We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gayle Enriched our Experience!”

Granada Tapas Private Tours
Ranked #1 of 10 Food & Drink in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Really "experience" Granada & discover so much more than just food & drink! You will be taken to typical bars to sample the real side of Granada. We want you to feel local, live like a local for a few hours & finish with a feeling you´ve seen into Granada´s rich & varied historical as well as modern local culture. Suitable for groups from 2 to 50 people.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gayle Enriched our Experience!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

With her wonderful sense of humour and storytelling skills Gayle introduced us to not only wonderful tapa restaurants but gave us a sense of the history of Granada and Spain. We were travelling with a group of 14 and I was constantly amazed at how she interacted with the restaurants to provide both an ease of ordering and paying. Enjoyed her descriptions of the different tapas and she was always enthusiastic recommending other sights to see. Will definitely be calling her for a return trip!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle M, Owner at Granada Tapas Private Tours, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you Cathy, come back any time! Kind regards, Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    12
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our first visit to Granada and our first experience of tapas was on our hotel's terrace. Our first drink was accompanied by a small bowl of delicious gazpacho with a sprinkling of finely diced onion and cucumber. Our second tapas was a spear of three local specialty sausages, served hot, glazed with a red sauce on a fine nest of crisp potato. This experience set a high bar and we were eager to find out what the Tapas Tour could add.

Andrea was our hostess, a delightful and friendly young woman. Our group was small and conversation flowed very easily, it was close to midnight before we realised it. The wines were good and Andrea took us to squares that we probably would not have visited. We had opted to visit three bars at a slower pace and regretfully, the tapas at the first two was really disappointing.

The first bar served us tuna (from a tin) on a white bread roll with some tired crisps, not exciting. The second bar gave us a thin slice of pizza! Andrea had a long conversation with the waitress at the third bar and the fare was much more interesting. Delicious fried strips of aubergine (egg plant), crisp and sweet were wolfed down and this was followed by a very good paella.

On our own the next day we had another excellent tapas experience in a terrace bar on the Paseo de los Tristes on the edge of the Albazin and above the river, looking up at the Alhambra and nibbling delicious spiced cubes of meat on a bed of chips. So delicious tapas can be found in Granada.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AT_UK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle M, Owner at Granada Tapas Private Tours, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Anne

I´m very sorry that you did not enjoy the food during your evening tapas tour.

I can sense from the very in-depth description of what you ate while in the city that you may well have been more suited to a Gourmet evening (the benefits of hindsight of course). I always strive to offer an excellent service and therefore am disappointed that you did not fully enjoy yourselves however I can see that your issue was with the food offerings and not with your hostess Andrea, the others on the tour or the time spent in each bar. I have discussed what happened that night with her and she is upset that you felt things were not up to the standard you´d hoped for. Again with hindsight, Andrea would have been delighted to organise more/other tapas during the evening if she had known you were not satisfied.

Therefore, if you find yourselves in Granada again in the future I would like to offer you a free Gourmet Tour which I´ll lead and I hope to be able to restore your faith in Granada´s tapas and in the service I´m offering to people.

Kind regards
Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A DELIGHTFUL EVENING WITH GAYLE”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent our first evening in Granada with Gayle. She took us to four Tapas restaurants and they were the best Tapas we experienced during our week-long stay. Gayle is a delight to chat with and she was very careful to include a variety of options for our vegetarians. A WONDERFUL EVENING which I recommend to anyone traveling to Granada!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samuel1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle M, Owner at Granada Tapas Private Tours, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. It´s always a fun challenge to get special foods/drinks in to suit everyone. Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in the city. Kind regards, Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tapas the Granada way”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Initially wondered whether we would be better off exploring ourselves but there is nothing like a bit of local knowledge when you're only in town for a few days. Roberto was our guide for the evening and was the perfect host. There were only two other couples so the group size was very manageable and you never felt sidelined. Some bars can get a bit noisy so with only 7 of us it was great to be able to still hear hear each other and have a conversation. Roberto made sure to pick tapas which were a little different whilst keeping a couple of food allergy issues in mind. Not too much walking. And for anyone who thinks 4 tapas and drinks won't satisfy - think again. We even revisited our favourite the next day. Excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EtheB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle M, Owner at Granada Tapas Private Tours, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Great to hear that you went back to your favourite bar! That´s what it´s all about. Kind regards, Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Andrea was our guide for the evening and we were joined by a couple from Australia.
The five of us were more like a group of friends out for an evening.
The bars we visited were all very different and the Tapas were also different and delicious.
The selection of drinks covered local and national areas and as a non alcoholic drinker I was introduced to the Granada soft drink speciality which was very refreshing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle M, Owner at Granada Tapas Private Tours, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you Peter. Andrea is really pleased that you enjoyed your time with her. See you again in the future if you´re back in Granada! Kind regards, Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Granada Tapas Private Tours also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Granada Tapas Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing