We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can’t Beat the Neighborhood”
Review of Guadalupe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Guadalupe Hotel
Ranked #40 of 123 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nicely located at the top of a hill above the city center, we found the Hotel G. a comfortable little perch for three nights from which to stage our exploration of the Alhambra grounds next door and Granada below. We asked, and found there were two rooms on the 4th floor with ample terraces. Good call; turned our smallish standard double into a junior suite with a balcony room under poplar trees and lush greenery available to us to enjoy the sunset or stars all times of day and night. Definitely ask for a 4th floor terrace room.

The hotel location is great and a value being so close to the world heritage site. We found it easy to amble over to the Alhambra grounds any time of day, and there was a nice selection of restaurants and shops in the cluster of things at the top of the hill which provided all sorts of conveniences. Some might find the hubbub of activity at the site entrance there a little off-putting, but we did not find it too noisy or overrun but rather well organized and green, and a great opportunity for people watching from our terrace vantage in the afternoon. In any case, most everyone retreats down the hill into Granada by dinner time to leaves our corner of the world quiet and leafy and totally strollable. Also: olive orchards right behind the hotel can be reached from a stairway a little down the street and make for great sunset walks.

Room Tip: 4th floor has two terrace rooms that really add to the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_Wide_Wally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel is located opposite the car park to the Alhambra, so great for the visit!
It’s about a 30 minute walk into Granada, but be warned on the way back its quite a steep trek, though there are buses.
If you head into Granada by foot, a tip is to take the road to the left of the Alhambra, and not the footpath through the restaurant at the Alhambra main entrance.
You might see this path when you are at the top of the Alhambra looking over to the cathedral, and down to Plaza Nueva.
You can’t see from here that the path down is big cobbles, and difficult to walk on.

The hotel décor is quite dated, though it was generally clean.

Reception area is small with a few seats and a small bar.

Check in for our tour group was relatively quick, the tour guide slowed things down a little!

We had a room on the 3rd floor, room 311, which I would say had been recently refurbished and more modern décor applied.
The bed was clean and ok comfort wise.
The room had good wardrobe space, a safe (3 euros per day – have to get the activation ‘key’ from reception) and a TV and minibar (see photos).

The bathroom was still ‘old’ though the floor had been re-done in laminate flooring.
The shower curtain rail was let’s say rusty, and there was a crack in the toilet bowl.
Towels were clean, though a little hard.
The bathroom had complimentary shower gel and shampoo.

Breakfast was ‘ok’ quality and a reasonable selection / choice, bacon, scrambled eggs and sausage, cereals, cold cheeses x 2, cold meats x 3, fruit salad, a bowl of natural yoghurt, melon and pastries.
The bread and pastries were ‘big’.
There was one quite fast toaster and two coffee machines.

Dinner was a set menu which each of our tour group had selected prior to arriving at the hotel for our stay.
Starters were vegetable soup/aborigine moustache, Mains were fish or pork, and the desert either fruit or profiteroles.
The quality was ok, and portion size satisfactory. Unfortunately someone in our group must have forgotton what they had ordered, which meant I ended up with a sorry looking portion of pork, the others I had seen being served looked a much leaner cut!

Overall the hotel is ok, 2 or 3 star in my opinion.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor have been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liveyourlifebefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Guadalupe Hotel is in an excellent location for visiting the Alhambra, walking into Grenada, catching the little train or the bus. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful, especially Jessica on Reception. The room was comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was more than adequate.
We had lunch here on our last day as we had an evening flight back to Gatwick. The lamb was to die for and we were treated to a "digestif" at the end of our meal. A nice gesture. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My sister and I stayed at the hotel this past week for two nights. The hotel was very clean and well located, next to La Alhambra. We had a problem on the first day with our AC; when we brought it up, the manager on duty told us the AC just needed a few minutes to cool down the room. We went to tour and returned four hours later. The room was still not cool. When I called the front desk, they said they'd move us if we came to get the key. We dragged our stuff down to the lobby where the front desk clerk tossed the key on the desk and said,"Here's the key." The second room was much better. The hotel had very thin walls; we heard every door and every step above us, not to mention the neighboring toilets flushing. The desk clerk on day 2 arranged for us to take a tour, so we really appreciated her help. The night shift desk clerk was unconcerned when the Wi Fi didn't work, and when we checked out there was no "Thank you for staying" or anything else. To sum it up, it was an okay hotel with barely passing service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thillest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Next door to the Alhambra from where there are convenient bus connections to other locations Very helpful staff and pretty OK room. Only problem too tiny a TV to watch the World Cup and no internet facilities if you are not carrying a computer so we had to go to the nearby Hotel Alixeria who were kind enough to let us use their computer for a small fee

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gourmandBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great location, great value for money, old but well kept classic hotel.
Its truly a stone throw away from the back entrance of the Alhambra AND! you do not have to climb uphill to get to the main entrance.
This hotel is perfect for those who wants to spend most of their time in granada in the Alhambra.
We took a taxi to and fro the city and paid only around 5-8 euros. you can walk to the city too but maybe not the other way due to the uphill climb.
The decor is classical design and decently clean overall. its definitely motel cost but hotel standard!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LufiLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

stayed here in April and we were not disappointed. Easy to park car park opposite hotel and walk to Alhambra. Rooms were comfortable and full of character. We didn't eat at the hotel instead choose to eat at in Granada which was a pleasant walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 123 in Granada
1,010 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 123 in Granada
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cerro Del Sol
#64 of 123 in Granada
359 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#23 of 123 in Granada
1,020 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Anacapri
Hotel Anacapri
#30 of 123 in Granada
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guadalupe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guadalupe Hotel

Address: Paseo Sabica 30 | Paseo del Generalife s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £44 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guadalupe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel with charme from 1969.Recently whole renovated, and ideally situated opposite the main entrance of the Alhambra and Generalife Gardens A pleasant walk of 15 minutes through the magic woods forest of the Alhambra separes our Hotel from the historic centre city of Granada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Guadalupe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guadalupe Hotel Monachil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing