We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location in a quaint hotel”
Review of Hotel Juan Miguel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Juan Miguel
Ranked #96 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic location in a quaint hotel”
Reviewed 16 February 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights and could have easily stayed longer.
The location, right on a main street, was perfect for night owls! There is a large fountain in a square directly opposite the hotel which in the evening is lit up, giving the area a magical and surreal atmosphere. Many hours were spent eating delicious ice cream from the local parlour watching the fountain and the elderly locals sitting and socialising or playing with their grandchildren. Everything you wanted was close to you; it was very easy to find the Alhambra bus, a five minute walk from the hotel.
The hotel itself was old-fashioned inside but endearing and classic. It was well air-conditioned; vital to escape the extreme summer heat outside.
Staff were friendly, spoke good english and had a good knowledge of transport links to areas of interest or travel points.
The rooms were of average size, the en suite a little smaller. The decor was dated but the room served its purpose well.
Would definetly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be in the centre of the action in Granada but have somewhere comfortable and unfussy to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    207
    162
    49
    53
See reviews for
128
220
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

August 7-9

The smallest room we had in Spain. Inexpensive, clean, adequate, t.v, air conditioning, small wardrobe, shower/tub combo. No internet access. I found free wi-fi in a kebap place near Plaza Nueva. Everyone we talked to in reception spoke adequate English. Used key cards.

Cathedral & Plaza Nueva walkable distance.

To get to the hotel from the train station. Outside the train station doors, walk straight down the street. Turn right on the big intersection. Stay on the right side of the street, where there are a bunch of bus stops. I think you take the #7 bus (doublecheck on the bus signs; every stop is on the sign for each #). Get off at the Puerta Real stop, not the Acerro del Darro stop.

The day of departure from Granada, we had a 9:15 flight to Barcelona. I had confirmed the times and nearest stop of the airport shuttle with the very helpful TI on Plaza Ana Sunday afternoon. The TI closed early - 3:00 p.m. and the doors were promptly shut on time. Fortunately, the airport shuttle stops on Acero del Darro right outside of Hotel del Darro, next to El Corte Ingles. Supposedly, the bus departs from the first stop at 6:25 a.m., to arrive at Hotel del Darro 10 minutes later. I'm glad that we were there early as the airport shuttle arrived at 6:28 a.m. The ride took approximately 45 minutes and we were safely deposited at the tiny Granada airport.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justagirlintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Great location within walking distance of everything you would want to see within Granada including La Alhambra. Staff always helpful. Frequent buses within 2 minutes walk of the hotel. Turistic bus stops almost outside hotel and well worth a 48 hour ticket. 5 minutes walking distance of the some of the nicest restaurants and bars in Granada. Beautiful area.

The hotel room we stayed in was at the back of the hotel, and was quiet, overlooking another block of appartments. The beds were comfortable and the linen clean. Bathroom was a good size and the shower power was very effective as was the air con. Lifts were quick and efficient and lobby area attractive and clean.

The only negatives were that the lighting in the bedroom was very dim which made the room gloomy. The room needs updating with a flat screen TV and the walls repainted as there were several large black stained areas. Walls are also thin and anyone talking in the corridor echoes loudly.

Cleaners start at about 7 am which you can't fail to hear but isn't such a bad thing as there's so much to see in Granada including all of the brilliant shopping that getting up early is a must.

Buffet breakfast was very good value and with such a good selection we didn't normally feel hungry after breakfast until 5pm! We stayed 5 days and this was only just enough time to explore everywhere. If visiting in August - flip flops a must - too hot for any other form of shoe or trainer. Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hometutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I've spent there 2 nights (with breakfasts). The staff was very friendly, rooms very clean, food excellent and copious (freshly squeezed juices, tasty small breads, chocolates, coffees, fruits, cheeses etc)! Weak points are windows of some rooms going to ugly patio without plants; strange sliding windows with no option of safe locking (in bedroom only but hopefully not in the bathroom).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torreador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I found this place on wot if for a very good price (almost only 10% of the advetised cost). It is centrally located on a main street, clean and comfortable. Good a/c. Within walking distance to the Alhambra or very close to the bus to walk up, as well as the cathedral. Cheap & cheery. Breakfast not included, good free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muchachitaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island, USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

This hotel, like all we stayed in in Spain, was very clean. The room was big enough and the bathroom was too. I liked that we could walk out the front door and right to a cafe. There was a lot of hustle and bustle, but our room was quiet enough. The balcony was even big enough for a small chair. If you stay here, make sure you sign up for the olive oil tour.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freeneasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Had a reservation made through a Hotel we stayed in Cordoba. Checked out the room but did not stay as room was smelly, carpet worn. Old tired looking and noisy. Checked into a hotel around the corner that was four stars and less expensive than this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sailorpete67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Granada hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Hotel Dauro Granada
#30 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Eurostars Gran Via
#73 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Marquis Urban
Marquis Urban
#41 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#104 of 125 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Navas Hotel
#51 of 125 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Reino de Granada Hotel
#87 of 125 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juan Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juan Miguel

Property: Hotel Juan Miguel
Address: Acera Darro 24, 18005 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Juan Miguel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Eurostars, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Juan Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juan Miguel Hotel
Juan Miguel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing