We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a short break!”
Review of Guadalupe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guadalupe Hotel
Ranked #38 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Staines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for a short break!”
Reviewed 31 October 2010

The hotel is in the perfect location if you are going to visit The Alhambra as the entrance is a few minutes walk from the hotel. You can park in the Alhambra car park which is opposite the hotel. The bedrooms at the front of the hotel look out over the car park which doesn't sound very nice but it's screened by trees and means that the hotel is very quiet in the evenings and overnight.
Our room wasn't very big but it was big enough for our needs and was nice and clean. The bed linen was really soft and the bed was comfortable. (Actually - beds - the double was two singles pushed together.)
The reception staff were friendly and helpful. We had breakfast in the hotel on our second morning but wouldn't really recommend it as none of the buffet was stuff you'd go back for second helpings of!
It takes about 15 minutes to stroll down into Granada. We didn't try to walk back up again. The bus fare is 1.2euros and the buses are frequent so we didn't attempt the hill climb.
I think The Guadalupe represented very good value for money. You don't get all the luxuries of a parador but neither do you pay the same kind of rate. If you want somewhere clean and comfortable to sleep after a long day's sightseeing, and you don't want to spend too much, book this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleStaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    348
    137
    32
    23
See reviews for
183
372
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

When looking for a hotel in Granada I was overwhelmed with the choice available. With a smaller budget, I was concerned it might be a bit of a dive as it was 45 euros for a night in August. However, the room was lovely, the bathroom luxurious and the service great - low key as I like it. Best things - the entrance to the Alhambra is a 2 minute walk away so you can get in early. We got there at 9am, already busy and only 200 tickets left for the rest of the day. Also the bar and restaurant were good and we thought the room and bathroom were just great. If I were to return to Granada I would stay here again. Down points - no outside area which is a shame in the heat of the summer and a fair walk to the city centre although there are regular buses. Lots of cheap places to eat (9 euros for 3 courses at lunch time) but all are closed in the later evening. I would look no further for a short , cheap city break to visit the Alhambra than this hotel. Lovely.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loumcg30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regensburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2010

A very nice Hotel, the rooms are tidy, air conditioning is good. The busses go every 10 mins in the city. Only problem: Breakfast is too expensive, it is better to eat in the city!

Stayed July 2010
Helpful?
Thank ManuelM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Upgraded and received a room with a balcony overlooking the Alhambra - what a beautiful sight at night. Booked here primarily because we had a car and am so glad we stayed here as I can't imagine navigating the streets in town. It was quite peaceful and the mini bus a short walk down made it convenient to visit Granada. Also a few steps to the Alhambra. We ate dinner here the first night because we were so tired from driving most of the day, and I'd recommend you go elsewhere. Breakfast buffet was meh. 2nd morning walked up the street to a cafe and had pan and cafe con leche, much better and cheaper! Hotel room was quite nice, front desk staff extremely helpful. WiFi in lobby only.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFTraveler031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
231 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

My Partner and I were visiting friends in Almeria, and we took them on a side trip to Granada for a few days. They picked the Guadelupe based on its location. Directly across from the main entrance to the Alhambra, it is situated away from the town center, but still easily accessible to it.
Reception, concierege and maid services were all very good. The on site restaurant and lobbly lounge were exceptional, and the restaurant staff were very accomodating, even when we came in late after a day of touring. It was a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

If you want to see the Alhambra’s Nasrid Palace at night – and it is even more stunning at night, this is the perfect place to stay, a 5-minute walk from the entrance. No worries about getting back into the city late at night. Good-sized rooms with very Spanish furniture. My only complaint was the smoky room. The hotel is supposed to be non-smoking, but management admitted that it is difficult to stop customers from smoking in the rooms. A subtle suggestion would be to TAKE ASHTRAYS OUT OF THE ROOMS! After we opened the windows and housekeeping sprayed the room, the air was better – until the a/c came on. The problem was an a/c filter clogged with tobacco smoke. So the a/c stayed off in the interest of breathing – not arrogant, just asthmatic. The restaurant served tasty food. At breakfast, you can choose either the continental breakfast or the buffet, but must advise the staff which you prefer when being seated.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2009

There are very few restaurants around the area, so it is a good thing that the hotel restaurant is good. Rooms were very cheap looking.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoVoyager9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#22 of 122 in Granada
1,096 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Hotel Carlos V
#23 of 122 in Granada
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 122 in Granada
943 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,197 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
NH Granada Centro
NH Granada Centro
#25 of 122 in Granada
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guadalupe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guadalupe Hotel

Property: Guadalupe Hotel
Address: Paseo Sabica 30 | Paseo del Generalife s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Granada
#44 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Guadalupe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel with charme from 1969.Recently whole renovated, and ideally situated opposite the main entrance of the Alhambra and Generalife Gardens A pleasant walk of 15 minutes through the magic woods forest of the Alhambra separes our Hotel from the historic centre city of Granada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Guadalupe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guadalupe Hotel Monachil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing