We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but...”
Review of Hotel Alixares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alixares
Ranked #58 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is literally 2/3 minutes from the Alhambra, local buses and the tourist train.

But elderly building, the pool is being rebuilt, the foood is average, and in March the air conditioning was blowing out hot air! Not sure what the 4 starts are for but for position it is excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel IS a two minute walk to Alhambra and both the open topped bus and the number 30 city bus are the same distance. Getting to the centre of the city is very easily achieved for 1.2€.
The rooms are of a generous size and the bathroom is well proportioned.
The staff are friendly and helpful particularly the dining room staff.
The rooms are a little warm, even with the windows open, but such small issues do not really detract. My husband chose the evening buffet, which at 14€ is not excessive and you get what you pay for. I had entrecote with roquefort sauce and this was very well prepared.
The views are really lovely, especially of Alhambra.
The parking was one other reason that we chose the hotel and it was well handled.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of Alhambra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coral-Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I'm very surprised that this hotel has 4 stars. It's very old and not very well kept. Rooms are small and very narrow. The light system is quite poor and old, not to mention that it's very noisy. I had to request to be moved to a different room as I could not sleep. Breakfast was just acceptable and the quality of the food was simply Ok, not many choices where to select from. It's very close to Alhambra and that is why we decided to stay there. However, the way back to the hotel is very hard to climb, specially with wheelchairs. The slope for wheelchairs at the entrance is quite dangerous and difficult to use. I don't understand how they have received permission to make it like that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moisex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here for a week for Granada sightseeing and a bit of skiing in the Sierra Nevada. One of 3 Porcel Hotels in Granada. Positives are good location opposite Alhambra, sightseeing buses/trolley car stop close by, 15 minute walk (down steep hill) into Town Centre. Good value at around €50 per night. Rooms and bathrooms are of decent size and are being refurbished. Buffet breakfast is good and buffet dinner is €14 and adequate or you can dine al la carte. Valet parking is available. Free Wifi. Room safe key is €1.5 per day. Negatives outside pool is being refurbished at the moment - so some building noise during the day, no tea/coffee facilities in room, Hotel is a one hour drive from Sierra Nevada and there is no where to dry ski gear, drinks in bar are as you would expect relatively expensive but you do get nibbles! So in summary for visiting Granada and the Alhambra a good budget Hotel choice.

Hop On/Off Sightseeing Bus is comfortable 90 min round trip at €18
Hop On/Off Sightseeing Trolley Car is less comfortable but gets around narrow street 60 min round trip at €8
Both offer a cheap way (rather than taxi) to walk/bus around the City

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoctorFeelgoodDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We chose hotel Alixares because of its location and we were not disappointed, right alongside the Alhambara with views across the city.
Parking was simple, leave your car outside and they do it for you. In fact the hotel staff could not have been more helpful, including storing our bags even after we had checked out.
The hotel looks the part and its entrance is quite impressive.
The rooms were comfortable if a little bit too hot, even with the windows open and snow on the hills.
The buffet at the evening meal was nothing special but saved us from venturing out into town.
Breakfast was a little uninspiring but it is in most Spanish hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alcazares48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We went on a Gandia Tour trip for Christmas. The location is ideal, close to the Alhambra Palace & a nice walk from there to the centre. There was a great selection of food in the resturant for breakfast & dinner. On Christmas Day we had a gala dinner which was a set menu & as I don't eat meat but I do fish it was no trouble to get me an alternative.
I do agree with other comments that when reception was busy they could have done with more staff. Ditto with the bar as they had happy hour every evening......which of course was popular but there was only one barman which meant a long wait for a drink. He was however always smiling & went out of his way to make sure you welcome.
We intend to return to Granada & will stay at the Alixares again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here just before Christmas. The lobby, bar and restaurant are average comfortable. The room lacks maintenance, especially the bathroom, toilet leaks water, here and there cracked tiles on the wall. Clean only at first glance, long black hairs on the bathroom floor, left behind by former guests, dirt on the, stained, carpet, right outside our room. Rather hard mattress, flat pillow, an extra one not present in the room. Minibar empty. Restaurant buffet style, okay, nothing special. Mainly British clients. To far away from the center on a very steep hill.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Corona de Granada Hotel
#48 of 122 in Granada
584 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Eurostars Washington Irving
Zaidín - Vergeles
Saray Hotel
Saray Hotel
#36 of 122 in Granada
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andalucia Center Hotel
#55 of 122 in Granada
475 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Guadalupe Hotel
Guadalupe Hotel
#35 of 122 in Granada
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alixares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alixares

Address: Paseo Sabica 40 | Avenida Del Generalife, 18009 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £49 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alixares 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The complete Alixares hotel is located opposite the stunning Alhambra, one of the most wonderful monuments in the world, and a 15-minute walk from Granada's city centre. The hotel offers its guests a comfortable and cosy atmosphere in a modern environment. Hotel Alixares offers Wi-Fi Internet connection throughout the building, a reception desk open 24 hours, several fully equipped meeting and conference rooms, an Internet Point, an outdoor swimming pool, a private parking area, a bar and a restaurant, just to mention some. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alixares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing