We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Service & Good Tapas”

Cerveceria La Abadia
Ranked #1,102 of 1,486 Restaurants in Granada
Cuisines: Bar, Spanish, Mediterranean
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly Service & Good Tapas”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We visited this Bar which is located on the Restaurant Strip. The owner was very friendly and gave us a good selection of Tapas each time we ordered a drink. The Jamon was particularly good and we got a very generous portion with our drinks. Prices were reasonable and we will return when we next visit Granada.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mullin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    46
    11
    14
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Texas
Level Contributor
318 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Low Key Vibe - Excellent Tapas”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

On Calle Navas there all types of tapas restaurants ranging from the high end and touristy, those with touts trying to get you to come in, to frenetic places where you are overwhelmed by the noise and the push of people. Cerveceria La Abadia offered a clear alternative. A simple place that isn't touristy, we were immediately taken with the owner's pleasant greeting. Our initial tapas of some excellent roasted pork convinced us to try a range of choices from the menu and they were all tasty. We especially enjoyed his sampler platter of various meats and the potatoes fixed in a local style. A range of customers, mainly locals who appeared to be repeat customers, came in through the evening and they were all welcomed. The beer was from a smaller brewery and provided a good hoppy counterpoint to our tapas. Our tab was quite reasonable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Asta365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We tried this place for tapas today before going there for dinner. The BBQ pork with bread was excellent with a great smokey taste. This is a great bar and tapas restaurant on Navas street. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet Tapas Bar”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We were staying nearby on Calle Navas and tried this on tapas bar as it was close, but also on the last review. Our food was very good and service was prompt. It was quiet, we sat inside and were not too bothered by the salesman and street performers!! That's a huge plus, it's nice to sit outside, but the vendors are too bothersome in this area!! The salmorejo was good. As was the pork chops. They use a coal fired grill, unusual for Spain.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mingle with the locals while having excellent tapas!”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My girlfriend and I walked into this place randomly as a result of the smokey aroma wafting from the doorway. There were no more than 3 people in here at about 2PM in the afternoon, but we never judge a restaurant by the size of the clientele. We wanted a quick bite to hold us over until our dinner reservation that evening, so we ordered two canas and we were given the obligatory free tapas to go with our beers. Unlike many of the free tapas in Granada that were small and uninspired, we were served a cut of pork leg which had been roasting on a spit for 8 hours, atop a coal-grilled slice of bread. Salty, moist, succulent...just Magnificent.

After talking to the man behind the bar about the meat he cooked, and the coal grill that he tended with each new tapa dish he prepared, I learned that he was Alberto, and he owned the joint. At the end of the bar, reading the local paper was his wife, and we began to chat about our trip, the city, and the restaurant.

No less than 3 hours later had we tasted numerous tapas that Alberto prepared for us, washing them down beer after beer, we soon realized we were going to miss our dinner reservation, and we were not upset by this in the least. We stayed in La Abadia from 2PM until they closed, taking in the local vibe and chatting it up with all the patrons that came in.

Alberto is one of the only places in the city that cooks on a coal fired grill, and let me tell you, the food that comes off of it, is top notch. He also makes a mean pitcher of Sangria, as well as a few other specialties including his take on a hamburger that he entered into a local competition, which was phenomenal!

Do yourself a favor and don't miss this place, as it's can be overlooked on the crowded street of more touristy establishments. Alberto runs, what is now, our favorite tapas bar in all of Spain, and certainly made an impression we will not soon forget.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank adamecollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cerveceria La Abadia also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Cerveceria La Abadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing