We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our trip to Alhambra” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guadalupe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guadalupe Hotel
Ranked #34 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our trip to Alhambra”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have just stayed at Hotel Guadalupe for 2 nights with our friends. Check in was smooth and our room was ready on arrival at noon. Room well laid out, plenty of space. Bathroom clean although small and badly laid out but otherwise fine. Three had buffet breakfast which was all fresh and hot. One had continental breakfast which was quite sufficient, hot drink, juice, croissant and bread and jam. Excellent location for Alhambra and easy access down to Granada on regular local bus.

Would we return - definitely if visiting Alhambra but likely stay in centre otherwise purely for a change.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear for a full view of countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greynomads2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    341
    128
    30
    23
See reviews for
176
357
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really nicely located to Alhambra, we got a deal with booking.com, we had topfloor corner room including a outdoor terrace and spa bath, amazing, only breakfast is on the expensive side, 10 euros, u can also go to local al hambra cafe which has a decent breakfast as well

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbertvanderpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pudsey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and i chose this Hotel from Trip Advisor and got a fantastic deal !! The Guadalupe has an excellent locale for visiting Granada , The Alhambra and Generalife Gardens . We were able to park the car in the Alhambra car park opposite the hotel for 15 Euros per day,it was safe and secure. The hotel has a very high standard of service,is clean and well appointed,our room was at the rear of the hotel ,however for the price we paid I cannot fault it. The bed was amazing 2 metres and very comfortable ,aircon worked a treat as it was a very pleasant 37* outside!! I would DEFINITELY rebook this hotel should we have the opportunity to visit this fabulous city again .....

Room Tip: 412 for best views of Alhambra !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mons, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in this hotel. As many people said it is a very good location for visiting the Alhambra. The room was elegant and comfortable. We enjoyed the air conditioning and taking an afternoon siesta during the hottest hours. My only complaint about the room is that the bed was made up of two twin sized beds that kept coming apart during the night and one of us was always falling into the hole between the two beds! I think this hotel would be best for a very short visit of 1 or two nights just to see the Alhambra. It is a far (hot,hot, hot) walk up and down hill to the center. There is a bus that is convenient, but I am not sure if it works at night, if you want to stay out later.
The people at the desk were generally polite and helpful. The breakfast was disappointing and we were frustrated because being up on the hill by the Alhambra there didn't seem to be a cheaper or better option. The breakfast promised orange juice, but it was not natural and was extremely sweet. Coffee was also not great.
About eating in the bar...I need to warn you, the restaurant and bar cater to tourists and tourists alone. I promise you the locals are not making the trek up the hill for the mediocre overpriced food. But, my biggest complaint is the service from the waiter who was unbelievably rude to me and my husband. We had a couple of sandwiches there the first evening and we noticed his attitude, but just brushed it off, thinking maybe he just had a bad day and he was clearly in need of some help behind the bar! But the next night when we came in and were about to order at 9:30 (normal spanish dinner time!) he actually gave us a lecture about the late hour and that we were foreigners and we were supposed to eat early and by the way we speak spanish and my husband is a native speaker and we could hear him complaining to his friend while he made our sandwiches about the "extranjeros." We would expect a lot better from someone working in the service/ hospitality industry. He could have just simply said "I am sorry the kitchen is about to close." and we would have understood.
The Italian place a couple of doors down is also very touristy, but has better food and a nicer atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Great little hotel with a fantastic desk clerk and jack of all trades young lady. Do check the air conditioning if in summer. The views are not great unless you face the parking lot area in the front where you can see part of the Alhambra. The rooms are modern and up to date and the traffic is minimal in the street below. Plenty of shops nearby and the hotel has a full service restaurant in the #1 floor ( second floor for us Yanks). The rates are reasonable for the convenience and location; parking at the Alhambra parking lot, across the street and down a few steps. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Third floor facing West.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VJHerrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

There are 2 things that this hotel has going for it: (1) the location next to the alhambra is unbeatable, if that is the main focus to your visit to Granada, and (2) customer can use the parking of the Alhambra.

We booked a suite, but I am not sure that is what we got. However, the room was clean and the bathroom was large wth great water pressure on the shower. The elavator is small and slow.

The hotel caters to tourist groups for lunch.

The included breakfast was the worst we had in Spain.

Overall, an adequate hotel to spend 1 or 2 nights as homebase to see the Alhambra.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Let us start with the positives: Room clean with adequate storage nice marble bathroom of adequate size. Nice wide lobby with reception staff quite fluent in English and very helpful. The Alhambra is very close. On the negatives: The small flat TV hasn't got the best resolution and some channels have bad reception, The free Wifi is not available in your room, only in the lobby. The ridiculous one is the shower head. The shower head is over the bathtub, but usually the shower head is always on the wall at the short side of the bathtub (at its width), in this bathroom the show head is on the wall on the long side of the bathtub (its length) so if you are not careful or if you open the shower too wide it will blow the curtain and you are going to end up with a bad flood and the curtain is not that long either. This can be easily remedied; just buy one of those small cheap shower head holders and stick it on the wall at the width side of the bath tub. I stayed there for only two nights, the shower head definitely makes your showering quite unpleasant. Some felt pads under the chair legs would be welcomed to avoid the noise it makes on the floor when it gets moved. Apart from that, I have enjoyed staying there as my main aim was to visit the Alhambra.

Room Tip: Choose one with a bathroom with the shower head not on the wrong side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluering73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Hotel Mirador Arabeluj
#47 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#11 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#23 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#20 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guadalupe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guadalupe Hotel

Property: Guadalupe Hotel
Address: Paseo Sabica 30 | Paseo del Generalife s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Granada
#44 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Guadalupe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel with charme from 1969.Recently whole renovated, and ideally situated opposite the main entrance of the Alhambra and Generalife Gardens A pleasant walk of 15 minutes through the magic woods forest of the Alhambra separes our Hotel from the historic centre city of Granada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Guadalupe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guadalupe Hotel Monachil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing