicia entrance. There are several restaurants and stores within short walking distance of the hotel. It is not far to walk downhill to the city center. But it is pretty steep walking back uphill. You can take the C3 bus which stops near the hotel.

The staff was very nice. One staff gave us a tip to enter at the Puerta de la Justicia since we already have ticket to the Palacio Nazaries at 9am. That is the closest entrance to the Palacio Nazaries. Another staff helped us reserve a taxi.

We came via train and the taxi ride to the hotel was about 10 euros. We took a taxi to the airport and it was over 30 euros.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

This hotel is really good. Rooms are a good size and wonderfully furnished. The hotel is 100m from The Alhambra so point to note is it is up the top of the hill and any walks into the city, which only takes 10 minutes, can be slow and tiring if not fit.

The front desk staff were exceptional. I wish I had remembered the name of the gentleman who took time to share his thoughts on the best places to visit ( he wore glasses is all I can remember!).

The rooftop pool is good and the gym is fine with nice views of the surrounding area.

The only thing that could be improved is the WiFi speed.

Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews