We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would definitely stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa del Aljarife - Granada
Ranked #7 of 97 Granada B&B and Inns
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We would definitely stay here again!”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My family and I stayed here in June 2011, and would definitely return. The proprietor, Mr. Most, is incredibly helpful and accommodating. We really enjoyed talking with him and being his guests. When we arrived, he kindly met us in the easy-to-find Plaza Nueva and guided us to his secure parking space. Then, he helped carry our bags to the hotel. He gave us great restaurant recommendations and site-seeing advice, and served nice breakfasts in the mornings, at whatever time we chose. We stayed in the Senior Suite, which included a spacious bedroom with a king-size bed and A/C, plus another large room with two twin beds at one end and two sofas, a TV and fireplace at the other end, plus 1.5 baths. The whole suite was very clean and comfortable. The only negative was that it did get a little warm in the larger room because there was no A/C there, but Mr. Most did supply a fan. We very pleased to find a computer in the lobby area with free Internet for guests, and a nice enclosed patio where we enjoyed our breakfasts. All in all, it was a nice place to stay in an interesting, colorful part of town.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSFJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    26
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
27
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Stayed for two nights during recent vacation trip to Spain. We booked the junior suite, which was very nice. After having driven a rental car in Southern Spain for a few days, I was not looking forward to finding the owner's "difficult to find" parking space, so I opted for a more convenient parking garage a further distance away that he recommended on his website. I called Mr. Most for directrions after exiting the car park in the rain and he proceeded to yell at me for not following his directions. Once we walked 7 blocks to his assigned meeting spot, he led us up steep narrow streets and finally arrived at the Casa. Everything was fine upon check in, however when my wife asked for the pass code to the wireless internet, she was told NO twice, then he gave it to her.. At breakfast on the 2nd day, I killed many ants on the breakfast table that were trying to get into the honey container on the table. I ended up moving the container to a side table. Mr. Most came out of the kitchen and proceeded to put the honey back on the table in front of me. I explained that I moved it to keep the ants off my breakfast and he then told me "Then just kill ze ants", turned around and marched back into the kitchen. We enjoyed the quiet location, however the attitude of the owner was not acceptable. We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KillerEatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

You can’t beat the location, in the heart of the old town of tiny twisty streets on the Albaicin hill – we even had a view of the Alhambra from our window. The rooms are beautiful and spacious, the bathrooms are modern, and all set around an attractive courtyard. The only reservation I have is about the owner, and only really with his manner and communication. He does everything he can to help, recommends restaurants, helps with directions and bookings, etc. It’s just that his manner makes it feel like you are going to see a rather fierce headmaster, who likes everything to be correctly regimented and sometimes barks a refusal to an out-of-place request (like to use an iron – the words he was saying were a perfectly polite refulsal, it’s just the way they were said). Also watch out that he runs the establishment single-handed, so if he happens to be out there’s no ‘front desk’ you can go to for help or to order drinks or to check out, etc.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jopycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I introduced myself rudely to the proprietor, Christian Most, thinking his directions inadequate and having just dragged my luggage up many steep and narrow Granada streets in the mid-day August heat trying to find Casa del Aljarife. I immediately regretted my behavior, but Herr Most responded with courtesy and helped us into our rooms (which are air conditioned, so we could cool down quickly). He even carried our bags up the stairs, and I discovered that we had not, in fact, followed his directions but rather the thoroughly inadequate directions in our guide book. Once settled, it took me all of five minutes to see that this was the loveliest hotel/inn/bed & breakfast I had ever stayed in. It is, in fact, a home, that Christian and his wife have beautifully renovated and share with those guests fortunate enough to discover it. The rooms are lovely and the views of the Albaicin and of the Alhambra are fantastic. The courtyard is beautiful. The location is perfect--well within the Albaicin yet within easy (as we eventually found out!) walking distance of the Plaza Nueva. There is a nearby restaurant that is liking dining in the Garden of Eden. Christian provides a detailed map of of the area plus his personal recommendations of local restaurants/tapas bars and worthy sights other than the Alhambra. Christian was a most (pun intended) gracious host, charming and with a wry sense of humor. I really did want to move in with him and live out my days in the Casa del Aljarife. I not only recommend it to anyone traveling to Granada; I fully expect that it will be the only place I will ever stay on any future visit to Granada, and that if it is fully booked, I will change my travel plans in order to stay there. It is that good.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QETelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Casa del Aljarife is a lovely place and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Mr. Most is hospitable and prepares a wonderful breakfast. The large suite was well suited for our family of 4. We highly recommend the Inn.
Brian & Sharon
Bel Air, Maryland

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelAirtravelers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Stayed for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed everything about our stay. Our host, Christian runs a very well organised, clean and comfortable home-stay style hotel. We stayed in the room at the top of the stairs with the amazing view of the Alhambra. The owner, Christian is very helpful and knowledgable on all aspects of Granada...in fact even before leaving Australia he pointed us in the right direction re trains and flights to and from Granada. Staying in the old Albayzyn area is amazing and central to anything you would wish to do in Granada. Breakfast is very good value and of a high quality. Our only disappointment was that the cherries on the tree in the beautiful courtyard were a couple of days off ripening!!! Also family friendly

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-Sharon-EXOTIQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for in a place to stay in Granada - that is, in the Albaicin neighborhood. Strongly recommend that you do not drive to Granada or this hotel (as their website suggests). Granada is a city to walk and/or use public transportation. This small hotel is definitely not handicapped accessible and for mobility challenged people not the place to stay as it is a walk uphill on cobblestone paths to reach. If you have a good map of Granada, you can find it on your own, or the owner will meet you in a nearby main plaza. Again, those who travel with lots of luggage may also want to find other accommodations as you will be carrying bags up the hills.

I believe there are only 4 rooms, and ours had a view of the Alhambra. Again, there are stairs throughout, even to reach the bathroom within the room, so it is not for the physically challenged. There is a lovely courtyard to rest in and the host offered us beverages after a long day visiting the Alhambra. He also allows guests to use a computer in the lobby area, which is handy for email/internet access. Christian speaks at least 3 languages, including English, if that is important to anyone.

The room itself was clean and decorated simply. We were provided breakfast each morning of cereal, toast, juice and coffee.

The host offers his restaurant recommendations, which we tried on occasion, and were overall good, but there are literally hundreds of places to eat in Granada. Overall, I would say this hotel is best for those who like to travel independently and do not require lots of assistance from a concierge, or the like.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSP0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#14 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Aljarife - Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Aljarife - Granada

Property: Casa del Aljarife - Granada
Address: Plaza Cruz Verde, 2, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Casa del Aljarife - Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Aljarife Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing