We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A house of character - and Concerto de Aranjuez at breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa del Aljarife - Granada
Ranked #7 of 93 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
Level Contributor
405 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“A house of character - and Concerto de Aranjuez at breakfast”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Beautiful house - once we found it. We had a car and the major traffic works and poor signage in Granada are a nightmare(took us 1.30hrs to find in the dark despite good directions from our host).Our double room with 'panoramic view' was very lovely - low beamed ceiling and a small window view to the Alhambra,extra special at night when neighbouring buildings were less obvious.Only slight disappointment was the two single beds(albeit joined up but never quite works)and the bathroom location which was down some stairs and separate from the bedroom itself.But not a major problem given the overall charm of the place.Very quiet location and only ten minutes downhill walk to the main avenue and buses - 30min hilly walk approx to the Alhambra itself.Private garaging (you pay for this) about 2 minutes walk from the house.
Liked the plant-filled courtyard the dining area (communal table) overlooked.Good breakfast - nice cheeses and breads ,cold meats, yoghurts etc - all with Concerto de Aranjuez playing softly in the background - a very nice touch!
Was impressed with Mr Most's printed list of recommended bars/restaurants - a great help and have kept it for our next visit to this great city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotlandmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    26
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
28
56
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The Casa del Aljarife provided us with a clean, simple place to rest our weary bodies each night and a modern bathroom to clease us of our day. It was peaceful and spacious with a lovely view of the Alhambra by day or night (though the view is not available from all rooms). The proprietor, Christian, could not have been more helpful. His suggestions about where to dine, what to visit, and how to function were spot on. He is precise in his timing and directions. If you are a person that loves German efficiency and preciseness, you, too, will love Christian and the Casa del Aljarife. The property is well maintained with a gorgeous, peaceful courtyard, which was still in bloom in late November. Note: this property can only be acessed by foot and requires an uphill walk which includes steps. Travel light. Breakfast was provided each morning and was traditional European fair with an occasional Andalucian surprise. Make sure you venture up the hill a few times to explore. (Make sure you have a good map for this). There is so much to offer beyond the CdA, which you may neglect if you are entranced by the sparkle of Plaza Neuva.

Room Tip: discuss your needs with Christian directly for the best space
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notaconelicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
508 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Casa del Aljarife, primarily because of its wonderful location in the historic Albaicin of beautiful Granada, and the commodiousness of our spacious and comfortable room-with-a-view of the Alhambra. The bed was comfortable, the air conditioning worked (contrary to complaints by other reviewers herein) and the breakfast was excellent. I would give the place an "excellent," five star rating if it were not for the inconvenience of having to walk up and down stairs to get to the en suite bathroom.
It is amusing to read the radically conflicting comments by other reviewers about the host, Mr. Christian Most. I can well understand why these comments are so conflicting. Mr. Most is a most unusual man (pun intended). He quite clearly comes across as extremely hands-on and, indeed, somewhat controlling. For those not familiar with or at all sympathetic with north German/Prussian fastidiousness and orderliness, Mr. Most may be a bit much to take. It helps if -- like myself -- you have spent a good deal of time in Germany and speak the language (somewhat). I feel that the criticisms of Mr. Most as "abrupt" or "rude" arise at least in part from cultural differences. In our case, Mr. Most was extremely helpful to us in several critical ways: specifically, in (1) communicating thoroughly all we would need to know before our arrival; (2) meeting us in the central square of Granada when we arrived by car; (3) personally guiding us to the parking garage; (4) carrying our bags for us (against my protestations) all the way to the hotel; (5) providing all possible information helpful to our stay in Granada; and (6) scheduling our breakfast at our convenience. He was, to us, unfailingly friendly and polite, even if sometimes a bit "abrupt."
In view of these factors, I found it easy to overlook the rough edges of Mr. Most's Prussian personality (and even the fact I overheard him making fun of "the Americans" to some German guests at breakfast). Taking all this into account, I would happily stay at Casa del Aljarife again, and recommend it to anyone who is prepared for some German order and efficiency. And are those things all that bad, anyway?

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view of the Alhambra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed in the senior suite, which was very spacious. Very nice accommodations in an interesting old mansioin. Good breakfast. Host is very organized and helpful.

Part of the charm is being in the pedestrian only area of the Albaicin. Any direction you turn is up or down hill, so it is not for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joycerny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

On a recent visit to Granada, my husband and I stayed at Casa del Aljarife in the Albaicin, old Arab quarter, of the city. You need to be a walker to stay in this part of town because most of the streets are hilly, cobblestoned and not wide enough for a car, but that's the charm of it. Casa del Aljarife is a small hotel whose lively, energetic owner Christian Mock, made us feel at home and was happy to share his knowledge of Granada with us. Our room, #3, was on the top floor with beamed ceiling and windows on two sides, providing light, fresh air and a view of the Alhambra. The room was spotlessly clean, comfortably and simply furnished and was big enough to use as a sitting room for reading and relaxing. The house also has a lovely courtyard garden. The immediate neighborhood has several little restaurants, a coffee shop and even a couple of tiny 25-seat local music venues. It is possible to get a sense of the neighborhood and its residents, a more personal experience than staying at a traditional tourist hotel. Christian invited us on a sunset hike one evening through the Sacromonte barrio where many houses and restaurants are partially caves dug into the hillside, and where a number of gypsy flamenco venues are located.
We loved staying at Casa del Aljarife, and would unequivocally recommend it.

Room Tip: Room #3 is spacious, airy, and has a view of the Alhambra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodBruja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Charming, spotless and beautifully decorated B & B tucked away in the heart of Albaicin. The host, Mr. Most, went out of his way to find us when we arrived in Granada, then assisted parking the car. He recommended local tapas bars & restaurants. He was a very knowledgable & helpful man. Breakfast was delicious and the terrace was beautifully cared for. I would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation in a fascinating part of Granada, just a 5 minute walk to the cathedral . Superb.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Alhambra. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpainloverCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband and I and our two adult sons stayed here for one night. We had a suite with 2 rooms and one full and one half bath. The rooms were very spacious and had plenty of charm. We found everything to be clean and were happy with the location although lugging our suitcases up the cobblestone path to get there was a little bit of a challenge. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHCTTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,193 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 122 in Granada
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
759 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Aljarife - Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Aljarife - Granada

Property: Casa del Aljarife - Granada
Address: Plaza Cruz Verde, 2, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa del Aljarife - Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Aljarife Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing